Bobbi Brown • Metallic Eye Shadow - Velvet Plum 3 • Eye Shadow

rated 3.8(11 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.45%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 AliciaLago on 12/10/2012 4:37:00 PM more reviews by AliciaLago

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

With blue eyes works fine. I thought when I bought it that it would only be for nights out, with all the metallic thing in it, but I wasn't right, it's quite versatile. You can wear it for work everyday as it doesn't show the glitter it seems to have in the pan. It's easy to apply and to blend, very nice and silky (not as silky as the Bobbi Brown velvet eyeshadows, but soft enough). Really pricey, but worthy if the colour really suits you, as it will last a long time (the pan is quite big).

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jtg1968 on 7/23/2011 7:42:00 AM more reviews by jtg1968

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This shade is one of my favorites for work. I use it in the crease with BB Woodrose as a base and Navajo on the browbone to highlight. If you are looking for a plummy-bronze twist to the smoky eye, it will work well on the lid also. Use a light hand, however, as this shadow is especially well pigmented. It doesn't settle into my fine lines as some might expect, but then again I only use this as a crease shadow.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* iberian on 6/3/2011 4:46:00 AM more reviews by iberian

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I haven't found a way to make this work. BB metallic shadows are awful quality compared to the wonderful BB regular e/s. They're chalky and gritty, don't blend well and the color intensity sucks. This shade should be called 'Shiner' - you know when a bruise is a few days old and looks like a dirty mauvish purple? Maybe if you're very cool toned this might work for you, otherwise - skip it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* rediska on 3/13/2010 11:29:00 PM more reviews by rediska

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Other    

I bought this product because BB consultant applied it to my eyes together with an eyeliner and I liked the result. The texture is really nice and not too powdery, but I find that I can't wear it straight on the lids as it doesn't blend very well and looks blotchy. I need to have a base colour first to wear this eyeshadow, which then dilutes the colour and makes it look like any bland grey. Like other people here have noted, it's subtle and strong at the same time. To be honest, I'm still trying to figure out the best way to wear this.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Ssephora on 9/9/2009 11:34:00 PM more reviews by Ssephora

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This is a beautiful DARK mixture of (mostly) brown, and some plum. This is too dark by itself. But it looks gorgeous as a secondary color. Love to shade it in with my main; all over color. Looks so beautiful. Fades off a few times during the day, even with primer. That's the only thing I don't like about it.


It has a slight shine to it. It isn't really metallicy though. It cost $21

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* pulidobl on 9/3/2009 4:02:00 PM more reviews by pulidobl

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

The MA used this in the crease of my eye with Heather cream shadow from BB and it looked fabulous. Too bad I couldn't duplicate this myself at home without my eyes looking bruised. I also found it difficult to blend. I don't want to knock lippies off an item for my in-expertise at application - it is another wonderful complex color that BB knows how produce so well (an other reviewers have described so well...). I find it DOES work great as an eyeliner!! Just wet your brush slightly and apply... I am BB sand or beige (depending on formulation and time of year) for reference.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* chanelmontes on 8/28/2009 11:20:00 PM more reviews by chanelmontes

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This shade looked absolutely horrible with my brown eyes, brunette hair and fair-medium skintone. It made my eyes look sunken and sore. The color is just far too dark and ashy overall making it a pain to blend. Both times I tried applying it I had to take it off immediately. I can see this working more for women with darker skintones or someone with light colored eyes and hair.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sweetcg49 on 8/28/2009 3:24:00 PM more reviews by sweetcg49

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

Velvet Plum is a mixture of plum and neutral. Others here have called it taupe, and I guess that's an ok evaluation, but it seems to have quite a bit of plum to me. I think it's simply beautiful. It isn't too light or too dark, and even though it is a metallic, it isn't too glittery. I can wear it all by itself and it looks great. Thanks, Bobbi.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 pinktini007 on 9/16/2008 9:49:00 AM more reviews by pinktini007

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I really wanted to love this eye shadow, but I can't. I find it very hard to blend with other shades, so I can only wear it on it's own. I don't think that the formula is the problem, because the metallic e/s in "Forest" blends just fine. "Velvet Plum" is a pretty color, but I'm more of a mix and match person.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Deandra on 9/2/2008 4:04:00 PM more reviews by Deandra

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Great color. I am fair-skinned and blue-eyed, and this in the best lid color I have found for achieving a soft, smokey eye. (I use Velvet Plum on the lid and place a darker brown or charcoal shadow in the outer corners and line with very dark eyeliner.) I use Bone or Flesh as a highlight color.)

Velvet Plum manages somehow to be soft and deep at the same time. I've felt very comfortable wearing it to work, but it's sexy enough for a date. It looks sophisticated and the color is surprisingly neutral. I usually go with a beige or plum lip, and pink/browns look good, too. Some frost shadows look crepey even on young women's lids, but the shimmer in this is subtle and flattering, and not too glittery.

The new BB flip-top shadow packaging is far superior to the old shadow containers with the screw-on lids. Nobody misses those, right? Also, the option of popping the shadow into a palette is a wonderful convenience.

However, I will probably not re-purchase since this doesn't have as much pigmentation as the BB Shimmer Wash shadows - I will probably try one of the plum shades in that.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Bobbi Brown products

More Eye Shadow products