Paula's Choice • Skin Perfecting 2% BHA Lotion Exfoliant • Treatments (Face)

rated 4.0(955 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.73%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 christinebuffighuntie on 8/14/2014 11:47:00 PM more reviews by christinebuffighuntie

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan   Hair: Grey   Eyes: Violet    

O M G let me just start by saying all of paulas products have broken me out, they are such low horrible quality. When i first tried this lotion it burned my skin, it gave me some horrible pimples, don't buy this unless you wan't pimples in a bottle.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jessmarie09 on 8/3/2014 8:38:00 AM more reviews by jessmarie09

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

My skin does not react to salicylic acid very well, so I don't experience great results using this product. I feel some stinging when I use it, which I think is normal. And it does not dry out my skin. If your skin likes this type of acid, I would give this product a try, otherwise I would recommend her AHA lotions, which I enjoy better.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 paine724 on 8/2/2014 8:35:00 PM more reviews by paine724

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I love this product as a spot treatment for blemishes. With that said, as an exfoliator in general i don't particularly find this to be as good as an AHA based exfoliant

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* pillager13 on 7/27/2014 10:18:00 AM more reviews by pillager13

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I'm so happy that this product worked so many reviewers, but I'm less impressed with it. I got it as a sample with a Paula's Choice order, so maybe the formula is different? I've used it four night in a row and haven't seen any difference (not surprised... I wouldn't base my review on such a short duration). What I found odd and what would make me not purchase a full sized bottle is that it applies like a really heavy, old school sunscreen and takes forever to absorb. I haven't used much of the product, but it applies unevenly and just too heavy for my taste.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 liamtreats on 7/13/2014 8:58:00 AM more reviews by liamtreats

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This lotion keeps my skin clear and smooth. Definitely a must-have in my skin care armamentarium. I have dry, sensitive skin prone to eczema and this lotion had been effective and gentle. Highly recommend.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 marquiseazzie on 7/11/2014 3:29:00 PM more reviews by marquiseazzie

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Love-of-my-life-HG. I first used Paula's BHA liquid years ago (in the white bottle - I was a PC early adopter), and credited it with the best skin of my life. For some reason I stopped using it (probably didn't want to spend the money, since birth control was making my skin great by itself) Fast forward to a few months ago - I went off the pill, and my combination skin had taken a really bad turn due to a particularly dry, freezing winter - over-producing oil, leading to sebaceous filaments and little clogs everywhere. I don't really get whiteheads, just hormonal cysts each month, which I really can't do anything but spot-treat - but those left brown scars, and the overall condition of my skin had gone from clear and bright to dull, dry, oily, clogged in a matter of months. I decided to revisit the routine that had worked years ago, and ordered the BHA lotion to combat dryness, as I'd read it contains more moisture vs. the liquid. Cut to today - my skin is totally free of clogs, and glows beautifully. Old scars from monthly cysts fade within a week, there are NO more filaments or closed comedones to be found, or little nose blackheads. This works alongside the retinol product (MUAC) I use nightly to make my skin cells turn over CRAZY fast. I experienced no purging acne, but all the little clogs rose to the surface within the first few weeks of use, which I could gently extract leaving no marks. They have not returned. I peel a bit, but that's a blessing for me - I had no idea how much dry, dead skin was on my face. I'll never be without this again.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 yazmin77 on 5/21/2014 7:38:00 PM more reviews by yazmin77

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

A very excellent exfoliant that really improves skin.
I have oily acne prone skin which gets clogged very easily, I initially tried samples of this I woke up the next morning with glowey, blemish free skin! and that was one use! I decided to purchase the full size and it's been almost a year and it's still going strong!
This practically gives you the skin like a 5 years old, it evens out skin, reduces redness, brightens skin and eliminates or reduces blemishes and clogged pores.
A little goes a long way and if leaves skin beautiful.
A must to try.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* antolin1 on 5/15/2014 8:46:00 PM more reviews by antolin1

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Humn... I am very surprised at the extremely high ratings for this product. While it is by no means a bad product, it certainly does not pack the same punch as other available AHA and BHA products do. I used it for a month straight 2X's a day but saw no noticeable differences. It was a little disconcerting to me that this stuff is in the same range (give or take a few bucks) as many of her other products which work much, MUCH better re the task of ant-aging, exfoliation, and regeneration.

I suppose if you are just looking for a maintenance type addition to your beauty ritual this will work - but its far less deserving of all these 4 star + ratings I keep seeing.
I also found this formula to be way too sticky and took longer than it should have to dry IMO, which was a bit odd. Also, I am completely baffled that NO ONE has mentioned how badly this lotion really STINKS! I am in no way scent sensitive (though I prefer unscented products) but this was a real turn off. And the scent lasted quite a while - even my guy noticed it.

I really do like quite a few Paula's Choice products but this stuff was nothing to write home about.

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Lindo on 5/12/2014 7:01:00 AM more reviews by Lindo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Dark, Warm   Hair: Black, Fine   Eyes: Black    

I have super uneven, pores on my nose and clogg-y skin and I absolutely love this. I think this, and the CeraVe pm moisturizer are my two holy grail skin care products. I love it, i dunno what it is but my face always seems more even skintone, radiant and just glow-y looking after I've used this. If you're not sure about this, get a sample and try it. I highly recomend people try this product if you feel you have pores, uneven and dull looking skin.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ahoymaite on 4/12/2014 3:01:00 PM more reviews by ahoymaite

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Complete HG product for me! I was using Stridex (my first time with BHA's) with great success for several months. Suddenly I started breaking out again, and since I've heard the menthol in Stridex can be an irritant for some people, I looked for a new BHA.

I've heard great things about Paula's Choice, but her products totally exceeded what I thought possible. This BHA makes my skin so, so smooth by the time morning rolls around. My makeup glides on and any acne spots I do have are significantly reduced overnight.

It can be very drying though, so beware. I'm currently using this with Retin-A, so I have to moisturize, moisturize, moisturize. As long as you have the right moisturizer, you should be all set.

The price is a little more than what I'd ideally like to pay, but it's well worth it. Plus you can usually find a decent percent off coupon on coupon aggregating sites.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Paula's Choice products

More Treatments (Face) products