Urban Decay Old formulation as of summer 2013 Rush

4.2

34 reviews

70% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.0

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.0

Price: $$$

Not tested on animals
Urban Decay is a Cruelty-Free Subsidiary.

INGREDIENTS



on 3/23/2012 12:59:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I love UD lipsticks, and this is no exception. It reminds me of Naked, but a deeper pink. It's a neutral medium pink, not at all bright. I'm pretty pale, cool to neutral toned, with just slightly pigmented lips.This is a really nice medium pink on me, with just a hint of brownish. The best part about UD lipsticks is the formula. Super creamy, highly pigmented. They don't settle in lines or make your lips look or feel dry. They don't last super long, but I guess that's because they are so creamy. Not a huge fan of the packaging-the sword is a bit of a pain. From what I can tell from mine though, it looks as though you could still twist it up if it did happen to break off. I just make sure to carry it inside a little case. It's a bit spendy, and the packaging is a little bit of a pain (but cute!) but it is WELL worth it. It's hard to find a good selection in stores; Ulta has a few, but UD and beauty.com have a big selection. (NA) These lipsticks are fantastic, highly recommend!



on 12/5/2011 1:24:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Tan, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

Rush is my HG lipstick! I love how it looks and makes my lips feel. I go through them so quickly, so the price is a downfall and the packaging, though cute, can be an absolute nightmare. Overall I still give it a 5 and would highly recommend it for any medium, cool toned lady.


on 10/6/2011 10:27:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I love how you are very moisturizing and you got me back into lipstick and you look so fab on me but in order for your love in return I have to cough up $22. I wouldnt mind if I didn't need you everyday but I have an 18 month old & other MU to buy! I have to take it slow bc if I don't, that will be $264 +tax every year for you!!!


on 8/30/2011 4:48:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

I'm so irritated with this product. I sang Rush's praises so loudly for so long because I had finally found the most perfect lip color ever. Even though I hated the packaging from the beginning, I dealt with it because I loved the actual product. Then a week after buying my second tube, the stupid dagger broke off. That's $22 down the drain (which was too much to pay in the first place for such ridiculous packaging). I was pissed. I broke the tube to be able to get in to the lipstick, and then I re-potted it so it could still be used. I shouldn't have to do that though. I grew increasingly frustrated and eventually wound up marching up to the nearest MAC counter with Rush in tow, demanding that the SA find me an exact color match. She pretty much did. I'm perfectly happy now with my cheaper, sleeker, simpler tube of MAC Syrup and will boycott Urban Decay's lipsticks forever. The packaging looks bad enough, but if it's not going to perform then it's just not worth it to me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/29/2011 7:09:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

This is the first UD lipstick I bought. I've bought some MAC and other brands, but this is probably my favorite lipstick I own. Nevermind the packaging (which I happen to love since I adore purple), but the color is basically my natural lip color in lipstick form. I love natural looks, so I put this on and it just evens out the chapped portions and makes my color look uniform but still completely natural.


on 3/30/2011 6:45:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Olive, Cool

Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This is a MLBB shade.I wear this everyday with the Naked Palette by UD. It does have a slight smell but it doesn't bother me. I have a few UD lipsticks and this shade has the least amount of taste to it.


on 12/29/2010 4:38:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This was the first UD lipstick I bought. I've been an UD eyeshadow junky for a few yrs so I grabbed this lipstick on a whim one day because of a recommendation. I LOVE IT! Its sheer but it definitely shows on me. Maybe its because of my brown skin. It looks fantastic and I want to buy it again when I have no more.


on 11/19/2010 12:57:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I'm not really impressed with this... The reviews say sheer -- and it definitely is! This is more like using a lip balm than anything. The moisturizing effects do not last long though. On a positive note -- My boys love the case! They like to draw the sword from its scabbard! ;)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/14/2010 3:31:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Love the taste, love the sheerness with the nice natural hue. Its doesnt last long though, and fades right in. Hate the dagger tube, reminds me of bonnie bell crap from the 80's we are women here! Not little girls. Hard to carry around. Nice rose color though, but not worth it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/18/2010 9:27:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

This was my first UD lipstick and I bought it before MUA. I had never owned anything Urban Decay before so when their lipsticks came out I jumped on the chance to buy one- I love lipsticks! Rush seemed like a nice gateway color to the range so I bought it, even though it didn't seem to do much to my natural lip color. After using it several times, it still doesn't show up very well- it's very sheer. When I layer it on, it shows up as a very mauvey pink- which is okay, but this is marketed as a NEUTRAL pink, and it definitely leans on the cool side. The picture shown of the tube doesn't look like mine, though, so maybe the color and formula have changed since it first came out? Anyway, I thought this would be a really pretty everyday color, but I don't wear it nearly as much as I'd like to, and mostly in the winter/spring seasons.

There's been a lot of division over the smell, taste, and packaging of UD lipsticks. Personally, I don't notice any taste. The smell is kind of strong, but it doesn't bother me. And the packaging, while bulky and kind of silly, isn't as ineffective as some people claim it to be. I've read a lot of reports that people can't use the lipstick if the little dagger on the end breaks off- not true. simply hold the top portion of the lipstick tube (the lighter purple piece) stationary, and twist the bottom portion (the slightly darker purple piece) counter-clockwise to push the bullet up, and clockwise to retract it. Definitely play with it in the store to see how it works.


Popular Lipsticks


Velvet Teddy
179 Reviews
provocalips
41 Reviews

Recommended for Medium Skin



Top Rated Urban Decay Products

image

Toasted

141 reviews
image

Vice 2

42 reviews
image

Smog

183 reviews
image

Sin

327 reviews
Back to Top