Blistex • Deep Renewal • Lip Treatments

rated 3.6(158 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.65%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 Tiffiny on 7/24/2014 1:56:00 PM more reviews by Tiffiny

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

This is the best!!! I keep coming back to this one. I use quite a few different lip products but nothing beats my deep renewal. It heals my chapped lips and doesn't make them sting like the original blister does.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lechickpea on 7/7/2014 4:22:00 PM more reviews by lechickpea

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Below average lip balm, particularly because I've become used to the Nivea brand lip balms. I just bought the Blistex Deep Renewal balm the other day, and it seems way too thin, greasy, almost watery to be able to sink into my lips and heal my chapped peeling lips. If you put a thick layer on before you go to sleep, your lips will be just as dry when you wake up in the morning.

Not intense enough for me by a long shot. I'm much more impressed by Nivea.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 NanaAnn on 5/26/2014 7:52:00 AM more reviews by NanaAnn

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

After reading one consumers review on the 'net, I think they termed it right when they said this was a lip conditioner & when comparing costs to other beauty conditioners, it was a real bargain. I bought it not because I needed dead in the the northeast winter environment protection, but because I was recuperating from a bad virus in the drought inclined Southwest desert & needed help asap with the shingled appearance of my lips. SPF was also a decision since I've had precancerous lesions removed from my lips twice. Was the Q10 a draw because of my age (66)? Not really, but I figured it wouldn't hurt. Anyways, this stuff works AND FAST! Since it's now a permanent resident in the medicine cabinet, I find the most it takes to clear up any chapped lips is 3 days, 2 being the normal. The added benefit is the nice shine and yum it tastes good, not medication laced or wax-like.

So I gave it 5 stars because for me, it lived up to all it's claims: Reduces lines and wrinkles. Improves lip health. Moisturizes, protects and renews. Reduces dryness. Increases radiance. Gives your lips a fuller appearance. SPF 15 protects against sun damage. YMMV. Also Wally World has this for under $2, guess where I'm going for refills?

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 minosan on 5/18/2014 6:17:00 PM more reviews by minosan

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

My favourite lip balm these days. Canadian winters are hella harsh and I grabbed this at a nearby Shoppers after work one day. My lips were dry, chapped, and burned so bad so I had to get something... I didn't pay so much attention to it and just grabbed the first thing that looked decent to me.

After a day or two, my lips were really moisturized and smooth. They were definitely far from chapped and I've been using this ever since! Also, all my lipsticks and lip stains have gone on so much better for some reason. My lips never feel dry anymore, just moisturized enough. The price is decent enough too, it's pretty cheap :) It lasts pretty long as well. All in all, I'm really happy with this!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* VeruskaRai on 3/25/2014 9:58:00 PM more reviews by VeruskaRai

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Terrible product. Did absolutely nothing to keep my lips moist. They were dry an hour after applying and that was indoors if you go outside in a harsh winter or hot summer you'll end up reapplying it every 10 minutes. It feels good when it goes on, but it was a bigger letdown than zebra fruit striped gum. Go with a classic Chapstick instead.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 rachlovesoliver on 3/11/2014 12:33:00 AM more reviews by rachlovesoliver

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I just bought this and I am really impressed. Ive always had severely chapped lips and this has been a miracle for me!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* blog_antagonist on 1/22/2014 10:29:00 PM more reviews by blog_antagonist

Age: 44-55   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

I live in GA. It's cold right now, and we're just not used to it. My hands are chapped, my hair is like straw, my incredibly oily face is positively parched, the skin on my body is absolutely reptilian and my lips??? Oy. Flaky, scabby mess. It doesn't seem to matter how much water I guzzle or how liberally I slather myself with lotion and potion.


I grabbed this product At Wal-Mart today in desperation. I had been running around in temps hovering around freezing all day and my lips were on fire. I didn't really pay attention to the details on the package, because Blistex products have always been pretty trustworthy for me.


At first it felt heavenly to my poor lips and I really enjoyed the mint and citrus scent. But after about an hour, my lips seemed to be burning even more than before I put it on. I thought it must have been due to something else...the spicy jalapeno jelly I had with cheese and crackers perhaps. So I cleansed thoroughly and re-applied, only to find that it actually burned on contact. I was really puzzled until I read the reviews here, and then it dawned on me that it's the SPF. I have the same reaction when I use products containing even the slightest amount of SPF on my face. I avoid them at all costs.


I'd be willing to bet that is what's causing the burning, cracking and peeling that other reviewers have reported. If you are sensitive to chemical sunscreens, this product is not for you.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 iepurasmic on 12/22/2013 7:26:00 AM more reviews by iepurasmic

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I like that it provides broad spectrum sun protection. It's moisturizing but it's not enough if you have severely chapped lips like I do. I initially liked the way this balm tasted (grapefruit) but after frequent use, I noticed some bitterness. I don't think I will repurchase in the future.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* EnjoyTheSilence on 12/22/2013 6:50:00 AM more reviews by EnjoyTheSilence

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I have used several tubes of this balm over the past 2 or 3 years. It is safe to say that it's my favorite everyday balm, and I keep several tubes throughout the house and in my purse. I have very acne-prone skin, and this balm does NOT cause those blasted lip line zits for me as many others do. I am also allergic to some sunscreen ingredients typically used in lip products, and I've never had a reaction with this balm (of course, that's not to say that no one else will.)

This has a very soft, sugary spearmint-citrus fragrance and is lightly sweetened in flavor. It feels ever-so-subtly minty and cool on the lips, but not icy feeling at all. Its texture is very smooth and buttery, but not overly slick or oily. Application feels nice and smooth; it does not grab or drag as some waxier balms can do. It does moisturize very well and leaves lips feeling soft and moderately hydrated after blotting or eating/drinking. I do prefer a slightly waxier/matte balm under certain lipsticks, but for the most part this performs well under a variety of lip color products.

Overall: If you have severely dry or chapped lips, this alone will not be enough -- but if you are looking for an effective no-nonsense everyday balm, give this a try.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 milkglass59 on 10/27/2013 11:57:00 PM more reviews by milkglass59

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I've been using this product for several years. I love it. I use it all day long, by it self or under lipstick. Great stuff.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Blistex products

More Lip Treatments products