Rescue Beauty Lounge Bikini Bottom Polish

4.7

9 reviews

100% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS



on 10/20/2011 11:59:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Absolutely love Rescue Beauty Lounges' formula. Bikini Bottom does not streak at all. The milky jelly formula just self-adjusts on my nails limiting any streaks. I've been on a hunt for any color that is milky/jelly/squishy. After 3-4 coats, I'm in heaven! I don't care that it's fall, I'll still wear this. The brush really reminds me of Chanel's brushes. RBL usually lasts me about 4-5 days before I get my first chip. I hope they never discontinue this color. So gorgeous!



on 4/6/2010 8:36:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Neutral

Hair: Black, Relaxed, Other

Eyes: Brown

After reading many reviews on this color I finally took the plunge and bought it. At first I was highly disappointed. The application very tricky and streaky. But 4 coats later it became a beautiful watery blue color with a jelly like finish. I love the color but the application is poor and it takes too many coats to get te desired color. Overall I would buy it again but only if I can't find dupe for it. It's too darn expensive.


on 12/8/2009 1:00:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

Please read everyone balking at the sheerness of this! I saw this on Scrangie.com and it was such a good idea. She put on Essie Marshmallow first which gives it that perfect jelly white basecoat and then put on 2 coats of this and it's perfect. Looks better than 4 coats of bikini bottom and easier. So there you go. By the way, don't hesitate to buy Essie Marshmallow for this because it is one of favorite nail polishes of all time even by itself-a very gorgeous classy white that ANYONE can wear even to work because it's soft and jellylike-not like white out.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/12/2009 12:50:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love this color. I was actually looking for the Tiffany & co. nail polish color to go away with on vacation and ran across this one. It's close enough. Goes on way thin but builds easily and after 3-4 coats you have the color in the bottle. Seems like alot of work but worth it if you want to resemble 'the blue box'. This color looks better on toes than on hands IMO. Again, no chipping on toes. Moderate chipping on nails after 3 days. Thsi color needs NO sparkle, design, or stones. It stands alone.


on 4/2/2009 11:59:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Bikini Bottom and I almost got into a fight. This is my first Rescue Beauty Lounge nail polish, and I will admit that I had ultra high expectations. Well, for one, the price is high...$18 a bottle for .4 ounces (OPI polishes to give you a point of reference are .5 ounces- just slightly more), so I thought that the high price would be an indicator of a superior polish (ok, I know that's not always true, but we fall for it now and then...) Secondly, the reviews for Bikini Bottom and the other Rescue Beauty Lounge polishes here at MUA and on other nail blogs have been nothing short of spectacular. And, third, the Rescue Beauty Lounge website claims that all of the polishes have to be wearable at two coats, streakfree, and long-wearing before they can "wear the Rescue name." So, I thought Rescue Beauty Lounge should be nothing short of nail polish utopia. So, what happened?

In short, the application was a pain in the butt. Maybe I got a lame bottle, perhaps I didn't mix it up enough, or I could have used the wrong base coat, but the color was uneven until the fourth coat. Wait a minute - 4 coats?!?! I thought it was wearable at 2? Nope, not for me. If I had been out the door at 2 coats, my nails would have looked a hot mess - color on the sides with barely any color in the middle. It was almost as if someone had outlined my nails with polish. At first, I tried applying thin coats. The polish seemed to stretch over my nail bed, and color pooled at the sides of my nails. So, I removed the polish and tried thicker coats. Same results...the polish pooled at the sides of my nails leaving the centers of my nails looking pale. Growl. So, I removed the polish a third time and went back to using thin coats. Four coats later, the color finally looked even, and thankfully, it was not darker on the sides of my nail than in the center of my nail. In fact, the color was even, streak-free, and beautiful.

If the color weren't so gorgeous and unique, Bikini Bottom would have gotten 2-3 lippies from me for the application. But, I think the color deserves at least 4 lippies. Bikini Bottom reminds me of my boyfriend's car in high school. He was spoiled rotten, and his mother had saved him a 1967 Tyrol blue Firebird Convertible from her early years. She saved this car for her unborn child once it reached 35,000 miles...how weird is that? But, that's a whole different story. Anyways, Tyrol Blue is definitely a good bit brighter than Bikini Bottom blue, but it's in the same vein. A kind of creamy, cotton candy, vintage blue. And, honestly, I'm not aware of any convincing dupes for Bikini Bottom. The consistency is a creamy jelly....is there such a thing? It has that squishy, jelly finish. I absolutely heart this color, and I love wearing it with a pair of jeans and a red top. I don't know...I think it looks really great up against denim and/or anything the color red. Perfect for tips, toes, or a day at the beach.

Next time, I'm going to try a "sticky" base coat to see if it helps with the application. I'll keep you posted. :)

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 11/8/2008 10:26:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Olive, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I love this polish so much, and all the rescue beauty lounge polishes for that matter. the RBL polishes wear extremely well so to me that makes them worth the money. I normally wear dark colors, especially on my toenails because i am not found of the baby pinks and whites that seem to be the only other option so much of the time. I love the "jelly" like look of this polish and i cant wear it enough. I love using it on my finger nails as well which is a bit rare for me as i usually do not wear polish on fingernails. Love Love Love this!


on 9/26/2008 8:28:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I agree with Julia below. It does remind me of Hard Candy's Sky which I also love but had a hard time applying due to it's opaque white base, grrrrr! (I'm a nail polish junkie but a terrible, terrible manicurist!! I'm working on my technique...hehehe!) Bikini Bottom is much more forgiving because of it's jelly finish. I think I used 4 coats to make it opaque..kinda time consuming but it was worth the wait.


on 8/15/2008 3:40:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Green

Wow! I remember when Hard Candy debuted with their signature shade, 'Sky', an opaque baby blue that I wanted to love so badly...but it looked like absolute crap on my nails. Alas, it was a white-pigment-based opaque pastel...a shade that picks up every single ridge, bump, and flaw. However, THIS lovely light blue shade is like a grown-up version of 'Sky'. 'Bikini Bottom' is sheer, not white-based, and MUCH easier to use: you can use as many or as few coats as you want for different effects, with no streaking, even with one coat. Three coats produce the "as seen in the bottle" shade, whereas one coat leaves a very light wash of color that looks nice alone or with any glittery/frosty/shimmery sheer overwash of another color (like a pink shimmer, for example). The drying time is quick and the wear is excellent, as with all RBL shades. I wish it was cheaper than $18.00 US a pop, but what the hey, I'm happy to spend that kind of money on a unique quality polish that looks great on my nails.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 8/8/2008 8:33:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

This new polish from RBL is a beautiful sheer blue that is perfect in two or more coats. For a more striking look, try over Underwear polish. It is a subtle, grown-up blue that had me admiring my nails all day. Love it.


Popular Polishes


Miracle Gel
Miracle Gel
149 Reviews
Ballet Slippers
Ballet Slippers
347 Reviews
Bubble Bath
Bubble Bath
360 Reviews
Dior Nail Glow
Dior Nail Glow
38 Reviews


Back to Top