Parlux • Jessica Simpson - Fancy • Fragrances

rated 3.9(297 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.70%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 goldenlight83 on 7/12/2014 12:10:00 PM more reviews by goldenlight83

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This Is a genie in a bottle the most fragrant vanilla, with a sweet, warm, cozy feeling. I feel like I am in heaven when wearing this scent. You can definitely smell the vanilla and the caramel along with the apricot. It will make you feel like you're wearing this scent not the scent wearing you. I love this perfume along with the one in the white bottle too. You feel just as the name of the perfume, "Fancy".

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 sauce62 on 7/5/2014 5:03:00 PM more reviews by sauce62

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This fragrance did not agree with me at all. I'm really surprised at the high reviews. Smells like nail polish remover and is headache inducing.RealIy has a very sharp note which I do not like. I was seduced by the reviews and it sounds like something I would like...but, sorry. No. Cloying and just plain nasty. I'll stick with Prada Candy. Now THAT smells good!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* paneradfisk on 6/29/2014 10:17:00 PM more reviews by paneradfisk

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

UPDATE: My boyfriend commented on me smelling good. Before that only happened when I'm wearing Coco by Chanel. :)

Initially it smells a little fruity, like pear and apricot. It calms down quite fast, you don't have to wait long, and turns into a vanilla with some light creamy gardenia in the background. I can't smell much of the almonds, though I wouldn't mind since almond goes well with vanilla. After a while I can also sense amber, which essentially brings out the vanilla even more. I like this a lot, it's very non-offensive, quite unique, actually not that sweet that one would think. My boyfriend likes it as well and it's something I like to put on before I go to bed.

I tried to convince myself that I was wrong, but I can also smell some cinnamon, actually it's quite obvious - giving it more of a spicy quality. There are lots of people that were reminded of Amor Amor In A Flash when smelling this, and that one has a quite intensive cinnamon note in it - so I can't be dead wrong can I?
Also, I'm surprised no one mentioned it, I might be the only one, but smelling this perfume I had Yves Rocher - Rose Absolue (a discontinued perfume) come to mind. That one is a sweet rose perfume with (obviously) rose, tonka beans and cinnamon - and since I'm stubborn as hell and I still claim Fancy has some cinnamon in it, I think that's the similarity I feel.

For the uninitiated this can smell like any generic sweet perfume at first smell, I agree, most perfumes are like that - but I think this is quite different. It's not offensive and will not change the world, but it's charming in some way, and more complex than one would expect from a celebrity perfume.

Also, I don't usually ever find myself liking most celebrity perfume, but it's not because of some rule I have. Frankly, I think it gives a snobby impression to look down on low priced/celebrity perfumes. Have an open mind, if you don't like Jessica Simpson as a person, get over it. There are other good smelling perfumes than Chanel no 5, you know, and they don't need to be expensive. That being said, my absolute favorite perfumes are Coco by Chanel and a cheap no-name perfume oil bought in a small hippie store here in Sweden.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 bri0421 on 4/15/2014 1:16:00 PM more reviews by bri0421

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

This has mistakenly become my all-time favorite perfume. I am a perfume junkie. It is literally disgusting how many bottles of perfume I have. Anyways, I had purchased this perfume a really long time ago. I wore it a few times, and I loved it, but I just had to move on to another fragrance. My wedding day was a few months ago and I got ready at my parent's house where I used to live and of course I didn't bring any perfume with me. I panicked, because who wants to smell like hairspray and B.O. on their wedding day? No one. So, I rushed up to my old room and found this gem. I sprayed it on myself, remembered how delicious the scent was, and went on my way. Well, everytime I wear it now I am reminded of my wedding day and I haven't stopped wearing it since. It is a lovely, sweet/vanilla-y, yet grown-up scent. It's hard to describe. I highly recommend it for anyone who loves sweet fragrances, but try it first because everyone's chemistry is different.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 l0laxc0la on 3/19/2014 5:36:00 PM more reviews by l0laxc0la

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I feel so tacky admitting this but I'm IN LOVE with Jessica Simpson "Fancy" !! Honestly, I got this on Overstock for $15. So you really have no reason not to buy this if you're at all a fan of oriental/vanilla/gourmand fragrances and you can find it for that price.

I bought Fancy because it's supposed to be similar to the much more expensive Prada Candy. And it is similar in the caramelly warm goodness, but it's got some fruit added in at the beginning and some white florals in the middle and end. I don't particuarly love the fruity notes but they go away quite quickly and leave a quite pleasant, very long-lasting (!!) white florally caramelly vanilla-y goodness behind. I love this and think it could work for day or night, summer or winter. It's deep and warm but not too sweet or heavy.

Also, the bottle is really lovely -- I was afraid that it would be tacky as well, but it's actually a very pretty rose gold and looks lovely on my dresser.

Love this!! It make you feel... Fancy. Haha.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 MarianNorris on 2/16/2014 7:27:00 PM more reviews by MarianNorris

Age: 44-55   Skin: Oily, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

You know what I think about this fragrance...well I think that it goes bad really quickly and that is why there are reviews that say it's smells really bad. Why do I say this, I smelled it at ULTA and it smelled great. So I found a bottle at a close out store and it REEKS!

The scent I smelled in a fresh nice bottle at ULTA was a very nice vanilla scent. The cheap close up bottle was a very strong and harsh metalic scent that eventually softened down to a burnt marshmallow vanilla scent.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* TinkerbellonCrack on 1/28/2014 2:16:00 PM more reviews by TinkerbellonCrack

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This fragrance has been recommended to me dozens of times. My staple scents include diptyque Eau Duelle, TM Angel, Dior Addict, and shamefully, BS Fantasy. I live for vanilla, I swoon for gourmand, so this has always seemed like an ideal scent for me. On my body chemistry, I do not get any of the decadent caramel and almond for which Fancy is famed. Instead, the pear and apricot notes are front and center. The initial spray was very synthetic and sharp to my nose, was not pleased. The drydown proved to be much more mellow and softened slowly with sugary vanilla. Pear cupcake is the best summary of this scent on my skin. I like it, but it is far from my expectation. Fantasy is way more white chocolatey and has totally different fruit facets so I maintain that they are not alike. Fancy ends up smelling way more similar to Betsey Johnson (signature scent with the crazy pink topper) on my wrist, must be the pear note.

I think the bottle is darling and the sillage is phenomenal. I got this perfume for almost nothing on the Bay so I will definitely wear it, but it is not the cozy vanilla foody lovefest I was hoping for.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Laceymacpherson on 1/16/2014 1:47:00 AM more reviews by Laceymacpherson

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Urgh. Marshmallow mixed with caramel,that may sound appealing,but to me it was a very fake and almost burnt sent.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 schristi2800 on 1/10/2014 9:30:00 PM more reviews by schristi2800

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I love sweet smelling perfumes. To me this smells like lychee fruit blended with caramel.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Blondebeauty2 on 1/10/2014 2:42:00 AM more reviews by Blondebeauty2

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Classic & timeless..! I love this fragrance so much! It's been a staple in my perfume collection for many years now. From year to year I find new temporary favorites but always come back to this. If I have somewhere special to go, I will usually wear this. I love the review below mine lol, saying that this is like making love & pink sugar is like just having sex! Funny but so true!! This is a safisticated, elegant, & very feminine scent. It's extremely long wearing and really does linger.. When I first met my bf, this was all I wore and he adored it. Still does! Out of all of Jessica's fragrances this one is my absolute favorite! Just a sweet, romantic, beautiful scent that you must try! Reasonably priced too!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Parlux products

More Fragrances products