LORAC • Multi-Platinum • Palettes

rated 4.9(27 reviews)

Average Rating.4.9
Would buy this product again.100%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* outdoorsgal on 1/28/2013 1:41:00 AM more reviews by outdoorsgal

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other, Warm   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I love LORAC eyeshadow palettes and I grabbed this one at Sephora while I could.
I don't wear it often enough and now I'm inspired to pull it out of my stash to create a smokey eye look.
LORAC eyeshadows have great pigment and last all day. There may be fallout with the shimmer which is the one drawback. The blush is a beautiful peach colour.

For those days when I want to be more adventurous, I wear the teal eyeshadow. (it's a bit difficult for me to pull off but it's an option depending on the look I want)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mooshrimp on 4/13/2012 6:46:00 PM more reviews by mooshrimp

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is a really spectacular palette. Lots of grays and blues, so if you don't wear cool eye makeup, stay away from this! Grays and blues are my favorite eye shadow colors, so this palette was a must have for me and I'm so glad I bought it. I can create many daytime and smoky looks. The whiteish color is just a beautiful highlighter. The warm "sienna"/peach color is a great contrast to all the cool tones, and the coral blush is universally flattering. I also adore the packaging. It is just so glam!

I love to do a look where I take the peach color and apply it to my lid, then take the dark gray and apply it to the outer V, then the light gray to the crease, white below my brow and inner corner, and then do the top lash line with the black glitter shadow and the bottom with the blue-ish/turqoise color. It's extremely dramatic and looks great with brown eyes.

I have a lot of e/s for creating smoky eyes, but this is the only one I actually like. Usually smoky looks make me look like I got punched, make my eyes look red even when they're not, or look so dark against my brown eyes I may as well wear sunglasses. You can apply this light for a daytime smoky look or with a heavy hand for a night time one. The difference between the two for me generally is just more eyeliner.

The quality of the shadows does not disappoint. They apply smooth and pigmented and blend out beautifully. The white is a little powdery, but there aren't many whites that aren't and this one is better than most. I think this a spectacularly well-done palette. I highly recommend it for any other cool shadow fans.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 philoclea on 10/16/2011 12:24:00 PM more reviews by philoclea

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is hands down, one hundred percent, my favourite eyeshadow palette. If my makeup collection were on fire and I could only save one object, it would be this. I buy my LORAC these days from HauteLook or from the discount section of their website, since their prices are too steep for me given how much makeup I already have, but this I bought at full price, and would buy at full price again.

The weird thing is, I actually bought it originally because I was looking for a NARS Orgasm dupe. I spent a few hours in Sephora swatching every blush they had and running back and forth to compare, and the blush in this palette is *very* close. Not exactly the same, but given that I wear blush pretty sheer when I wear it, good enough. I wanted to get more bang for my buck, so I figured I'd buy the blush with the eyeshadows.

The great thing is that it's so versatile. With the shimmery peach and white I make a basic, clean eye, which, along with black liner and mascara, has just a hint of glam. (Without primer, this is downkey enough that I wear it to work.) The light grey is warm and brilliant for contouring, and is especially nice if you want to use it with matte neutrals from another palette. All of the light colours combine beautifully with the blue, dark grey, and sparkly black for a variety of dramatic evening looks. I am particularly fond of the dark grey, since it's got a little blue and generally more colour depth than your usual greys.

In fact, I never wore grey shadow before I got this palette (since it can look absolutely awful), but both of these have a richness of colour that keeps eyes from looking dead. Put simply -- this is a brilliant palette.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mudfish_qx on 1/16/2011 5:30:00 PM more reviews by mudfish_qx

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I purchased this palette a while back and then someone stole it! I would never steal used makeup but anyway... I am looking for someone who is willing to swap this.

If Fox Searchlight was unable to afford a makeup artist to do Natalie Portman's makeup in Black Swan and she had to do it herself, I think she could've used this palette. For some reason I don't really notice makeup in movies but as I watched Black Swan, I noticed her everyday looks as being rather neutral, but also with grays and slightly muted metallics. I immediately thought of this Lorac palette near the beginning of the movie and noticed throughout that most of her eyeshadow could probably be recreated using a combination of colors on this lorac palette. This is of course, does include the parts where she gives her performance in the end. If you've seen this movie I hope you can agree!!

Anyway, the palette is terrific, but be careful because if you aren't , fallout can occur. If this annoys you, use a very small eyeshadow brush to apply (you may have to dip your brush in the pan a little more frequently) the shadow and then use your regular brush for blending. I BTW always recommend for stubborn shadows that love fallout, to use a smaller eyeshadow brush and apply the shadow in areas little by little until it covers the area you'd normally cover using a regular crease/lid brush.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sgr2008 on 11/28/2010 12:23:00 PM more reviews by sgr2008

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Really nice quality eyeshadows and blush. My favorite is Heavy Metal (the third on the top row)
If only I could find it on its own...
I really love this palette, I wish it would last forever but it goes down too fast...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Crump360 on 3/11/2010 10:30:00 AM more reviews by Crump360

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I really enjoy Lorac palettes. This one is one that I have been reaching for often. The colors are beautiful and versitile, they also have good pigmentation and blend very well. This is a great palette for on the go and if you want to try some Lorac products. Serenity (peach-champage color with shimmer) is featured in most of their palettes and is a universially flattering color. Sapphire Storm is a beautiful teal color (very trendy). The silvers in the palette also show up true to form on my NW35ish skin. My only gripe is that all of the colors are shimmers or metallic, it would have been nice to get at least one matte color in the mix, but otherwise I love it and would definately recommend if you can still find it.


    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kumintang on 2/1/2010 4:59:00 AM more reviews by kumintang

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

the quality of the eyeshadows in this pallette reminds me of my urban decay get baked pallette. really creamy, really smooth, really pigmented - it shows up vibrant on my nc45 warm skintone - but a bit easier to blend than UD. I won't describe the colors here because others have done so wonderfully.

Only one thing that surprise me, though, before I bought this pallette, the reviewers here mostly mention the peachy rosey blush color and it looked so in the pan. So imagine my surprise after one swipe (very very pigmented blush) I see a beautiful golden hue color shows up on my cheeks!I have to test it several times to make sure the color indeed shows golden (where's the peachy pinky?). I now use it as a highlighter or for countoring or put it on AFTER i put on my other peachy pinky blush on to give that 'golden shimmery' effect. again, I am fascinated by makeup and how it transform colors from one person to another :).

anyhow, despite the surprising factor of the blush (not a bad surprise though), I will definitely buy this pallette again

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* maomaouchi on 12/20/2009 5:29:00 AM more reviews by maomaouchi

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I am yet another huge fan of this product! I actually bought it back in 2008 when it first came out and I have used it almost everyday since then and have hit pan on almost everything in the palette!

First off, the range of colors in this palette is great, especially if you're looking for a palette to achieve a really great smokey eye look. Rockstar, Heavy Metal, Dreamy and Techno can achieve a nice gradation effect and Sapphire storm can be thrown in the mix to spice things up a bit if you're looking to deviate from the normal grey/taupe smokey eye. I love Serenity as a wash by itself with simple black liner and mascara as well! The eyeshadows for the most part are great quality and are smooth, highly pigmented and easy to blend. Although I have hit pan, I still have well over 50% of product left in each eyeshadow pan and as I said I've been using this almost everyday for now more than a year! My only tiny complaint is that Rockstar is kind of chalky and has a consistency totally different from the other shadows. I don't know if this is the nature of white shadows but it is quite different from the rest, so be warned. However, it can still work pretty well as a highlight if you use a base.

My favorite thing about the palette might be the blush. It's a perfect mix of pink and peach and has just the right amount of gold shimmer to it. It looks gorgeous and is smooth and long lasting. An HG for me even though it's only in this palette :/

Reference:
eyeshadow: Rockstar - off-white with shimmer and some chunky iridescent sparkle
eyeshadow: Serenity - antique peachy copper with gentle shimmer
eyeshadow: Heavy Metal - silvery taupe or medium pewter with shimmery metallic finish
eyeshadow: Sapphire Storm - metallic deep sea blue with strong green undertones
eyeshadow: Dreamy - shimmery dark silvery grey with a beautiful metallic finish
eyeshadow: Techno - soft black with chunky shimmer/sparkle
blush: Couture - peach with slight rosy undertone

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 joolz2u on 9/12/2009 8:01:00 PM more reviews by joolz2u

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Like many others here, this is my first Lorac palette and I love it. I was not a regular make up user before - just e/l, brow, mascara. Serenity made me buy it and I liked the lighter grey (sorry I don't know the names)! I am just starting to discover how to apply make up so I will definitely use the rest of this palette!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jhadiq on 4/15/2009 8:57:00 AM more reviews by jhadiq

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This is my first LORAC product, and based on my experience with this palette, definitely not my last. I usually like to try out new brands with palettes, so that I get a good idea of what a variety of the products are like. I also like to pick up palettes to make packing for travel easier. I'd say that this palette more than meets my goal of getting a fabulous collection of LORAC product and having travel convenience in one compact package. This retails at Sephora for $37, and for that amount you get six very good-sized shadows and a decent-sized blush for a palette. The six eyeshadows are all very smooth and blend like a dream! They are possibly the best eyeshadows I've ever used. They are like what the best Stila shadows are like on a good day. (I find the quality of Stila shadows to be a little unreliable, I'm afraid). All of them have fabulous pigmentation, and work incredibly well together to get you from day to evening. Going with the name of the palette, you get two shades of gray, a black, a blue-grey, a shimmery medium champagne, and a snowey highlight shade. You can make a nice daytime smokey eye with the lighter colors, and then easily intensify with the darker ones, or add a little extra pop of color with the blue. For this reason, it's a great palette to throw into your travel kit when you're going away for the weekend or on vacation. Add a lipcolor, and you're good to go for both day and evening. All of the colors have quite a bit of shimmer, though, so I don't use them for the workday. Gray shadows don't necessarily work on me, but every shadow in this palette are nice accents for both my skin tone and dark brown eyes. The peach blush is very flattering on my NC25 skintone, and, like the shadows, is beautifully textured and pigmented. I highly recommend this palette!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More LORAC products

More Palettes products