Lancome La Base Pro

3.7

180 reviews

58% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS

Cyclopentasiloxane, Dimethicone Crosspolymer


on 7/31/2015 7:05:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I have some fine lines and flaky patches on my skin, as well as pores on my cheeks and nose and this truly does seem to smooth my face for foundation application. Foundation stays on through the day and into the night, even in the heat. Quite pricey but it is a product that is effective in all the ways that I need a primer to perform.



on 7/1/2015 3:38:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

La Base Pro has only two ingredients which made me really question its retail price (I got a full size for gratis). I used it all over and at first was not terribly impressed. I was looking for something to make my foundation last longer - La Base Pro did not do that (finding a better foundation did but that's another story). It also didn't help with oil control which, at the height of summer, which would have been appreciated.

Now that I'm on retin-A, have dry skin and it's winter, this primer is great. It smoothes over flakes, creates a smooth surface for application and most importantly STOPS foundation from settling into fine lines! This is brilliant on the under eye area which can store concealer in its crevices and get dehydrated and crepe paper-like come 4pm. I don't like layering too many products on daily but I do use this under my eyes and it keeps the area looking plump and fresh as it forms a barrier between the skin and the moisture-sucking properties of most concealers.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/13/2015 2:29:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Holly crap!! This stuff is AMAZING!! Makes my skin look smooth and flawless!!! Pricey yes but worth every penny!!!!!!!


on 3/9/2015 3:50:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I really like this primer, I have quite dry skin and this smooths my skin out nicely in preparation for foundation. I found this to be quite similar to the smashbox photoready primer just not as heavy. Overall I really like it and find one pump is more than sufficient to cover my whole face and it doesnt break me out. I have repurchased a number of times and will continue to do so.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/27/2014 3:51:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I have very oily skin, and I used this primer after my Clarins Hyrda-Matte moisturiser, under Lancome Teint Miracle foundation. It kept me fairly matte for about three hours before I needed a touch-up of powder, and it was a little on the pricey side for just 25ml, but I am willing to give it four lipsticks simply for the texture! I cannot even begin to describe the feel of this! It is silky smooth and feels like air. It's like rubbing satin on your skin! It did not leave my skin chalky or dry-looking, as it is translucent, but my face felt pore less and soft. My foundation and concealer went on smoothly. I would recommend buying a sample of this just to feel the incredible texture. I would repurchase just for how nice it feels on my skin.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/17/2014 12:15:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Do yourself a favour and do not buy this product. My t-zone gets a bit oily after 6-8 hours but with this, my skin felt like it was soaked in oil within the first 2 hours of wear. I was very disappointed because I read some great reviews about this but if you get an oily t-zone, or a bit oily in general, I do not recommend this at all. There are far better primers for a much lower price. :(


on 10/22/2014 10:28:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

My boyfriend bought this for me during one of my make up hauls three years ago and I finally finished the bottle three days ago!! Wow! I love this stuff! I have tried this and the smashbox photo primer as well.. and a couple of others including prestige brands and drugstore brands and this is HANDS DOWN the best primer I have ever used!! I love it! A little really went a long way for me. I am not pulling anyone's leg when I say this bottle (25ml) really lasted me 3 years!! I wear makeup pretty much 5 days a week, maybe once in a while during the weekends, and this really lived up to Lancome's reputation of selling great products! =). You can bet I will be buying me a new one this weekend!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 10/12/2014 8:55:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Soooo agree with Jeni's review. Smashbox too heavy - greasy - LA base not too much over their price. (Even Lose Watier feels better than Smashbox) but Lancome simply ups the ante! Best over all for all and NO I do not work for Lancome... have just used it for 24 years! Patti Donnelly-Arnold on FB

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 10/9/2014 7:31:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This product was ok. I'm not totally sold on it. I like it better for spot priming and not my entire face. Feels good on, but doesn't do anything special for my skin. Good but not amazing.


on 10/9/2014 6:13:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

So most of you know about the infamous Smashbox photo ready primer. Meet it's slightly more expensive, smaller in size, but better sibling! It never leaves me feeling oily or greasy and it makes foundation go on so beautifully! I honestly think this one is the better option of the two just because I find smashbox primers so darn greasy which is definitely a no go, especially in Arizona!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


Popular Primer/ Correctors


Back to Top