Dr. Alkaitis • Soothing Gel • Skincare - Face

rated 4.1(15 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.73%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 mo98103 on 7/7/2012 5:01:00 PM more reviews by mo98103

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

A very nice swapper sent me a sample of this and within days I was hooked. I use this in the morning after washing my face with my Clarisonic and applying p50, which makes my face burn and turn red a little. As soon as I smooth one pump of this gel and 1 drop of argan oil on, the redness goes away and my skin has the perfect level of moisture. It sinks right in and I'm ready for powder foundation right away. I can't comment on the blemish control claims as the p50 keeps me pretty clear, but as a calming light moisturizer for oily skin, this is wonderful.
Like all Dr. A products, this is pricey and smells...let's say unconventional, but a little goes a long way. The pump is great, but I would prefer a glass bottle.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 aspenskimommy on 6/23/2012 6:15:00 PM more reviews by aspenskimommy

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I feel this is the Clinique Dramatically Different Gel of the natural skincare world. It gives me just enough moisture for my oily skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Khiandra on 3/26/2012 6:07:00 PM more reviews by Khiandra

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Black    

Yet another incredible product from Dr.Alkaitis! This is fast becoming my favorite skincare line ever!! The stuff just works. DA Soothing Gel keeps my skin in check. It prevents me from getting any blemishes even during that time of the month. I'm so hooked that my skin feels off when i don't apply it before my actual moisturizer. I use it like a serum treatment and not for moisture though i bet it would work great as a moisturizer for super oily skin. Love everything about this product from the texture to the scent. Good stuff!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Glee2544 on 2/7/2012 11:39:00 AM more reviews by Glee2544

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This soothing gel has almost the same ingredients as the Dr. Alkaitis toner, but it's definitely thicker and my skin likes it better. Along with the Dr. Alkaitis Night Cream, this has been a great combo during the winter in keeping my face moisturized and plumped up overnight. Love it!

Normally I use four pumps of the gel and that sufficiently covers my face and neck. It lasts forever, thankfully, because the price is in the upper stratosphere.

You may want to order the Travel Kit first (I got mine from Saffron Rouge) and try the different product samplings to see which of the 8 items work well with your skin. The first time I tried the Travel Kit I reacted quite badly; my second attempt was much more successful as I skipped the Cleanser and just tried one product at a time.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 z1e2b3r4 on 8/10/2011 10:23:00 PM more reviews by z1e2b3r4

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

A M A Z I N G! I break out a lot and scar SUPER easy even if I don't pick. Up to this point I had been using Mychelle's clear skin serum and cleanser which wasn't working for me. After several weeks of Mychelle my stubborn cysts were not going away. So I bought Dr. Alkaitis travel kit from Spirit Beauty Lounge (they ship super fast =)). After 3 days the cysts were completely gone- not even a sign they ever existed. In general, by noon my face is a greasy mess. Since using this soothing gel along with the cleanser my skin has not been oily =) I'm not so crazy about the day cream- the smell is awful to me and I much prefer Tata Harper's moisturizers and eye cream.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 makeupmandy on 7/6/2011 12:37:00 PM more reviews by makeupmandy

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Oily, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Love this product and love all the Dr. Alkaitis products that I've tried so far. I purchased the "travel" size kit from Spirit Beauty Lounge a couple of weeks ago. The kit was about $50 and contains almost all the products in the line.
I have oily, sesitive, break out prone skin. This soothing gel seems to cut down on break outs, is lightly moisturizing and soothing. The cleanser is my other favorite product and I will be buying both in full sizes very soon. I'm also enjoying the eye cream, which is moisturizing without being greasy. I haven't tried the masks or other travel size products, but I will post reviews after I do.
I've tried every high-end brand out there and these are definitely my favorite skincare products. After using them my skin is clean, soothed, and balanced. It glows!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 haikarapaprika on 5/7/2011 9:08:00 PM more reviews by haikarapaprika

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Dr. Alkaitis gets a lot of press for being a great organic brand, and being someone who wants to avoid toxic chemical ingredients I've tried using his products on several occasions.

My skin is constantly breaking out with whiteheads and blackheads on my forehead, nose and chin, and this gel has not helped my condition.

One summer, I used this product every day and night, along with his cleanser. I continued to get blemishes, and the only product that helped was the Dr. Alkaitis Nourishing Oil. I put it on at night and the next day my whiteheads were gone. However, that effect lasted only for a day, unfortunately.

I like the smell and the consistency, but ultimately this is just a gel that feels soothing upon application. It hasn't done much at all for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 ongliza on 3/23/2011 11:00:00 PM more reviews by ongliza

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

The texture is a gel. Alcohol content is relatively high on the list and you can definetly feel it as you apply it onto the skin. Personally, I don't feel that the gel is partiularly soothing nor hydrating. It makes a good toner in the summer, especially for those with oily skin. I probably won't buy this again because it is quite pricey and I didn't think it made a huge difference on my skin. However, it didn't irritate my sensitive skin.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 missbunny85 on 1/5/2011 7:16:00 PM more reviews by missbunny85

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    


I use this every day instead of a toner (which was recommended on the Dr. Alkaitis website for drier skins). It does contain witch hazel, which I wasn't so sure about at first, but this is a high quality and certified organic kind, so it doesn't dry out the skin like cheap alcohols would. It works well, and has a divine, clean, natural smell. It helps my skin to absorb the moisturiser I put on afterwards. It definitely works when I have breakouts, applied directly to the affected area. I'd recommend this product for all skin types.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Kruemmelchen on 1/21/2010 6:17:00 PM more reviews by Kruemmelchen

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brown, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I bought the Dr Alkaitis purifying cleanser,soothing gel and Nourishing oil. I ended up sending everything back except the nourishing oil (which i love!).Anyways,I used this soothing gel for about 3 weeks and did not see a difference in my skin whatsoever.It didn't control or reduce breakouts, but had some moisturizing benefits. I would not repurchase this gel as I think it is definitely not worth the high price tag.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Dr. Alkaitis products

More Skincare - Face products