Redken Real Control Intense Renewal Super Moisturizing Mask

4.1

61 reviews

72% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Water, Cetearyl Alcohol, Behentrimonium Chloride, PEG 180, Candelilla Cera (Euphorbia Cerifolia Wax), Amodimethicone, Cetyl Esters, Parfum/Fragrance, Methylparaben, Hydroxyethylcellulose, Trideceth 6, Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea Butter), Benzyl Salicylate, Chlorhexidine Dihydrochloride, Cetrimonium Chloride, Butylphenyl Methlyproprional, Linalool, PPG 5 Ceteth 20, Wheat Amino Acid, Hydrolyzed Soy Protein, Limonene, Octadecanediol, Citronellol, Oleth 10, Disodium Cocoamphodipropionate


on 3/16/2015 9:47:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

Never ever do I buy products from salons specifically because they're outrageously priced (this tub cost me 45$) but I was kind of bullied into it by one of the salon staff. Long story.
Anyways, at the time my hair was pretty dark with highlights and I'd done it all myself thus it was pretty dry and fried at the ends. She told me that it would help me grow my hair out thus I obliged.

Well when I first used it I hated it. I'm not sure why. Perhaps the circumstances of where I got it being fresh in my mind? Dunno.

But fast forward 2 years and my hair is way more f'ed up than it was then after being bleached and dyed and stripped and I'd done protein treatments but needed some intense moisture and TLC. So I found this tub and gave it a go.

I literally used far more than a normal sane person would've espesh with shoulder length hair like mine but my ends were so crunchy I just couldn't resist. I left it on for 15 minutes and rinse with COLD water.

Now, blow drying my hair (when it usually gets the most crunch going on) my hair is so freakin soft. Like, what happened?!? Not to mention it's shiny! AND the once-gummy pieces are acting like part of the group now, no breakage or frizz. Granted, I can still see the damage but I'd say it's been reduced in half by touch alone.

I can see how some might find this product greasy or bad in excess because it's so thick and rich but my hair is desperate and so it just gobbled it all up.
I would prob use this once a week from now on as I'm trying to limit how often I wash my hair (2x a week...eek) and for those not happy with the results, try JUST TRY rinsing your hair with cold water. I know, it's painful but for the sake of hair!

Idk. I wouldn't buy again for that price as I've seen it cheaper but I'd say its 5/5 in performance.


oh and I should probably mention I used Biotera Long and Healthy Triple Leave-In on my lengths and Its a 10 leave- in conditioner on top of that. BUT, even so, no conditioner married with those two has left me results like this.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.



Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Black

First off, I have straight, long-to my hips-brown hair that is healthy, I take really good care of it. It is virgin hair that has never been dyed and I never use heat on it. And I am half Japanese, half white.

Now that you know a bit about my hair type, I loved this hair mask, but it was my first salon hair mask. I still love it though, and use it regularly. It leaves my hair shiny, soft, manageable, and frizz-free. Even on rainy days, my hair is not lumps of frizz.

The price is expensive but I got it for a buy one get one free deal so it was not that bad. As for it being in a tub, I do not really mind it because most of my masks are like that.

Overall, I give it five stars for putting my hair in amazing condition.


on 1/15/2015 10:28:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Other

Love Love Love this stuff! I am currently in the process of growing out my hair after a trip to a bad (and outrageously overpriced) hairdresser turned my subtle highlights into a yellow-blonde, brittle, mess. My hair was in such bad condition that I dreaded washing it as it was a nightmare to comb and was breaking off by the clump. My new (fabulous) hairdresser recommended this to me about a year ago and I am really impressed with the quality of my hair now. I'm not going to lie and say it repaired my damaged-beyond-repair tresses because it's not a miracle worker, but it prevented more damage from occurring while I endured the slow process of growing my hair and having the damaged ends trimmed off (wasn't game to go for the dramatic chop that my hairdresser originally suggested). It has made my hair soft, manageable, and best of all easy to comb (there's barely a strand in my comb when I am done). Highly recommend. My only bugbear is the tub -- a tube would be much more manageable in the shower.


on 11/16/2014 3:26:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Real control is supposedly Redkens heavy duty moisture line but I actually think All Soft works better. I have very dry hair and I feel that this mask add moisture but not much change in the areas I need, mostly the ends of course. I'm giving it three stars because although it misses it's points on moisture it gives a gorgeous shine.


on 8/1/2014 11:51:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I have very long, coarse hair so I go through a lot of conditioner. This hair treatment is incredible. It leaves my hair soft and shiny and tames the frizz. I was using this every other day because I love the way it makes my hair so manageable. But the package is small and I was running out of product so quickly. So now, I went back to my usual conditioner, but use a little of the Redken Super Moisturizing Mask on my ends and then do a full deep condition with it once a week. I have spent a lot of money on more expensive conditioners but none so far have compared to this mask.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I @think@ this works well. My style is suggested it since my ends of my hair were bleached and dry from going ombre. My hair tends to be a little understanding side and its pretty straight with a slight slight slight bit of ways. I put it on my head and left it on for 6 hours as I walked around the house on a Saturday. But I'd cap over it as my hairdresser suggested. Rinsed it out and did not shampoo after. I thought it made a nice difference to my hair. I did it again two days later and still feel like the product was worth buying. I only needed a little bit so it seems like the jar is going to last a long time. My hair does look less frizzy on the end. There's another Redken jar/mask product that after reading up on seal may have been a better match for me. Its called Extreme Stregnt and comes in purpleish jar. You'll see it its on makeup alley. Same type of idea as this product. This one seems to work well (from what I read) if your hair is thick and curly, which mine is thin and pretty straight but I was happy with the product overall. When this jar runs out which probably will be 6 months or more with using 2 or 3 times a week I may try the other Redken product that is similar (Extreme Strength mask). I feel it was worth the money and I'm pretty thrifty.


on 5/13/2014 1:31:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

My hair is fried: dyed, bleached, dyed again and highlighted in the last 6 months. I have short hair so they get a trim fairly often but even then, they need special care. After reading the reviews i decided to go for this mask. I left it on for about an hour, rinsed and let my hair dry. Honestly, i don't see much difference.....My hair is slightly softer but nothing miraculous. I am disappointed, i was kind of expecting something a bit more dramatic. I get the same result with a drugstore mask....too bad.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/12/2014 5:30:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I have been using this treatment for about 9 months now and I absolutely LOVE IT!! I love being a blonde (ahem not my natural color) so I have a few years of highlights and lowlights. After my second child my hair was a dull, dry, lifeless mess. It definately needed some TLC and this product has done WONDERS to my hair.

I do use it in the shower sometimes when I am in a hurry (leaving it in for 5 or 10 minutes then rinse), but most of the time I leave it on a lot longer. About every 2-3 weeks I use a clarifying shampoo, towel dry, separate, and apply to every inch of my hair combing it in with a wide tooth comb. I wind it up place it on top of my head with a clip then put a disposable shower cap on. Add a warmed towel from the microwave and do some house work ect for 1 - 2 hours. Rinse and style! It does take a little effort to rinse it out so I start with pretty warm water and turn it cooler. But the end result is remarkable. Has definately saved my hair! It does weigh my hair down slightly the day I use it, but I can still get plenty of volume and my hair still holds curl. Any added weight is gone the next shampoo but my hair is still moisturized and shiney.

The price is a little steep upon first glance, but considering I am still on my first tub after 9 months and my hair length is to my bra strap, not too bad. I have definately spent more on things that didn't last as long or work nearly as well! I have never been too impressed by Redken's products in the past, but a huge thank you to the Ulta salesperson who recommended this!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/12/2014 2:36:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I really love this stuff! Now I know that the package says that it's for dense, unruly hair (or something along those lines) which I definitely do not have. In fact I have pretty fine hair, but I do have a lot of it. But it's also very dry, due to the fact that I flat iron my hair everyday... and have it colored every 5-6 weeks or so.

I use this treatment maybe once or twice a week (I only shampoo my hair mayyyybe 3 or 4 times a week, depends on what i'm doing and how oily my hair gets). Either way, I shampoo my hair first with my Pureology Hydrate, and then I squeeze out all the excess water, take a scoop of this out of the tub and start rubbing it through my ends first. Usually i'll just leave it on throughout the duration of my shower, so maybe 5-10 minutes or so. Not that long. I still find as soon as I rinse this out, my hair feels AH-MAZING. So soft and tangle free! I do still use my regular conditioner after this too.

Once I get out of the shower I put in my usual products (fast food leave on and bb cream from AG) and I never ever blow dry my hair so I just let it air dry. The next day my hair is so soft and silky and shiny. I just can't stop touching it. It's a little pricey here, about $28, but worth every penny, i've had my tub for about six months. I'm only just starting to get to the bottom of the container now. Definitely will repurchase!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/6/2013 1:30:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Blue

What I think a lot of people don't realize about this product is that you need to lightly shampoo it out. It is WAAAY too rich to use as a regular conditioner.
I have bleached-from-black blond hair and my ends are very sensitive. I have curly frizzy hair that I straighten 2 times a week. On my off days I shower and slather it in my hair for over night. 1. it does stink in my opinion, 2 it does make your hair sticky and hard to get your fingers through when slightly dried, 3 IT WORKS! after i use it my curls are more defined and less frizzy. when i straighten it my ends are more in control and look less crazy, my hair is more supple and smooth and is much more bouncy.
honestly, i would put anything in my hair if it meant that it would look healthier. in my opinion, if it works and does what it says it does, not much else matters.
there are plenty of other cheaper less effective masks out there that smell good if thats what you're looking for. This mask is worth the price and effort for the quality of results it gives.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top