Physicians Formula • Waikiki Strip • Bronzers

rated 4.2(21 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.80%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 OrangeMintPop on 6/8/2014 12:11:00 AM more reviews by OrangeMintPop

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Other    

This is very similar to the new formula called Warm Nude that Physician Formula came out with a few months ago. Like everyone said this is a multi-use product that you can use as a blush, bronzer, eyeshadow, highlighter. The Waikiki strip has a peachy tone just like warm nude that came out this year 2014. You can see a comparison video that I made on both of these formulas and swatches on my youtube channel.

I brought this years ago as it was supposed to be a dupe for Bobbi Brown Shimmer Bricks. It has a similar appearance but I never tried the BB shimmer bricks so I cant tell you if it's a dupe or not.

The problem with waikiki strip is that the formula is very hard and it takes many brush strokes before I can pick up the product. But the results are nice. It is shimmery but not glittery and I use it as a blush, bronzer, and highlighter. I do prefer warm nude because of how soft and easy it is for my brush to pick up the product. Here's my video review.





    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SteffStarrr on 6/9/2012 4:02:00 PM more reviews by SteffStarrr

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

This is a great multitasking product. I brought this on vacation with me, and so far I've used it as a blush, bronzer, highlight, and eyeshadow, and this product has worked fabulously for all of those purposes. The pigmentation of these is great, and they last really well for me.

As a blush, I mix my brush (Ecotools blush) through the entire pan, but focusing on the middle colors. It gives me a warm glow while giving me some color.

As a highlight, I take a stippling brush through the top three colors to create a champagne highlight.

As a bronzer, I take my bronzer blush (ELF Complexion) and swirl it through the bottom two colors. Even though it's shimmery, it stills gives me a really bronzey glow that's flattering on my NC35 skin.

There's not that much to say about this product, except that it's definitely becoming a staple! The only flaw is the slightly bulky packaging, but I don't really mind it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 manamana on 4/23/2012 11:17:00 PM more reviews by manamana

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I absolutely love this product, it is my HG bronzer! I initially picked this up to use as an eye-shadow (I did not wear blush/bronzer at the time). Then one random day I decided to give this a go as a bronzer and loved how it made me glow. It is perfect! I just sweep my brush mostly through the bottom three shade and light dust my cheeks (also slightly contouring them, nothing drastic) and it looks great.
This is shimmery, so I can understand a lot of people not preferring this. But I think if you have warm undertones and a medium to dark complexion you can completely pull this off.
it's also great for a summery, bronzey/glamorous eye-look. I honestly rarely ever use it as a eye-shadow anymore, but love love love it. I am on my second one and although this is rather pricey for drugstore- it lasts a long time and is well worth it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 azngirl7979 on 4/21/2012 11:20:00 PM more reviews by azngirl7979

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I didn't like this for the longest time for some reason, but once I started using it just on the tops of my cheekbones and down the center of my nose, I fell in love! this gives me the best glow ever. Although I do think it is expensive for a drugstore product, its a much better deal than high end bronzer/highlighters. Plus you can totally use them as eyeshadows so it was worth every penny.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 thespeedytomato on 11/22/2011 10:47:00 PM more reviews by thespeedytomato

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Physician's formula is rather expensive for a drugstore brand, but I've found success with their products in the past, so I gave this one a go. It's not a great bronzer. Using it as over large areas of the face makes everything glittery and cheap-looking. I think the majority of the problem stems from having more shimmer than pigment. I occasionally end up using the lighter shades as highlighter over the tops of my cheekbones, mostly for evening makeup (again, I find it too shimmery to wear all the time.)



It makes a nice eyeshadow pallet, which is what I use for more than anything else. The shimmer draws attention to the eyes, which is nice. Still, for a high-shimmer, neutral eye pallet, it's pricey and sometimes tricky to use. Other brands have better options that look more sophisticated and pretty. Basically, this product is just a tad too expensive for a cheap shimmery drugstore eye pallet.



The packaging is sturdy, which I like, but a pain the butt to open, which I don't like so much.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 missleahchristine on 10/28/2011 9:33:00 PM more reviews by missleahchristine

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I use an angled blush brush and sweep it across the strips and onto my cheeks. Literally a contour, blush, and highlight all in one! I love the shimmer too. Gives you a great glow with a peachy and bronze color.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* missashley884 on 8/27/2011 11:50:00 PM more reviews by missashley884

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Love this bronzer! One sweep and I get a nice bronze color and a highlight! The packaging is weird, as its hard to open sometimes. I love applying this with a kabuki brush.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 asholl on 7/20/2011 10:40:00 PM more reviews by asholl

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I am not loving this as a bronzer. It does not show up very well, and is shimmery on top of that. A couple reviews mentioned using it as blush or eyeshadow, which I think would work a lot better. I am still on the search for a bronzer I like.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 puffybubblezz on 5/5/2011 5:59:00 PM more reviews by puffybubblezz

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

LOVE this as a blush. It gives me a pinkish glow (even though it's for a peachy glow?). I swirl a small blush brush in the compact then tap it onto my cheeks and use a bigger brush to blend it out. I don't notice any shimmer, and it doesn't make me look oily. (Which is amazing, since I am pretty oily) Looks great and lasts all day if I don't keep touching my cheeks.

You really need just a tiny bit. The first time I used this, I put too much on and it made me look really dirty.

I won't comment on use as eyeshadow or bronzer, because I never tried either out for a full day.

I knocked off one point for the weird coating they put on this. At first I thought this was unpigmented, but then I realized you got to dig your brush in a little. Break past the first layer. This makes the compact messy, and powder collects on the sides of the pan, but I don't mind it.

*Also, the compact is weirdly hard to open but at least it closes securely.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* claragonz on 5/4/2011 11:37:00 AM more reviews by claragonz

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I'm really not happy with this. The formulation is a bit hard, and takes a lot of swirls to get the color I want. It's not as smooth and silky as I want it to be. There is no comparison to higher end shimmer blocks by bobbi brown or laura mercier. I guess, you get what you pay for. I definitely won't be repurchasing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Physicians Formula products

More Bronzers products