Keys • Soap Solar Rx Brioad Spectrum Sunblock • Sunscreen

rated 3.9(18 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.72%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 nguyen8733 on 2/22/2012 1:00:00 AM more reviews by nguyen8733

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I've been using this product for a few years off and on. I sometimes try other sunscreens but end up coming back to this one. I have combination skin so I only use it on my cheeks. I feel it may be a little too heavy for my tzone. I love that it has all natural ingredients and it smells nice too.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jinglecat on 2/20/2012 3:53:00 PM more reviews by jinglecat

Age: 44-55   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I love the nano sized zinc particles that are the ss for Keys. Nano sized particles means no whitening, and an enhanced uv screening. (smaller particles of more uniform conformation= smaller gaps between particles; which means less opportunity for uv to reach skin) You should apply this by first smoothing all over the face and then patting it on to even the product over the skin, rather than rubbing it around. (Rubbing any physical ss to try and work it into the skin can result in gaps in coverage.)

The finish is matte; the feel not at all greasy. I use a moisturizer below and my skin feels firm yet supple, and this controls oiliness all day long in T-zone for me. The surface is somewhat tacky to the touch, and imo less than ideal, especially as a base for foundation either cream or powder. A layer of silicone base primer over the Keys makes a better surface for mu.

One big cosmetic benefit to the Keys is how much it improves the appearance of my skin. I have large pores and fine lines lip/eye zone. Foundation mu seems to emphasize those textural flaws so much that I find I look older wearing foundation than without. The Keys has a way of diffusing the light so that my skin surface looks smoother overall, and that makes a big difference in the mirror!

I would rate this 4.5, because the tacky surface is a bit of a pita, but not a deal breaker given the other benefits. A waterproof version would be on my wishlist too.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 kanka999 on 2/14/2012 2:32:00 PM more reviews by kanka999

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I ordered a sample of this stuff first after reading the good reviews on here but I dont' think I'll be purchasing the full size. I'm usually not sensitive at all to smell or fragrance but there's something in here that I just don't like. I don't even know how to describe it. It also felt a little heavy and greasy to me as I was looking for a good sunscreen to wear everyday under makeup.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 coppersnowflake on 2/14/2012 10:50:00 AM more reviews by coppersnowflake

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This is my go-to daily sunblock and it's amazing. I searched for a long time for a non-chemical, non-irritating sunblock for everyday use, and was so excited to finally find this product. It's light and non-pasty and blends in easily.

However, I don't use this if I'm going to be in the sun for hours or if I'm going to be sweating or swimming. It's not made for that. What I've found is, there really isn't a satisfactory sunblock that is perfect for every occasion. I'm not going to find a light-as-air, non-chemical sunblock that will hold up during a marathon. You either slap on the chemical kind that absorbs UV rays, or you buy a sweat-proof natural block that's going to be thick and pasty.

Otherwise, this sunblock is tops if you're looking for a higher-range spf that is non-chemical for daily activities. I have fair, acne-prone skin and this blends in super well and even mattifies it a little. And the cost is actually pretty cheap because you get a very large amount for the money. HG product!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* gabiinchicago on 12/19/2011 9:47:00 AM more reviews by gabiinchicago

Age: 44-55   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Update: it's been 12 months now, and I still love it; I've tried others but I love that it's not too matte (like beyond coastal) and it's not too reflective (like pratima) -- and does NOT break me out (like so many others).
--------------------------------------------------------
This review is for Keys Soap Solar RX 30SPF. I love this SS - I think I've finally found my HGSS! I've been using it for about 5 months now, and it's the bomb for my oily, acne-prone, sensitive skin.

If your skin can't tolerate chemical ss or silicone-based physical ss, this is a good option with a great rating by EWG, which means it's stable and safe (except I wish it were micro- instead of nano-size).

Application tip: do not rub this in; instead, rub it between your fingers then pat it on gently.

Pros: physical (not chemical) base, moisturizing, very faint natural scent, broad spectrum, adore the sanitary dispenser, size works for airport security, no break-outs!!!, doesn't crease, no white cast, no freckles after the entire summer, glowy but not too reflective finish after dusting powder.

Cons: feels a little thick and greasy but powder will cover the shine, not sure how it works under foundation, not sure about nano-technology

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 JMJM on 11/16/2010 2:47:00 PM more reviews by JMJM

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I've been on a quest to find a mostly natural sunscreen (good EWG score) that is SPF 30 or more that doesn't cost an arm and a leg and doesn't leave a white cast on the skin. So far, this sunblock is winning by a landslide!

I've tried the Badger one and Aubrey Natural Sun for Active Lifestyles and they leave the worst ghosty white-face chalky finish. I'm NC30 with a yellow undertone, so anything that leaves a whitish cast is painfully obvious. I tried the John Masters Organics sunblock but it's pretty pricey for the quantity you get and it still leaves a slight white cast on me.

No trouble with ghost/clown face with Keys Soap Solar Rx.

The one I got has a nice citrusy smell, like other reviewers I don't find that it has an offensive odour at all. Maybe I got a good batch.

Yes it's a bit sticky but I like to think it's acting as a humectant, i.e. drawing moisture into the skin. If I leave it on my skin as is I find it quite matte. If I'm going out, I put some loose powder on top and that takes care of the stickiness.

The packaging is terrific, too. The pump is very good at keeping the product fresh and because the bottle is clear you can easily see how much is left.

I love this sunblock and will definitely be ordering again. The search is over!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 isingonrooftops on 8/21/2010 5:44:00 PM more reviews by isingonrooftops

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I quite like this sunscreen due to the following reasons: mostly organic ingredients, leaves a nice looking sheen on your skin (without that overly flashy effect that a lot of sunscreens tend to leave your skin with), a good value (it's $26.95 on the Keys site for 100 ml; most sunscreens are much more expensive). I also think it smells nice. I've read some reviews that said the smell of this sunscreen is offensive, but it smells sweet and citrus-y to me. Oh well, everyone has different taste (or scent) buds. My only gripe with this product (and I have this with the Luminos "Hydrating" Moisturizer too) is that it is not moisturizing enough. Whenever I apply this onto my skin, my skin glows. However, it still feels dry, like it's just sitting on top of my skin, unlike, say, a more moisturizing sunscreen such as CA Baby. I will most likely repurchase this again, although I would like to try the Loving Naturals Sunscreen first.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 KSAkemi on 5/30/2010 1:59:00 AM more reviews by KSAkemi

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Finally, I found a moisturizer with SPF that actually keeps my skin hydrated! I have post-acne traumatized skin that is combo dry/oily T-zone. I wanted to protect it to keep scars from getting darker as well as moisturize all while making sure my acne did not return. Thankfully, I have had no adverse reactions to this, no clogged pores or acne. There is a slight whitening effect with first applied but it fades quickly as the product sinks in. There is also a somewhat spicy smell to it, but this also fades. The product applies smoothly and works well under makeup (does not cake or ball). I feel this is the perfect product for everyday use, but would use an actual sunblock if spending the day outside. Overall I am very happy (an so is my skin).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sugarlessgirl on 7/2/2009 6:15:00 PM more reviews by sugarlessgirl

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

This is probably the only sunscreen I would want to use on my face on a daily basis. I love that the ingredients are so gentle, and I've never broke out while using it. I have combo oily t-zone/chin and dry cheeks so this helps me to balance oil production and moisturize. It makes me feel like I'm keeping the moisture retained in my skin. I live in California though, so it's pretty dry year round; it might be "greasier" to those who live in a more humid climate. It absorbs quickly and is perfectly fine under makeup. The only thing I didn't really like was the smell, but it fades quickly and I got used to it after a while (it kind of smells like the gardening section of the hardware store haha).

There's quite a bit of product. I don't use a full pump (I use maybe a 1/3 or a 1/2 of a pump) and I bought it back in...January? Maybe even before that. So I've had it for a solid 6 months or so and I still have half left. I think it was worth the money!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mostly_harmless on 5/17/2009 12:39:00 PM more reviews by mostly_harmless

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Olive   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

As someone whose skin is both acne-prone and very sensitive, I have long been skeptical of products that describe themselves as 'healing.' In this case, however, I believe that it isn't hype. I bought this sunblock at a time when I had given up on my skin ever clearing. If I couldn't stop my zits, then at least I could protect them from the sun. Since I started using Keys sunblock three weeks ago, I've had only one small, non-cystic pimple, which for me is a ten-year record.
My only complaint about Keys is that its formula isn't waterproof, which means I have to buy a separate sunblock for swimming, and that it has to be re-applied if I sweat a lot.
I recommend this product highly for adult acne sufferers, and for daily use, but less for athletes.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Keys products

More Sunscreen products