Paula's Choice • Skin Perfecting 2% BHA Lotion Exfoliant • Treatments (Face)

rated 3.9(958 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.73%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 BueatyAndBikes on 9/24/2014 10:17:00 AM more reviews by BueatyAndBikes

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This product came recommended (plus the website really gives good 'sell') and it is affordable. But it really doesn't do much. It is thick but not really moisturising. It gave my little white-heads under my chin/neck but doesn't really improve skin with regular use. Won't buy again, and actually will be hard pressed to finish the pump I have now.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SkullGlitter on 9/23/2014 1:32:00 AM more reviews by SkullGlitter

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I usually don't have problems with BHAs, my skin's liked them in the past and has reacted well to them. This product broke me out no matter how much or little I used. A bunch of little whiteheads would surface in tight patches in my normal breakout spots and spread. This was the only new addition to my routing besides the Paula's Choice Resist Vitamin C Serum, and I use that now as part of my normal morning routine without issue.

The bottle is alright, with a hole to dispense liquid on cotton.
The smell is something to get used to, but not something unbearable.
The feel is a bit slimier than I expected of a liquid treatment.
The cost is good for the amount of active product.
The ingredients show no know irritants for my sensitive skin (and I research everything I put on my face diligently.)

Will NOT buy again. I've switched to sulfur-based treatments since my skin seems to react to them immediately without causing further acne. Sulfur soap for breakouts, gentle facial cleansing liquid with a konjac sponge otherwise, PC's Resist serum, PC's Resist moisturizer or a thicker night cream, Queen Helen's Mint Julep mask every other week, and Mario Badescu's Drying Lotion for spot treatment.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 sezling on 9/23/2014 12:26:00 AM more reviews by sezling

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

My friend raved about this as the secret to her perfect skin so I took the plunge. Also the website has good deals from time to time so affordability isn't the problem. The only thing is it doesn't live up to it's claims of: creating radiant, even toned skin, reduces redness or unclogging and diminishing pores. In fact it irritates my skin if I used too much and even as a spot treatment for break outs it doesn't work effectively.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 chewedcucumber on 9/6/2014 5:37:00 AM more reviews by chewedcucumber

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I use in the mornings. Still not sure how much of a difference it's making, but I'm convinced it's a good thing to have in my routine.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 christinebuffighuntie on 8/14/2014 11:47:00 PM more reviews by christinebuffighuntie

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan   Hair: Grey   Eyes: Violet    

O M G let me just start by saying all of paulas products have broken me out, they are such low horrible quality. When i first tried this lotion it burned my skin, it gave me some horrible pimples, don't buy this unless you wan't pimples in a bottle.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jessmarie09 on 8/3/2014 8:38:00 AM more reviews by jessmarie09

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

My skin does not react to salicylic acid very well, so I don't experience great results using this product. I feel some stinging when I use it, which I think is normal. And it does not dry out my skin. If your skin likes this type of acid, I would give this product a try, otherwise I would recommend her AHA lotions, which I enjoy better.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 paine724 on 8/2/2014 8:35:00 PM more reviews by paine724

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I love this product as a spot treatment for blemishes. With that said, as an exfoliator in general i don't particularly find this to be as good as an AHA based exfoliant

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* pillager13 on 7/27/2014 10:18:00 AM more reviews by pillager13

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I'm so happy that this product worked so many reviewers, but I'm less impressed with it. I got it as a sample with a Paula's Choice order, so maybe the formula is different? I've used it four night in a row and haven't seen any difference (not surprised... I wouldn't base my review on such a short duration). What I found odd and what would make me not purchase a full sized bottle is that it applies like a really heavy, old school sunscreen and takes forever to absorb. I haven't used much of the product, but it applies unevenly and just too heavy for my taste.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 liamtreats on 7/13/2014 8:58:00 AM more reviews by liamtreats

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This lotion keeps my skin clear and smooth. Definitely a must-have in my skin care armamentarium. I have dry, sensitive skin prone to eczema and this lotion had been effective and gentle. Highly recommend.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 marquiseazzie on 7/11/2014 3:29:00 PM more reviews by marquiseazzie

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Love-of-my-life-HG. I first used Paula's BHA liquid years ago (in the white bottle - I was a PC early adopter), and credited it with the best skin of my life. For some reason I stopped using it (probably didn't want to spend the money, since birth control was making my skin great by itself) Fast forward to a few months ago - I went off the pill, and my combination skin had taken a really bad turn due to a particularly dry, freezing winter - over-producing oil, leading to sebaceous filaments and little clogs everywhere. I don't really get whiteheads, just hormonal cysts each month, which I really can't do anything but spot-treat - but those left brown scars, and the overall condition of my skin had gone from clear and bright to dull, dry, oily, clogged in a matter of months. I decided to revisit the routine that had worked years ago, and ordered the BHA lotion to combat dryness, as I'd read it contains more moisture vs. the liquid. Cut to today - my skin is totally free of clogs, and glows beautifully. Old scars from monthly cysts fade within a week, there are NO more filaments or closed comedones to be found, or little nose blackheads. This works alongside the retinol product (MUAC) I use nightly to make my skin cells turn over CRAZY fast. I experienced no purging acne, but all the little clogs rose to the surface within the first few weeks of use, which I could gently extract leaving no marks. They have not returned. I peel a bit, but that's a blessing for me - I had no idea how much dry, dead skin was on my face. I'll never be without this again.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Paula's Choice products

More Treatments (Face) products