Vichy Dermablend Skin Concealer

4.2

70 reviews

77% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.5

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.5

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Ingredients: Isododecane, Isohexadecane, Petroleum Distillates, Isononyl Isononanoate, Talc, Kaolin, Nylon-12, Dimethicone/Vinyl Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Hydrogenated Styrene/Isoprene Copolymer, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Sorbitan Stearate, Nylon-66, Propylene Carbonate, Acrylates Copolymer. May Contain: Iron Oxides, Titanium Dioxide.


on 2/26/2015 4:56:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I've been using this product for over 3 years. It is simply incredible. It lasts all day, it covers pretty much anything (it's made for serious skin issues/cover up for tattoos, etc.), and it is reasonably priced - I live in Canada and I can find it for $24 on sale (regular price about $32).
If you have acne, if your skin is allergy-prone - buy this! It was been tested and retested for all skin related issues.
The only downfall is the small variety of colors. I use the lightest, Opal. While it does work really well, it is a bit too yellow and slightly too dark. However, seeing as I have never found anything comparable to this product, I will keep buying it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 12/26/2013 7:24:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

The Vichy Dermablend skin concealer is just amazing!! it covers literally anything!! blemishes, scars and even tattoos, you name it! I would definitely buy this product again once i finish mine. It lasts forever, you only need a tiny bit as it goes a long way and it stays in place all day, so no need to touch up your makeup. I believe its around £19 but its worth it if you really want to cover something.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 12/2/2012 6:38:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Black

If you buy this, note that the tube will last you forever, especially if you're just covering up some dark marks or acne here and there. A tiny-itty bitty drop goes a LONG way. Along with staying power, its probably the best thing about this concealer.

However, I found that it was breaking me out. And... it was almost /too/ pigmented and thick. It's much, much harder to blend than it needs to be, and unless you get an absolute perfect colour match, it can get pretty obvious you're wearing it.

On /really/ bad skin days I reach for this just for its ridiculously good coverage, but unless you have the time to fiddle with this and blend it really well, it's not something I can wear everyday. It's just too much!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 4/11/2012 12:45:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

First heard of this product by watching Lisa Eldridge's YouTube tutorial for covering acne. She used this product on her model and I was amazed with the coverage, so I ordered it. I'm mega fair with pink undertones, and ordered 15 Opal, which was the lightest shade. I don't know if I got a bad batch, but mine made me look orangey. I applied it exactly the same way as Lisa Eldridge's video yet it still did not look right. This tube has sat in my makeup drawer for a long time because I prefer my Clinique advanced concealer in 01 Matte Light. It is cheaper and works better to me. Do not plan to repurchase this concealer.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 2/8/2012 11:58:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

BEST concealer ever for full coverage and long-lasting wear. I have oily skin, so it definitely says a lot about product performance if it's still in place at the end of a workday. A tiny little bit goes a looooong way, but the quantity dispensed is very easy to control. Despite quite a heavy texture, I've found it very easy to blend. I also appreciate the fact that it is truly matte and doesn't add any shine. I've never had issues with break-outs or any sort of irritation using it.
The coverage is nothing short of amazing. I somehow picked up a really nasty skin abscess due to a staph infection that took forever to heal, and this concealer made it much less noticeable -- there is nothing that would have made it completely invisible, but this hid a large area of redness really well.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/13/2012 4:33:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This stuff works the best but make sure you cleanse and moisturize prior to use.
ALSO, this stuff is discontinued in certain stores but still sells at CVS and Duane Reade....nowhere online that I can find unfortunately since I try almost every weekend.

Please note: Manhattan CVS and Duane Reade stores sell this as I cannot find it outside in the outer boroughs of New York City.


on 9/23/2011 12:27:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

This is really highly pigmented so a tube lasts forever. It stays well, blends well but the colour 20 Nude is just too yellow for my cool toned skin. I've had it for over a year and have tried to make it work but I'm finally ditching it in favour of EL DW concealer and Lancome Effarcense (sp?) which are nicely pigmented, don't crease too much and blend better with my skin tone.


on 9/18/2011 2:08:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Grey

I have this in my purse for urgent situations, for example if I forgot to put concealer on a part of my face, if a pimple pops out during the day, if I get redness around my nose, or if I cried and my undereyes are swollen, or if my concealer slid off during the day. I like the hygienic packaging and it assures me that I can only use the smallest quantity, as this product can get cakey really fast. Although it is from the Vichy Dermablend line, I still think that it is lacking compared to their liquid foundation or stick foundation. I much prefer the foundations as they can be sheered out and still covered as much as this one does. Compared to its counterparts, the lasting power of this concealer is rather bad. All in all, it's practical for small things, but I'd still choose the foundations before this one. I will not repurchase.


on 9/18/2011 1:31:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have chronic dark circles and puffy eyes. Have always been looking for a product to get rid of them and or do a decent job covering it up.

Thanks to the previous reviews here telling us that this product will not be discontinued and will come in a stick format. I went to Vichy.com to check it out yesterday because Vichy.ca was down. You will see that they don't carry the previous concealer in a small pot and only the stick format which comes in 4 shades (or 5).

I have to say, this is a product that requires a bit of practice and once you get the hang of it, it does what it claims to do:

-staying power
-natural looking
-opaque concealing power for scars, veins, pimples, and under eye circles.

I usually apply lemon aid from benefit before putting this on. But due to the recent summer that just ended, I found that it did not stay on as well. Therefore, i dusted some power after dotting on lemon aid, then dabbing this concealer on and setting it again. If you have purchased this product and found it was ineffective after some time, you may want to dig it out of your makeup bag and try playing with a couple of different ways in setting it again, even setting it twice. I know I purchased this product last winter and there came a point where I thought this product wasn't as effective, but boy am I glad tried it out again.

Anyways, this will be a staple product in my makeup bag. I will try out the stick format but will bring this in to match since the shades are named differently.

Not sure if you girls have tried the cle de peau concealer that cost over 75 + tax. I heard it is so amazing. However, I am not sure if the person using it had this Vichy derma blend concealer to compare with. If anyone has tried the two, please post a review as it would helpful to compare the two.

Hope my review was helpful!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 8/12/2011 9:11:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Okay, because this stuff lasts forever, which is awesome (and I use it every day) only now am I starting to run out, only to find out it's discontinued??? WTF? I'm traumatized. This is the only concealor to work on my hyperpigmented skin (due to acne breakouts). And I'm not talking little red marks -- I have tan skin somewhere between J.Lo's and Halle Berry's skin colour, so when I scar I scar DARK. Dark brown marks. Like I have chocolate smears on my face. Bad. This stuff lasts forever and yes does last all day! I think I was at a pool party and while I didn't dunk my head in, I did get splashed and the coverage remained!
So I was used to 30 Medium and what aggravates me is that the people at Vichy completely changed the number system for the new 'stick' concealor. I had to guess and sample and ended up buying 16 Bronze (in the stick). Found the phone number on the box and called, asked what the equivalent was to 30 Medium only to find out it is No.15 (Sand?). Just as an FYI to those of you who need a replacement for 30 Medium. If you are unsure call the customer service line.
So now I'm stuck with 16 Bronze but so far it looks good. It's only been a day and the coverage has been the same -- and while I love the stick idea I am a little uncertain as to the hygenic issue -- if I use a stick to cover a blemish, with I be spreading the bacteria around when I use the stick on another side of my face? Vichy claims it won't be an issue but -- we'll see. Stay tuned.
If you find this concealor anywhere, snag it. It is the only thing that really worked, regained my confidence, covered for a long time and will cover dark marks well. Yes it's expensive but it lasts forever so it's more than worth it.
Stay tuned for a review of the stick cover up -- hope it doesn't let me down. I will never understand why companies get rid of things that *work*.
Le sigh.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top