Essie • Allure • Polishes

rated 4.4(54 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.83%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 SassyCappy on 5/1/2014 2:28:00 PM more reviews by SassyCappy

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Other    

This is one of my go-to polishes. It's sheer, but buildable. Three coats usually gives me full opacity, which is perfect because more than three coats makes it very thick (but that's usually with any polish). It's a beautiful, classy color. The formula is really good as well, providing minimal streaking that could easily be polished away with another coat.

I love this color with my skin tone; it's white enough to not give me "mannequin hands", but doesn't look like I've painted my nails with white-out. It's milky and beautiful.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bluestar21 on 4/1/2014 8:16:00 PM more reviews by bluestar21

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I can see how this polish might be underwhelming. Think of it as a clear polish with a hint of white, which acts as a brightener. The result is shiny nails which are ever-so-slightly brightened. I haven't worn nail polish in over 5 years so this was the shade I chose to ease back into wearing it. It is very feminine and suble. I could see myslef wearing this all the time.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 AnEnglishRose on 3/23/2014 4:13:00 PM more reviews by AnEnglishRose

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

Allure is great when layered 3-4 times. That makes drying time a pain, though. It gives your nails a nice neutral white glaze effect that looks very classy and chic. It's hard to find a neutral that compliments very pale skin (most are too beige), but this one fits the bill.

Though I like it a lot, I've noticed it can look gray in some lights - which isn't too flattering. I love this maybe paired with a sheer pink, like Essie's mademoiselle, but if I'm looking for something creamy pink that has color payoff with just two coats, I turn to L'oreal's "how romantic".

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 rosebud222 on 1/7/2014 5:41:00 PM more reviews by rosebud222

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Allure is a great polish for layering with light pinks in order to create a whole new beautiful shade, or simply worn alone it will need 2-4 coats for visual whitish color to show enough which looks really classy and clean. I like to use it alone and also matched with some sheer or light pinks because both ways look great. Allure is very sheer and neutral. The formula is great to work with. A definite staple in my polish collection since it's so versatile.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 adh1006 on 12/12/2013 8:48:00 PM more reviews by adh1006

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Other    

I had been trying to replace Avon's Nail Wear in Linen from years ago. I really loved the shade and have been trying to find a replacement ever since. I know this (Allure) is a really popular shade and it looked good on photos that I saw online so I was really excited to get it. The color in the bottle does not translate to nails. Even with three coats it looked as if I was wearing clear polish. For the price and lack of color, I would've been better off just polishing my nails with an actual clear polish. I wanted a classic, nude look to my manicure, but Allure was to sheer.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tinkerrbelle on 11/27/2013 3:02:00 PM more reviews by tinkerrbelle

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Allure is a sheer milky palest pink that gives nails a clean and fresh appearance. These pale shades have a tendency to be tricky but this one is an exception, every coat is perfectly even, smooth and non-streaky, and dries quickly too. 1 coat gives my nails a fast and easy makeover that almost looks like a french manicure, while 3 coats gives more coverage with a modern yet pretty look. A great color for brides as it looks delicate. This color looks amazing on nails but I don't recommend on toes as it pulls too gray and looks a bit sad.


4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Liliaceae2 on 4/18/2013 8:30:00 AM more reviews by Liliaceae2

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Unlike most of people here on this website, I don't like crazy colors for my toe nails. I think feet should just look as clean and delicate as possible. That's why I normally wear sheer white-ish colors on my toes, and very rarely some medium-dark classic red. And Essie's "Allure" has now become my HG nail polish for toes! It's very glossy and sheer enough to look delicate, white enough to look clean and also quite self-levelling, which is why I think it was worth it' price, even if it's quite expensive here.

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* galsunday on 4/3/2013 9:52:00 PM more reviews by galsunday

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Its very opaque on me but I like it... I also mix this with OPI Make Me Blush.. its oh sooo pretty, polished and classy...Allure is neutral with hints of pink... I got this after Kate M`s wedding but never bothered using it until now and it`s still as good as new ...it didnt dry up... yay!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* angekronaus on 10/8/2012 4:36:00 PM more reviews by angekronaus

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I was looking for a whiter, more opaque finish & unfortunately the Essie swatches in store are a bit misleading in terms of the opaqueness. I do however like the cour as it does have a hint of warmth as opposed to pink. I think it's more sophisticated than a pink hue. This is my 2nd Essie ever & I was really hesitant due to the huge disappointment of the 1st purchase (haute as hello also reviewed here). I like the gloss finish of this colour!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 smanha on 6/18/2012 4:42:00 PM more reviews by smanha

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I'm a neutral nail polish person. The less dramatic, the better. And when I was in the market for a white polish, I went straight to Essie.
This polish is rather sheer. Not like Essie's Mademoiselle, though. Less sheer than that. 2 coats is perfect, but 3 isn't pushing it either.
The color is not a stark white at all. It is a creamy off-white. It gives my nails a very nice shine! It's not super noticeable-- it's more of a "your nails, but better" look. Very chic and professional and cute and ah! Love!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Essie products

More Polishes products