Sana • Pore Putty • Primer/ Corrector

rated 4.4(18 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.83%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 puredew on 6/11/2014 3:49:00 AM more reviews by puredew

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Unlike the pictures attached above, I bought the Pore Putty with the pink package, called "Bright Up." My goal wasn't to become lighter skinned but compared to the one I was thinking of buying, this one had SPF50+ PA++++. It was around 1000Yen, so 11-12 dollars USD according to the time I bought it.

First of all, the packaging is simple yet cute. A soft pink with a brown lid and print <3 The tube has a tube-like application, not a pump but it is small and is easy to control the quantity you squeeze out. The amount looks small for the price but you don't need that much, considering it is a primer.

In terms of priming, it does a good job of making the surface even and for the most part even-toned. It comes out in a light pink liquid form.It makes my skin (an NC30-35) a shade lighter. For those with a yellow undertone, this may not be the best for you. I have a combination so I could live with it. I wore it for a week and a half and I could definitely say that my face looked more even, brighter, it controlled some of the excess oil one usually gets on a humid, summer day.

However, the issues I had with this made me feel like I wasted my money and I had to stop using it quite soon. Issue one: It was very difficult to spread across the face. Many of you might sympathize with me in that due to uneven skin tone and acne, it becomes a challenge to find things to glide on your face. I have found primers that worked for me before, so it isn't the nature of primers but the texture of this one specifically. For that person, like me, I wouldn't suggest this product as it was quite a thick and stubborn formula so it was very hard to spread across the face. It isn't a very moisturizing primer and although your skin may feel soft because of the primer, you can definitely feel a drying effect.

The second issue is the main issue. I am acne-prone and sensitive. This primer broke me out. Of course, I am prone to getting acne anyway but after using this, the acne, although not a lot, but a relative increase in the number, started to appear. For me, acne is a main priority so I had to stop using it.

If these qualities are ones you think you share with me, then I would suggest you save your money. Otherwise, feel free to check it out. This had a sticker saying that it was ranked number #1 in Japan (Although I don't know what year they ranked it. I think it was cosme...).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 geegeegee on 3/15/2014 2:59:00 PM more reviews by geegeegee

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I have uploaded the version of this primer that I use above and I apologize for the blurriness of it, but I think you can see it. Mine is called "Make up base Moist" and is simply a moist primer to cover your pores with before putting foundation on top. It's a yellow TUBE (important to know, since I have tried the bottle-one and it was horrible) containing 25g and costs 1000 yen. It is for natural effect and colour type, which means a tad bit light for my Japanese friends (according to them) while I, the very pale European with yellow tint to her skin, has an exact match. It contains SPF25 and PA++ (which I don't know what it means) and is to put on after moisturizing the face. A pearl-size amount is enough to work in into the most visible pores-area.

With this general knowledge laid down, I shall move onto the actual personal review of it. As mentioned, I am a pale yellow-tinted skin European who has problems with most skin-coloured products as many tend to be too pink for me. Here in Japan, same problem, since a lot of the make-up has pink undertones to make them look paler (but this is also something I say based on what magazines like Popteen and my friends say, I could be mistaken as I am not Japanese myself) since that's what's considered pretty. I have tried many different foundations and primers here to no avail, but a few years ago when I was here the first time I thought that this yellow Sana PorePutty-tube looked interesting and for a mere 1000 yen I bought it and tried it on. Now, 3 years later, I am back to it once again.
PorePutty has a variety of primers, but none except this one works on the. The bottle one lays on top of my face without covering anything and I just look... You know what, I don't even have words to explain how it went on my face. It looked weird on top, didn't sink it, made my skin dry and was a general disappointment. I thought it was going to be similar but it was so different that I can't see the smallest similarity between the bottle one and the tube one.
The tube one, as I said, is my darling primer and never will I let it go. The pros are:
1. It's so light with yellow tint and so far is the only primer to match me perfectly.
2. It's called "Moist" for a reason - my skin remains moist the whole day and very natural. I tried it on the hand first time to see if it was same base-colour as me (yellow/neutral) and it was like having a moisturizes for the hand because it turned so soft.
3. It works with any foundation on top.
4. It's fragrance free.
5. It has a light covering if one wants to wear it without foundation or powder and won't look weird at all. Maybe not the only product to use if you want to cover pores to a 5, but a 3-4 would be possible with just the tube-version.
6. Lasts 3 months and to be honest, I feel that about 333 yen every month is okay for this product.

But, as always, cons:
1. It's a small tube and I get annoyed when having to stock up the same product. It's quite popular and quickly gets sold out at the drug store where I live.
2. Not a 5 in covering of the pores; you'd need the PorePutty powder on top to completely make them disappear.

Looking at this product in total, I really do recommend it to anyone who feels like trying it on (NC15 shade here and it's perfect). But, once again: the TUBE type that's completely yellow/gold. The bottle with red lid was quite nasty for me and my skin, but this one is my baby.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Shortcourt0 on 4/30/2013 2:50:00 PM more reviews by Shortcourt0

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I ordered this last year, I got the white tube with the blue lid which is the clear makeup base. I ordered it on Sasa.com, I just went to see how much it would be to order it now and it seems the shipping charges have gone up. The shipping costs more than the product. I have been out of it for a few months now and I miss using it. I thought it was a great inexpensive primer. I dislike the Smashbox one but this one seemed to work well on me. It does a great job at blurring and filling in pores and I think it helped my makeup stay put all day. I didn't notice any additional oil added to my face, which I saw some other reviewers comment on. I am currently using the Estee Lauder Matte primer which is alright, I would really like to use Pore putty again but not if I have to pay so much for shipping.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 keifu on 7/26/2012 1:32:00 AM more reviews by keifu

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

One of the best primer I've ever used. Realllllly makes application of foundation smooth and flawless. I have the one with the blue cap that goes on clear, just like Smashbox's photo primer. Price is so-so, considering this is a japanese drugstore product. I got it from sasa in asia for about SGD 19. Packaging is just simple and effective. I like my primers and everything else in a squeeze tube form such as this because I don't need to worry about it spilling or of the extra weight when I travel. The design could be nicerrrr but I'm not complaining. My only gripe with this is that, since this is silicon-based to give you that poreless, smooth look, make sure you really cleanse your skin right at the end of the day otherwise it will clog your pores and cause breakouts.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Suppie on 7/9/2012 11:18:00 PM more reviews by Suppie

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I purchased the item with the blue cap, the pore putty in clear and THIS ITEM IS AMAZING. The texture is so much like Smashbox's photo finish foundation primer. I forgot how much I payed for this item but I'm sure it wasn't much. A little pea size goes a long way. I purchased this over a year ago and its only half done. I wear foundation makeup around 2 times per week. If you're near an Asian store, this item is a must but and must try!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* littlemj on 1/31/2012 3:29:00 PM more reviews by littlemj

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

NC25 Chinese, reddish undertones, old acne discolorations.

I purchased from Sasa, both the the Sana Pore Putty BB Pact SPF 40 (in compact form) as well as the Pore Putty Make Up Base Moist SPF 25 (in tube, gold cap form). I don't know if they can claim to be BB creams, but the color match is very good for NC25 than the billions I've tried.

The BB pact is buildable to full coverage, though it does slide by late afternoon (trying to avoid primers for my acne prone skin)! The tube version is light coveragto medium coverage.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 victoriassecrets on 12/21/2011 2:21:00 AM more reviews by victoriassecrets

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight   Eyes: Blue    

I have to say, I'm quite impressed with this. I'm reviewing the blue lidded one. Conceals my pores pretty well and it absolutely makes my make up last so much longer! I wore this to a wedding recently and my make up remained fresh til the end of the night. I have noticed that it does break me out though so it will be saved for special occasions.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lipglossjunkee on 11/24/2011 12:10:00 AM more reviews by lipglossjunkee

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I'm reviewing the Sana Pore Putty in the tube, it has a slight tint to it that is perfect for my NC15-20 skin. SPF 50, which I love, and very easy to get new tubes for reasonable prices on ebay (I haven't checked elsewhere yet). This is really more of a bb cream for me, as I need no primer under it nor another foundation over it, just a dusting of powder--my skin is somewhat dry, but I do get some T-Zone oilies and this really just gives me a smooth lovely poreless finish to my skin. I seriously love this, and now all the foundations I THOUGHT I loved before are only paling in comparison. I've purchased 2 small tubes of this so far, my next tube will be the larger size. ♥

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* raggie92 on 7/28/2011 2:21:00 AM more reviews by raggie92

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I have the one in the picture, and I have 3 of these. [2 as back-up]
I have heard so much reviews for this product from Asian bloggers. I wouldn't really use it like a primer because it's tinted.

I always take a pea size amount of the product and pat it on with my fingers around my cheeks area to cover up those huge pores. I wouldn't use this all over my face because it looks very patchy and weird. I use it over my homemade primer to conceal pores.

The texture is smooth and creamy. It is easy to blend out but I really think it shouldn't be used all over the face just because it looks stupid. It will be good corrector for those who has slight pink undertones or extreme redness on the face. It does correct redness because of the yellow tint of the product.

I could wear it on its own and just do some concealing and powder my face and I'm good to go.

EDIT: I now apply it on with my Essence of Beauty foundation brush or a stippling brush and it gives my foundation a flawless finish afterwards. And this keeps my foundation lasting a whole lot longer, in comparison to just Aloe Vera gel alone.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Cherrybello on 6/27/2011 8:33:00 AM more reviews by Cherrybello

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Kinky, Medium   Eyes: Black    

This is a review for the blue version that comes in a tube. If you are looking for a product that controls oil, then step away, this is not for you. It is translucent and a bit on the dry side... spreads out evenly and does its job alright when it comes to concealing pores, my pores are fairly big, and pore putty hides it pretty well under most of my foundations. But I need to blot it often during the day because it does nothing for oil control. Once the oil starts seeping through my foundation turns into a mess. So... I can only give it a 3 even though it works so well... for a couple of hours...

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Sana products

More Primer/ Corrector products