Smashbox • OverTime Lip Stain • Lips

rated 3.0(9 reviews)

Average Rating.3.0
Would buy this product again.44%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 aimeeb12 on 9/2/2006 1:47:00 PM more reviews by aimeeb12

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I am not a lipstick gal at all & lip stains are a perfect product for me! I really like this lip stain & love the fact that it comes w/a clear gloss for touch-ups on one end. I purchased this in the raspberry pink tone beacause it was the closest match to my lips. This stuff stays on all day & I use the gloss for a few touch-ups after meals. The color is perfect & it's not at all overwhelming. I highly rec this product to anyone that prefers gloss to lipstick. It is a lip stain, so it may dry out the lips a tiny bit, but that's nothing a little gloss can't fix. Great product!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Sophie617 on 8/19/2004 2:05:00 PM more reviews by Sophie617

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I really wanted to love this product because when I swiped it on my hand it did NOT budge and I actually had to use soap and water to remove.

But on my lips it did not go on well--clumps and goopey and just generally icky.
Then it did not last. I let it dry and then put on the gloss and it was gone in about the same about of time everything else I try!

It's going back.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* RucaRita on 10/11/2002 2:13:00 AM more reviews by RucaRita

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I really, really wanted to like this, because I love the SB lipglosses. I got the reddish-brown from QVC, and I just couldn't make it look right. Maybe I'm too pale for the color I chose, but it just ended up looking very uneven and clumpy on my lips. However, it did seem to last a long time as promised, so if the color is good for you and you can apply it well, go for it. I think I'll stick with the glosses! :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* KarenPie on 8/29/2002 12:21:00 AM more reviews by KarenPie

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I got this lip stain in the red berry shade, which is very pretty. I liked how it went on, how it smelled. I thought the clear gloss was nice too, not sticky. It wasn't drying (or, as Lipfinity was - even painful!) and I am happy with it in many ways;it's a really lovely shade, it doesn't transfer while you're drinking coffee, etc., however, it does not stay on through eating. For me, not even the stain part stayed on then. I have a fantasy of a lipstick/stain that should be able to withstand food, but I haven't found anything. Perhaps I am a dreamer. However, I think this product is heads above Lipfinity, which not only hurt my lips, it also peeled off in wierd clumps. Added on note: there isn't much product, at least in terms of the color portion of the two-sided wand. I still have plenty of the gloss, which is nice, but feel gipped by the color portion.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SueS on 7/21/2002 6:33:00 PM more reviews by SueS

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Hated it. Very drying and disappeared just like every other lip product I used. Returned it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ziebam on 7/5/2002 1:47:00 PM more reviews by ziebam

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

i wasnt as thrilled with this product as most people. I tried this in the red berry shade and found the color to be the same berry stain as most stain products. The texture is a little more gel like with a minty scent that goes away immediately. The gloss is a nice sticky but not too sticky shiny gloss. My biggest problem with this as with most stains, the color really gathers up in the inner part of my lips. I guess my lips are too dry for this type of product because the color is always deepest in the center part of my lips giving me a weird "I just drank a bottle of red wine" look. I also found this product not very long lasting as promised. Yes, it will last several hours but the color faded on me (except for the inner part of my lips). I will keep this one, but i did return the red brown shade and light pink. One is enough!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Risa01 on 6/27/2002 9:33:00 AM more reviews by Risa01

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I am in LOVE with this product! Since the color I wanted was sold out on QVC, I went to the Sephora website and ordered it in what I hoped would be a similar color, Plum. The stain goes on pretty bright, a red-berry color imo, but dries quickly to a not SO bright stain and doesn't budge. The clear gloss in amazing, VERY shiny yet not sticky at all. The best part is that it really does last. You can eat and drink and yes, some of the gloss will have disappeared, but the stain remains. These are by far better than any of the drugstore "stay-put" lipsticks. I want more of these!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 mich445 on 6/24/2002 3:00:00 PM more reviews by mich445

Age: Unknown   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

This product is aweful, IMO. I got it from QVC in Red-Brown. The color was nice, but very sheer. I just couldn't get an even application with the gel to save my life! It seeped into the cracks in my lips and looked hideous. It didn't last either. I returned it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Marigaux on 6/20/2002 7:42:00 PM more reviews by Marigaux

Age: Unknown   Skin: Dry   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is the best lip stain I've ever used. Usually they end up being too fusia on me. I got the red/brown color also called 24. These have a lot of pigment so you should use a light hand. It really lasts a long time and the gloss that comes with it is clingy not sticky ot tacky. The consistency of the stain is almost gel like. It is definitely not a liquid which made application easier for me. I also think the packaging is convenient because the gloss and the stain are in the same component. These are expensive IMHO but I would like to try another color.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No




More Smashbox products

More Lips products