Guerlain • Meteorites Travel Touch in Mythic 01 • Highlighters

rated 3.3(7 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.57%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 fleurverte000 on 2/24/2015 8:23:00 PM more reviews by fleurverte000

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

love it as well as the original pack. tho thi one gives an stronger shimmer. the smell is superb plus it doesnt irritate you

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* aksaiyo on 1/25/2015 2:52:00 PM more reviews by aksaiyo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I just got this today and I'm quite infatuated with the effect it gives, but I know this feeling could be temporary and I will update as I go.
This is not my first brush with meteorites. My first meteorites were the Teint Rose mini duty free duo, I then fell in love and went for the Perles du Dragon later the same year. I also have a mini Sephora sample of the current Clair shade (replacement for Mythic and Teint Rose) back when Guerlain reformulated.

Currently this product retails for $57 for 7g (not including tax). For your information, an original MAC pigment jar had 7.5g of product. I bought this atrociously priced powder despite said price because I realized that the powder that comes off my ball shaped meteorites are not as fine as I would like. I used to scoop out the balls of jars, collect the "dust" at the bottom, and then ground them down a little more by hand to make the particles finer. This way, the result is more glowy and less shimmery. I got really tired of doing this all the time, so I wanted to get pre-powdered ones, because I'm sure whatever I can do with my archaic powder grounding methods Guerlain can probably do better with their specialized machines.

Was I right? Yes.

The powder here is incredibly finely milled, so the effect I get when I apply it to my face is certainly more glowy than my normal meteorites. I wonder if it's because the powder is so fine, or because this was a different color: mythic, as opposed to what I already own? Either way I love the effect and am happy to own it. The effect it gives is more complexion even-ing and good skin looking, while my Dragon balls and Clair sample gives a more "dewy" look (especially the clair). Can't compare it to my Teint Rose right now because I can't find it...maybe I left it at a relative's house in a different country >.>

Because of the fineness of its particles, it seems hard to overdo this powder. Perhaps Guerlain has designed this powder to be less shimmery due to it's intention as a touch up powder (much like how the pressed meteorite voyage is more matte than the regular ball shaped one). Because I don't really like the sponge and my oily nose doesn't need more glow during the day (I mainly apply this to my cheeks), today I opened the screw top and applied straight with my Chikuhodo MK-2 brush. I accidentally picked up *way* more product than I thought but I applied it all anyway. If I stuck my face *right* under my fluorescent desk lamp (like 8 inches away from the bulb) and examined my cheek with a hand mirror, I might have looked a little metallic (but not glittery! no glitter particles to be found!), but in every other lighting I've tried, I looked glowy. Most people won't even have this problem though, since no one normal would dip their powder brush generously straight into the tub of powder.
...
I've read the other reviews, and there are two points mentioned in them I'd like to discuss:
1. Product coming out of the sides:
I have this problem too. I was a little shocked and disturbed when I saw that every time I closed the lid, a little puff of powder came out the side. Whaaaaa? I noticed that it was coming from the bottom of the lid (where the shiny gunmetal part meets the clear part), and I tried opening that to clean it. I did my best to clean out most of the powder lying around the gap (there was quite a bit!) but the puffing problem still continues...albeit much less. Will update if I find a solution.

2. Sponge removal:
It's possible, I've uploaded a picture above (should be the second one) to prove it. The packaging mechanism works like this: the powder travels through a little hole in the bottom, up to a suction cup-like funnel. The funnel distributes the product through a plastic holey sponge mesh thing that is inside the puff cover. And the fine powder filters through the soft puff cover onto our skin. I'm not sure if you can remove the puff cover from the spongey mesh, but at least you can take it off the funnel to wash it.
...
Conclusion:
While I really like the effect and fineness of the powder, the prohibitive price and the design flaws (why is my precious expensive powder puffing out the sides?) has me doubting that I will repurchase.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bubblegumpoo on 2/15/2013 8:29:00 AM more reviews by bubblegumpoo

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I honestly don't get this product. I am a real highlighter h00r but still am totally baffled over the hype over Guerlain Ballz and Meteorites. It gives a very powdery/glittery/sparkly highlight that looks artificial . I have combo skin, and don't find this to really help my skin look more dewy. It doesn't help prolong foundation wear either. I guess if you are a fan of the Meteorites, this would be a handy "on the go" powder for travelling purposes. However, it's quite unsanitary to use as you can't take off the sponge applicator to wash without ripping or destroying it.
The packaging is pretty though. And I am partial to the scent. I just never find myself reaching for this.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* alicilera on 9/13/2010 4:41:00 AM more reviews by alicilera

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I was really skeptical when I bought this, due to the reviews received. Am loving it for travel purposes, I use it as a touch-up face powder. Not too shimmery at all when applied with light hand. 1st time use, was abit wasteful. I couldnt see any product application, and puffed like crazy!
But thereafter, product applies easily. I dont use it everyday - so i dont foresee it finishing so soon. I'm just worried about hygiene factors - not being able to wash the sponge. I got inspiration off this to pound my Meteorites balls version to powder. Now they apply much faster!
I used to have to swipe 10 times just to get something to show from Meteorites balls. lol.
Took a lippie off for the price. Too much $ for too little product.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 hana86 on 6/7/2009 1:57:00 AM more reviews by hana86

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I hate it- that's it~ it's way too glittery and shimmery...

I heared so many good reviews about this product... internationally...but I'm not thrilled with the product at all~..

and... the powder comes out of the size of the container!!! does it happen to everyone's container?? or is mine a faulty product??? well.. everytime I puff or open the lid/close the lid, the powder comes out from the sides........ so much excess powder just comes out.. and I tried to tighten it... but its already tight!!!! for $90 AU it's not worth it.. seriously.. NARS multiple stick is so much better as a highlighter....

so disapppointed and I wanna give a zero!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Tippchick on 2/10/2009 2:39:00 PM more reviews by Tippchick

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

This was picked up in Duty Free and was $46 (Canadian). I would agree with the earlier reviewer regarding the amount of product that is used in such a short space of time. Having said that it does impart a wonderful glow-like finish on the skin and I would say this makes it worth the money but I am at the age when this is very important so keep that in mind.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tijanarm on 8/15/2008 9:14:00 PM more reviews by tijanarm

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Well, I love all things Meteorites, so naturally, when Guerlain came out with a "travel friendly" version, I had to splurge. BTW, this is a brand new addition to the line (August 2008) so I haven't seen it in Sephora yet, only at the dept. stores. This is a small container with powdered version of Mythic 01 colour of Meteorites (so not the little balls, but powder) and on the top of the container is attached a sponge-y puff. There is a hole at the top pf the container and the powder "seeps" through the puff in a controlled amount and you sweep it across the face. Not an ultra-new concept (actually, if you know Guerlain line, they already have a line of loose powders that come in similar containers). I have also seen some other makeup brands with the similar container idea, so as I already said, nothing revolutionary, but it works. I love the concept as it makes the application of Meteorites even faster than before, plus, there is no need to carry both the brush and the big box of Meteorites with you. Great concept and love the product, but it is pricey, especially, since I am getting a feeling using this for the last week that you use up a lot more product this way than simply with Meteorites balls and brush. We'll see. The colour this currently comes in is Mythic 01, which is a fairly standard and generic illuminator for the face. It is exactly the same as the standard Meteorites balls or compact in Mythic. Great product and highly recommended, especially if you are traveling frequently and hate to carry the brush and box with you everywhere. UPDATE: I am sorry my beloved Guerlain, taking one lippy off as this product visibly disappears from my pot every time I use it!!!! For some reason, a LOT more product is used this way than with the traditional Meteorites "brush and balls" system. I love the concept, but if I continue at this rate I will use up the entire package in less than a month!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No




More Guerlain products

More Highlighters products