Laura Geller • Liquid Candlelight • Highlighters

rated 3.5(16 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.62%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 MelissaLovesHerMakeup on 12/8/2014 2:17:00 PM more reviews by MelissaLovesHerMakeup

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I am a Geller Girl, and I love Laura's products! I bought the "Lighten Up" kit, which includes a bottle of the Liquid Candlelight, an I-Care eyeliner in Bone, and a tube of sparkly lip gloss. The liquid highlighter doesn't look too glittery in the bottle, but if you don't use it carefully, you'll end up with a face full of glitter! The trick is to use super-sparingly; a SMALL drop (be careful, since it is a LIQUID and not a cream) dabbed on the cheekbones, down the center of the nose, and across the forehead will produce a lovely highlight; any more than that, and you'll have glitter everywhere! I haven't tried mixing this into liquid foundation, since I use powder foundations mainly, but I am going to try it. I don't know about wearing it to a more formal office job, but my job is very laid back and easygoing, so I can wear this whenever I feel like a touch of shimmery light would be welcome, especially in the winter! I love this product, and I have several extra bottles. One bottle is going to last a loooooong time, though. It's worth a try, and don't judge it by the first application, since it takes a few tries to get the hang of it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Ericathebeast on 7/22/2013 5:53:00 PM more reviews by Ericathebeast

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Grey    

Laura Geller's Candle Light Luminizer is a great product....but you should apply with care as it's very densely pigmented! If you are looking for a stand out highlight, this is for you. If you're looking for a dewy glow on your cheekbones that catches his eye in the evening, this is for you. The application makes the result with this product! A single drop of this product will go farther than you think, so adding it to foundation or moisturizer can be a good idea if you're having trouble getting a gentle, light glow. Great for cheekbones, Cupid's Bow, shoulders and anywhere you like, dewy young looking skin. This held up well on my oily skin, and is a great value considering the size of the bottle and that I've barely made a dent in it with regular use. A good product to try!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* xxtine1 on 6/26/2013 8:23:00 PM more reviews by xxtine1

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I got given this for free so I wasn't that upset that this was no good. But as others have said, this has a ridiculous amount of glitter in it. It is NOT subtle at all. So if that's what you're into, great. But it certainly wasn't for me, I'm giving it away ASAP.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 keilaxo on 5/17/2013 8:34:00 PM more reviews by keilaxo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Green    

Would NOT repurchase. Way too shimmery yuckkkkk. Horrible.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Cecee on 9/30/2011 2:48:00 AM more reviews by Cecee

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

i am really picky about highlighters and have trouble finding liquid ones i like..and i absolutely love this one! it gives me a really pretty glow and one drop is enough for my cheekbones, forehead and nose. used very lightly and below my powder it doesnt really show up very glittery at all. and i hate highlighters with a pink sheen,,this one has no pink in it. its more gold, and i absolutely love it. definitely my HG liquid highlighter!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ahhhttack on 2/8/2009 11:24:00 PM more reviews by ahhhttack

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This product is definitely heavy on the glitter. If you aren't that in to the heavy glitter look, I say stay away. I however was already aware of the glittery-ness of the product and it is what lead me to purchase it. I'm a glitter freak! This product is a liquid luminzer that is full of gold toned glitter. The only thing I would change about this product is its consistency. I took off a lippie because it is very runny and I wish it was a bit more creamy. Nonetheless, I mix just a bit of this in with my liquid foundation and it makes my whole face light up. It is probably a bit too much for the office but it is fabulous for nights out or even weekends if you just want some extra sparkle. If you are looking for a more traditional highlighter though I recommend Stila's All Over Shimmer liquid which I would describe as NARS Albatross in liquid form. But as for Liquid Candlelight, I'd definitely buy this product again if I run out, though I doubt I ever will.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 meepo on 1/17/2009 3:44:00 AM more reviews by meepo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I found this is useful for me only if i mix a small drop into my foundation or tinted moisturizer. For using alone, it is too runny and glittery for my taste. I will use up my sample but I would not purchase the full-size.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* chloejeanette on 1/9/2009 4:06:00 AM more reviews by chloejeanette

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

I've been searching high and low for a luminizer/highlighter that would brighten my face up and not make it look so dull. I have pretty pale skin naturally, and I tend to look washed out at times because my face has no color! Add in the dryness of winter and I look nearly dead.

I've tried a lot of highlighters out there, including the Nars Multiples sticks (in Copacabana) and they all left a sheen that just made me look glittery and oily. Yuck.

I was excited to receive a sample of the Laura Gellar Liquid Candlelight from Sephora, and from the very first time using it I was hooked! After using the sample for a few days, I ended up ordering it.

The Laura Gellar Liquid Candlelight imparts a really nice "glow" to the face and makes me look truly luminous. It really brightens my skin, and isn't too glittery. The trick is to use it SPARINGLY- if I was to apply this over my entire face, I'd look like a mess. I just squirt a drop out and dab on places that need to look perked up- under my eyes and on the very top of my forehead, near my hairline. I might occasionally dab a little on the top of my lip and on my cheekbones, too.

I just love this stuff. Like I said, it takes a few tries to get the technique right, and you want to use this sparingly. This is my HG highlighter and I'll definitely be buying it again!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* dlbd2k06 on 1/7/2009 8:00:00 PM more reviews by dlbd2k06

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

For me this highlighter was just too glittery. The consistancy was also very watery. When I use a liquid hightlighter, I prefer it to be more like a lotion or gel. Would not rebuy.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 tenacious_d on 11/25/2008 7:22:00 PM more reviews by tenacious_d

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

This turned out to be a pretty cool free sample from Sephora. It doesn't seem apply very well on its own. It tends to be too smeary and sparkly. Mixed with other creamy products, though, it's a really nice pearly glow! I dab my makeup brushes into it and then swirl into the product and it really adds a subtle healthy dimension. It looks pretty good, mixed with my NARS cream blush.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Laura Geller products

More Highlighters products