Paula's Choice • Skin Relief Treatment [DISCONTINUED] • Treatments (Face)

rated 3.8(63 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.73%
Ingredients

This product has been discontinued


rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Lady5andy on 6/10/2013 7:02:00 PM more reviews by Lady5andy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This is for the product at the beginning of 2013. I got this one and then it was reformulated so this review is not for the lastest version. Paula's choice staff suggested me this product because I have KP, and I was already using the Resist BHA 2% lotion, but it didn't get rid of my redness, only the clogged follicles. This product didn't work for me personally. Sad to say it did nothing. I love that this stuff is fragrance free, but it smells like white vinegar ! It stinks. Each time I put it on, BF say to me ''ewww, you stinks!!''.

I will not repurchase, but I'm willing to try the reformulated one.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Sarasotagirl on 10/18/2012 11:17:00 PM more reviews by Sarasotagirl

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Me: Baumann DSPW (dry, sensitive, pigmented, wrinkled -- in other words, need all the help I can get). But I'm not VERY sensitive and I don't have rosacea, so I didn't think I needed a redness relief treatment.



But then my skin began to look a little dry and dull a lot of the time, so I decided to follow Dr. Baumann's prescriptions to the letter, just to see if I could fix things. Under my type, she recommended an anti-inflammation treatment daily, morning and night. She listed this one, among others. I'd had good experiences with Paula's Choice products, so I ordered.



And six months of daily use later, my skin is the least pink it's been in years. I'm not sure I realized HOW pink and irritated my skin had become. The bonus: I use less foundation, and I still look miles better.



I did make other changes: gave up retinoids and vitamin C products, amped up the niacinamide (CeraVe products), added omega-3s to my diet and paid much closer attention to keeping my skin protected from irritants. Still, I think a lot of the credit for my smoother, more even-toned skin has to come from this.



Ingredients: Water, Butylene Glycol (slip agent), Acetylsalicylic Acid (aspirin, a topical anti-inflammatory and analgesic), Ascorbic Acid (vitamin C/antioxidant), Epilobium Angustifolium (Willow Herb) Flower/Leaf/Stem Extract (anti-irritant), Camellia Oleifera (Green Tea) Leaf Extract (antioxidant/anti-irritant), Disodium EDTA (stabilizer/preservative).

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* heather on 10/9/2012 8:30:00 PM more reviews by heather

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This is now called Redness Relief Treatment, I believe. I've just purchased my second bottle of this. I bought the first in 2008 or so, and use it only occasionally when I have a serious outbreak of hives or when my skin is screaming at me over some way-too-agressive treatment. I transfer this to a spray bottle so I can mist it lightly over the affected area. Works great for me, and I will continue to use it. It's a fairly unique product and if you respond well to aspirin (as I do), this may work well for you.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 SHAWNC on 5/10/2012 11:23:00 AM more reviews by SHAWNC

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I had gotten a sample of this product for free from there site which was great, but the product itself didn't work for me personally. I had tried it on several red blemishes and on some razor burn on my neck. Sad to say it did nothing to help for me. The smell really turned me off as well. I love that her stuff has no added fragrance, but this smells like glue to me! I have used other Paula's products and liked them, but not this one.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* hpunkinway on 4/10/2012 5:06:00 AM more reviews by hpunkinway

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Yes, this product is sticky, but it works! Maybe you don't want to use it in the morning before work on your face, anyway, but put it on in the evening if you have a rash. It will help enormously.
I have given it to a guy friend who does not take care of his skin, and it helped him. One razor shave and irritation, apply this, and you're done!
Sticky, yes, but effective YES!

Update: My guy friend is so impressed with his skin now! He wants to try her shaving gel.

UPDATE: Guy-Friend prefers his "Sea-Breeze." I cannot do anything to dissuade him. He just prefers the immediate effects of the alcohol and menthol. Paula's product is oily-feeling, after all. Too bad he is so red. :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Arosci on 3/17/2012 12:06:00 PM more reviews by Arosci

Age: 44-55   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Warm   Hair: Other, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Well, my opinion about this product is a mixed bag.


I love the consistency, slightly thicker than water, and its slip on my skin. I also love the facts it doesn't contain any surfactant to over-degrease the skin, and the incredibly comfortable moist feel right after application.


Unfortunately, this moist feel doesn't last and once the product has sinked in, my skin feels so tight (even a heavy moisturizer cannot fix the tightness). I think this comes from the very low pH (which is 3) as I experiment the same tightness from most of her exfoliants. I don't say such a low pH is bad but (in fact, it's the only way to keep pure ascorbic acid stable in a water base) but I think it indicates that my skin is damaged and need to restore before it can handle such a pH change again.


It is slightly calming and soothing but nothing that drives me crazy of happiness (but it's still far better than most of the so said soothing treatments I tried before).


Let's wait for my skin to heal before trying again.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* joy2uandme on 2/6/2012 10:05:00 AM more reviews by joy2uandme

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I actually have tried this treatment a couple of times but swear I will not buy it again. I read that some folks with easily irritated skin were using this for a toner but the texture is so sticky and stifling I can't stand it on my skin. It does dry eventually but I still feel a film on my skin. I do find it is slightly effective for redness but it does nothing for calming my breakouts and rosacea. Also new stiffer bottle does not allow for squeezing to dispense liquid on cotton. I have some arthritis in my hands and new containers make some of her products harder to use. To me this is not worth the order especially since I can crush some aspirin and make an equally effective product for pennies.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 ShailahJade on 6/9/2011 8:36:00 PM more reviews by ShailahJade

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I really like this treatment. It's helpful against hives and razor burn.
Edit 1/17/13: I had to mark this down 2 lippies. It does still help with hives and razor burn, but I really was hoping it would help prevent bikini bumps and it doesn't. Bikini Zone smells too bad so I don't ever use that. Oh well.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 NickelEmily on 2/20/2011 5:25:00 PM more reviews by NickelEmily

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

PC's skin relief treatment is a go-to product for me whenever my skin is irritated/needs calming. Essentially it's like an aspirin mask only you don't have to mix it up yourself. It is fragrance free and has a water consistency. I use a cotton round and rub it like a toner on my face. It's also quite cooling to the skin so for those of you experiencing hot flashes in your faces, this is a great stand-by product to have at the ready.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 justcallmed on 9/19/2010 12:39:00 PM more reviews by justcallmed

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Love it! I use it for 2 big things right now; after shaving I take a cotton round and apply it all over my face and neck to make sure no irritation occurs, and on a patch of eczema on my leg; stops the itching right away and actually calms down the redness.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Paula's Choice products

More Treatments (Face) products