Urban Decay • Old formulation as of summer 2013 Rush • Lipstick

rated 4.2(34 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.70%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* trillium13 on 3/23/2012 12:59:00 AM more reviews by trillium13

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I love UD lipsticks, and this is no exception. It reminds me of Naked, but a deeper pink. It's a neutral medium pink, not at all bright. I'm pretty pale, cool to neutral toned, with just slightly pigmented lips.This is a really nice medium pink on me, with just a hint of brownish. The best part about UD lipsticks is the formula. Super creamy, highly pigmented. They don't settle in lines or make your lips look or feel dry. They don't last super long, but I guess that's because they are so creamy. Not a huge fan of the packaging-the sword is a bit of a pain. From what I can tell from mine though, it looks as though you could still twist it up if it did happen to break off. I just make sure to carry it inside a little case. It's a bit spendy, and the packaging is a little bit of a pain (but cute!) but it is WELL worth it. It's hard to find a good selection in stores; Ulta has a few, but UD and beauty.com have a big selection. (NA) These lipsticks are fantastic, highly recommend!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 dianeluis on 12/5/2011 1:24:00 AM more reviews by dianeluis

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Tan, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Rush is my HG lipstick! I love how it looks and makes my lips feel. I go through them so quickly, so the price is a downfall and the packaging, though cute, can be an absolute nightmare. Overall I still give it a 5 and would highly recommend it for any medium, cool toned lady.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 chexican87 on 10/6/2011 10:27:00 PM more reviews by chexican87

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I love how you are very moisturizing and you got me back into lipstick and you look so fab on me but in order for your love in return I have to cough up $22. I wouldnt mind if I didn't need you everyday but I have an 18 month old & other MU to buy! I have to take it slow bc if I don't, that will be $264 +tax every year for you!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 supermer on 8/30/2011 4:48:00 PM more reviews by supermer

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I'm so irritated with this product. I sang Rush's praises so loudly for so long because I had finally found the most perfect lip color ever. Even though I hated the packaging from the beginning, I dealt with it because I loved the actual product. Then a week after buying my second tube, the stupid dagger broke off. That's $22 down the drain (which was too much to pay in the first place for such ridiculous packaging). I was pissed. I broke the tube to be able to get in to the lipstick, and then I re-potted it so it could still be used. I shouldn't have to do that though. I grew increasingly frustrated and eventually wound up marching up to the nearest MAC counter with Rush in tow, demanding that the SA find me an exact color match. She pretty much did. I'm perfectly happy now with my cheaper, sleeker, simpler tube of MAC Syrup and will boycott Urban Decay's lipsticks forever. The packaging looks bad enough, but if it's not going to perform then it's just not worth it to me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 prplkat on 5/29/2011 7:09:00 PM more reviews by prplkat

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

This is the first UD lipstick I bought. I've bought some MAC and other brands, but this is probably my favorite lipstick I own. Nevermind the packaging (which I happen to love since I adore purple), but the color is basically my natural lip color in lipstick form. I love natural looks, so I put this on and it just evens out the chapped portions and makes my color look uniform but still completely natural.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 efrazier on 3/30/2011 6:45:00 PM more reviews by efrazier

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive, Cool   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is a MLBB shade.I wear this everyday with the Naked Palette by UD. It does have a slight smell but it doesn't bother me. I have a few UD lipsticks and this shade has the least amount of taste to it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mrsWard on 12/29/2010 4:38:00 PM more reviews by mrsWard

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This was the first UD lipstick I bought. I've been an UD eyeshadow junky for a few yrs so I grabbed this lipstick on a whim one day because of a recommendation. I LOVE IT! Its sheer but it definitely shows on me. Maybe its because of my brown skin. It looks fantastic and I want to buy it again when I have no more.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 srscott on 11/19/2010 12:57:00 PM more reviews by srscott

Age: 44-55   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I'm not really impressed with this... The reviews say sheer -- and it definitely is! This is more like using a lip balm than anything. The moisturizing effects do not last long though. On a positive note -- My boys love the case! They like to draw the sword from its scabbard! ;)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* colfaxt on 11/14/2010 3:31:00 AM more reviews by colfaxt

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Love the taste, love the sheerness with the nice natural hue. Its doesnt last long though, and fades right in. Hate the dagger tube, reminds me of bonnie bell crap from the 80's we are women here! Not little girls. Hard to carry around. Nice rose color though, but not worth it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 madelinex on 9/18/2010 9:27:00 PM more reviews by madelinex

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This was my first UD lipstick and I bought it before MUA. I had never owned anything Urban Decay before so when their lipsticks came out I jumped on the chance to buy one- I love lipsticks! Rush seemed like a nice gateway color to the range so I bought it, even though it didn't seem to do much to my natural lip color. After using it several times, it still doesn't show up very well- it's very sheer. When I layer it on, it shows up as a very mauvey pink- which is okay, but this is marketed as a NEUTRAL pink, and it definitely leans on the cool side. The picture shown of the tube doesn't look like mine, though, so maybe the color and formula have changed since it first came out? Anyway, I thought this would be a really pretty everyday color, but I don't wear it nearly as much as I'd like to, and mostly in the winter/spring seasons.

There's been a lot of division over the smell, taste, and packaging of UD lipsticks. Personally, I don't notice any taste. The smell is kind of strong, but it doesn't bother me. And the packaging, while bulky and kind of silly, isn't as ineffective as some people claim it to be. I've read a lot of reports that people can't use the lipstick if the little dagger on the end breaks off- not true. simply hold the top portion of the lipstick tube (the lighter purple piece) stationary, and twist the bottom portion (the slightly darker purple piece) counter-clockwise to push the bullet up, and clockwise to retract it. Definitely play with it in the store to see how it works.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Urban Decay products

More Lipstick products