Essie Allure

4.5

55 reviews

85% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 1/12/2015 1:47:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Yes! HG sheer white!!! No streaks! Typical thin, flexible Essie brush. This polish is an absolute dream to apply.



on 9/11/2014 9:54:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Such a pretty polish. I used four coats to build to a sheer white, and can still see the whites of my nails. This polish gives my nails a clean, well manicured look. It applied perfectly with no streaking at all and dried quickly. I love Essie's small brush~it allows me to be very precise with the placement of polish without flooding my cuticles or getting polish on the skin next to my nails, so I rarely have a lot of cleanup to do. Adore it!


on 5/1/2014 2:28:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Other

This is one of my go-to polishes. It's sheer, but buildable. Three coats usually gives me full opacity, which is perfect because more than three coats makes it very thick (but that's usually with any polish). It's a beautiful, classy color. The formula is really good as well, providing minimal streaking that could easily be polished away with another coat.

I love this color with my skin tone; it's white enough to not give me "mannequin hands", but doesn't look like I've painted my nails with white-out. It's milky and beautiful.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 4/1/2014 8:16:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I can see how this polish might be underwhelming. Think of it as a clear polish with a hint of white, which acts as a brightener. The result is shiny nails which are ever-so-slightly brightened. I haven't worn nail polish in over 5 years so this was the shade I chose to ease back into wearing it. It is very feminine and suble. I could see myslef wearing this all the time.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Allure is great when layered 3-4 times. That makes drying time a pain, though. It gives your nails a nice neutral white glaze effect that looks very classy and chic. It's hard to find a neutral that compliments very pale skin (most are too beige), but this one fits the bill.

Though I like it a lot, I've noticed it can look gray in some lights - which isn't too flattering. I love this maybe paired with a sheer pink, like Essie's mademoiselle, but if I'm looking for something creamy pink that has color payoff with just two coats, I turn to L'oreal's "how romantic".

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/7/2014 5:41:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Allure is a great polish for layering with light pinks in order to create a whole new beautiful shade, or simply worn alone it will need 2-4 coats for visual whitish color to show enough which looks really classy and clean. I like to use it alone and also matched with some sheer or light pinks because both ways look great. Allure is very sheer and neutral. The formula is great to work with. A definite staple in my polish collection since it's so versatile.


on 12/12/2013 8:48:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I had been trying to replace Avon's Nail Wear in Linen from years ago. I really loved the shade and have been trying to find a replacement ever since. I know this (Allure) is a really popular shade and it looked good on photos that I saw online so I was really excited to get it. The color in the bottle does not translate to nails. Even with three coats it looked as if I was wearing clear polish. For the price and lack of color, I would've been better off just polishing my nails with an actual clear polish. I wanted a classic, nude look to my manicure, but Allure was to sheer.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/27/2013 3:02:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Other, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Allure is a sheer milky palest pink that gives nails a clean and fresh appearance. These pale shades have a tendency to be tricky but this one is an exception, every coat is perfectly even, smooth and non-streaky, and dries quickly too. 1 coat gives my nails a fast and easy makeover that almost looks like a french manicure, while 3 coats gives more coverage with a modern yet pretty look. A great color for brides as it looks delicate. This color looks amazing on nails but I don't recommend on toes as it pulls too gray and looks a bit sad.


4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 4/18/2013 8:30:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

Unlike most of people here on this website, I don't like crazy colors for my toe nails. I think feet should just look as clean and delicate as possible. That's why I normally wear sheer white-ish colors on my toes, and very rarely some medium-dark classic red. And Essie's "Allure" has now become my HG nail polish for toes! It's very glossy and sheer enough to look delicate, white enough to look clean and also quite self-levelling, which is why I think it was worth it' price, even if it's quite expensive here.

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.


on 4/3/2013 9:52:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Its very opaque on me but I like it... I also mix this with OPI Make Me Blush.. its oh sooo pretty, polished and classy...Allure is neutral with hints of pink... I got this after Kate M`s wedding but never bothered using it until now and it`s still as good as new ...it didnt dry up... yay!




Top Rated Essie Products

image

A-List

29 reviews
image

Lady Like

64 reviews
image

Watermelon

48 reviews
image

Chinchilly

134 reviews
Back to Top