LUSH • Vanishing Cream • Moisturizers

rated 3.4(156 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.55%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 DanicaMarie on 4/1/2014 10:03:00 AM more reviews by DanicaMarie

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This is a funny cream. It goes on very light and matte, smells great and absorbs quickly (Hense the name "Vanishing Cream"). All great things that i want in a moisturizer. I suppose i technically have combination skin, i have a very oily T-zone but then have dry patches on my chin and around my mouth, so i need something to combat the oil, while not over saturating my T-zone, but still moisturize the dry spots. There are 3 things i don't like about this moisturizer. 1) While its quite light, it does leave a very faint greasy feeling on my face. Nothing that would cause me concern, but it is noticeable 2)The price is crazy. For a little pot it was about $44CAN, but i will say you really don't need a lot. A little dab will easily do your entire face, so i can see that it will last a good while at least. and finally, that is in a pot. If you get a sample from the store, or they test it out on you, the store uses a bottle with a pump which makes you excited, but they don't sell those to the public. Doesn't really make sense to me, but i'm just not a jar/pot person. Its easy enough to wash your hands first obviously, but they just don't seem overly sanitary to me.
All in all i really like this moisturizer. It does exactly what i want it to. It doesn't over saturate my T-zone or clog my pores and my dry patches are very happy. This pot will last quite awhile judging by how much there is and how much i use per day, but i will definitely repurchase once i'm finished.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 amyrose1592 on 3/26/2014 4:42:00 PM more reviews by amyrose1592

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I wasn't keen on this at first but I gave it a chance again and I really like it. I've recently bought a clarisonic and my skin cleared all around my t zone but i broke up around my jawline pretty bad. its very soothing and doesn't feel too heavy. i wear it over night and wake up with softer skin and my spots have not vanished but they are cooling down and clearing up day by day

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 jayb123 on 3/12/2014 12:28:00 AM more reviews by jayb123

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Its really expensive. Works well on super super dry skin, and heals it as it is super hydrating. It wont make your acne worse, as most moisturizers with shea butter because this one uses refined shea butter, so it actually helps heal acne rather than work backwards like most moisturizers containing shea butter do. Overall, I like the product, but stopped using it to use dermalogica. It is super expensive.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Gretalin on 2/22/2014 12:43:00 AM more reviews by Gretalin

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I've used up a pot and I've already repurchased it this morning! I love everything of this moisturizer-- it's light weight, smells really nice and it moisturize. Although it's expensive, I think it totally worth every penny. I see so much improvement of my skin since I used this produce-- my skin is so much clearer.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 ScarletteLawson on 2/19/2014 11:59:00 AM more reviews by ScarletteLawson

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

SO EXPENSIVE. And oily, heavily perfumed (although admittedly I liked the smell-like lavender!) this left my skin feeling silky, but in a gross "I have grease on my face" kind of way . Ya so anyway I broke out , and have officially given up on LUSH moisturizers. Wouldn't recommend for anyone

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 GGnumber1fan on 12/22/2013 12:18:00 AM more reviews by GGnumber1fan

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

So the LUSH Vanishing Cream was the second moisturizer I had ever purchased from LUSH and that was a few years ago. I was interested as it's a moisturizer targeted for people who have oilier and acneic skin, which is what I have. I absolutely HATED it; it felt very greasy on my skin and I couldn't stand the smell either.
A few months ago, I re-gained interest to the LUSH moisturizers as I have been getting more into natural skincare for myself. I started using Enzymion, which is a great moisturizer by LUSH for people who have oily skin and hate the feeling of greasiness on their face, because it's an extremely light formula. I literally finished the whole pot and I had barely any problems with it, except for the fact that it left my skin the slightest bit dry. I felt I had to put on a generous amount on my skin to feel moisturized enough, even though my skin is already very oily.
Recently, I was talking to one of the LUSH employees I know very well. She is also a certified esthetician so I figured she would know a lot about skincare. When I told her I had been using Enzymion, and how I felt my skin needed more moisture afterwards, she told me it was because I wasn't giving my skin a balance. In other words, the only products I used on my skin were JUST products for oily skin, so I was drying out my skin with them.
That's when she recommended me Vanishing Cream, and even though I told her I hated it, she told me to try it again.
Vanishing Cream is the second lightest moisturizer that LUSH sells; therefore, it's safe enough to be used on oily skin, but at the same time, it has more moisturizing power than Enzymion, which is what I was looking for. It is also the third most expensive moisturizer that LUSH sells, selling at $42.95. In my opinion, it's definitely worth it for some of the ingredients included in this product such as rose water, lavender honey water, organic grapeseed oil, honey, jojoba oil, and witch hazel. These ingredients are known to be very beneficial to the skin.
So of course, I tried Vanishing Cream once again, and, surprisingly, it felt very nice. Maybe I was using it wrong the last time? Anyways, I use it after spritzing Tea Tree Water toner on my face, and I feel that it actually absorbs into my skin quickly, and doesn't leave a greasy residue. I have to say, I'm still not a huge fan of the lavender smell that it has. I know that some people though LOVE that smell. For some reason, I just don't like it so much, but it definitely won't stop me from using this moisturizer morning and night. And, it's great because it definitely moisturizes a bit more than Enzymion, and so I am not left with that slight dry feeling anymore. I feel like the rose water really calms my skin down, whereas the lavender helps balance the oil production in my skin (great if you have very oily skin). The honey, jojoba and grapeseed oils, and the cocoa butter are what help moisturize the skin effectively. Also the witch hazel is awesome at tightening the pores.
All in all, I really do like this moisturizer. I notice that a little bit goes a long way, so it shows how long lasting this product is as well. You definitely want to make sure you use this moisturizer after using any one of the three toners LUSH offers, as they will make moisturizer in general work so much better on the skin.
I definitely would recommend this moisturizer to anybody who has normal to oily skin, that is sensitive and either has some or many breakouts caused by acne. It really is worth the price because it lasts such a long time and its ingredients are very effective.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ariestar8 on 11/22/2013 5:42:00 PM more reviews by ariestar8

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

It works pretty good with acne scars but I use it overnight because it was too heavy to wear in the day time.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Emma42 on 11/16/2013 10:44:00 AM more reviews by Emma42

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I have been using this for around 3 months now, and I am so impressed I wanted to write a review. I have quite oily skin so I have pretty much avoided moisturisers because they normally cause my skin to become more oily. This moisturiser skins into the skin quickly and does not leave a greasy residue. It is also very lightweight. I use this morning and night. In the morning I put it on under my make up and it works well as a primer. It leaves quite a matte finish and does not cause extreme oil production. It smells amazing, and a little goes a long way. It hasn't broken my skin out, which is a miracle because most things do. My only issue with this product is the cost. I find it quite expensive for a moisturiser, but it is still cheaper than higher end brands. Regardless, a little goes a long way so the pot will last (one pot lasted around 2 months for me)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* composure on 11/11/2013 6:52:00 PM more reviews by composure

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Many many many months ago, I ventured on this "natural" skin care regime, and thought it was wise to overindulge at Lush. I have regretted that decision and will never go back. The Vanishing cream is the last of my items to finally expire, hence I decided to write this review.

To be honest, I have never had much luck with natural products but at that point, I had never tried Lush. I was advised to try the Vanishing Cream as I have acne-prone and oily skin. I had high hopes due to the price and it's claims. I personally thought the cream was better for night time as it did not absorb into the skin and leaves me a bit greasy. I started breaking out soon after and I can only attribute it to the "oils" in the ingredients. My skin is very finicky when it comes to oils and I have only resorted to using this when my skin gets super dry or for my legs.

Such a waste, I still have half the product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Nicolebby on 9/8/2013 8:20:00 PM more reviews by Nicolebby

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I have been using this product for about two months now. I use it about three nights a week when I do an entirely LUSH skin care regime. To be honest, this product is much more suitable for daytime use since it is really light and would be great under make up since it does not take long to absorb at all. I am only using it at night since I use Origins Gin-Zing during the day which is my current obsession for a daytime moisturizer. I really like the smell of Vanishing Cream, how light weight it is (even though I prefer a thicker, more moisturizing cream to use at night), how silky and smooth my skin feels once it is applied, and of course, the pot since I can recycle five to get a free fresh face mask.

I would definitely repurchase this, but only after I have used up some of the other moisturizers that I have, since i literally have about ten that are currently open.For the price (1.5 ounces for 42.95 USD), I will admit that it is rather pricey, but this seems to last quite awhile since you seriously only need a tiny dab of it for your entire face, which justifies the price.

Edit: I do not think that I will repurchase this because, even though it does last awhile and is reasonably priced, I do not reach for it often enough because I have other moisturizers that I prefer more. For day time, I enjoy Origins Ginzing or Clinique Moisture Surge, and at night, I like thicker moisturizers like Korres Greek Yoghurt Advanced Nourishing Sleeping Facial or Mario Badescu Bee Pollen Night Cream. It is a nice moisturizer, it is just not something I enjoy anymore and it does not help diminish the sight of redness or pimples. It has not caused me any breakouts, which is nice, but neither has any of my other favorite products. It is a good basic daytime moisturizer and I could definitely see why some people may like it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More LUSH products

More Moisturizers products