Dove • Clinical Protection • Deodorants

rated 3.5(79 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.59%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* heathermrm on 2/5/2014 6:26:00 PM more reviews by heathermrm

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

As someone who suffers from intertrigo, I have been struggling for over a year to come up with a solution to keep flare-ups at bay. I have a Rx but that only seems to moderately work and flare-ups keep occurring. I finally had a "duh" moment and figured out that stopping the sweat might go miles and miles towards a "cure."

I haven't used anti-perspirants (AP) for years and years - I use Crystal spray and roll-on for deoderant purposes (which is awesome btw), but that's it. Trying to stay away from commercial AP, I 1st tried the baking soda/corn starch/coconut oil recipe here on MUA. That actually works on 2 of my affected areas, but not where the industrial sweating occurs. So, I thought I'd start w/ this and WHOA NELLY - this stuff stops sweat in its tracks!!! I"m not too thrilled about adding chemicals back into my routine, but after being so miserable and in actual pain from the intertrigo, I'm grateful to have found this. Now, as long as I use 1/day, I have no flare-ups = no need for the Rx either.

My dermo was very impressed w/ the level of resolution and the fact that this stuff doesn't irritate my skin at all. He and his colleagues are usually hesitant to recommend industrial strength AP due to the levels of alcohol in them that they can really irritate skin, but when I pointed out my skin and the fact there is no trace of irritation, he said he'd start telling my experience to other patients (I also gave him the recipe for the natural AP/deo discussed above - that intrigued him as well).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 BuffyTheMoronSlayer on 11/27/2013 1:07:00 PM more reviews by BuffyTheMoronSlayer

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I can't remember which fragrance I have. I was having an odor problem so I have been trying all sorts of deodorants lately. This does work for my issue and I'm pleased in that aspect. However the packaging is *awful* It leaks if it happens to lay on its side. An oily residue leaks from the cap. Also, it has a textured click dial to get more product out. I'm not sure if it is my particular one or a problem overall with it, but my gosh, it's hard to turn that thing. I have a sore spot on my thumb from trying to turn it. Absolutely awful. It's disappointing because the product is good.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 beautyjunkie93 on 8/30/2013 6:24:00 PM more reviews by beautyjunkie93

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I much prefer Degree clinical to this one. Wanted to try it since Dove's deodorants are more moisturizing than others but it didn't work for me. Did well as an antiperspirant but I had to reapply throughout the day because it left me feeling a little stinky after a few hours.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 briel1995 on 8/4/2013 7:41:00 PM more reviews by briel1995

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I have tried numerous types of deodorant and have always been left feeling wet, sweaty, and gross by the end of the day. I don't sweat a whole lot but every deodorant has fail to stop even the smallest amount of sweat when it comes to me. I finally decided to try a clinical strength deodorant. I have always loved the smell of cucumber so of course Dove clinical protection cool essentials was perfect for me. It works amazing, smells amazing and always leaves me feeling fresh at the end of the day! There is only two downsides to this product, one is the white balls of deodorant left behind at the end of the day, and two is the fact that the deodorant doesn't come out when i just twist it. I have to twist it, put the cap on, then lightly hit it upside down on my dresser to get anything to come out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* blushie on 7/31/2013 11:24:00 AM more reviews by blushie

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

As a teen I used to get very sweaty, especially in social situations. In those days I used Driclor, an anti-perspirant that was really effective but sometimes was unbearably itchy. Since stopping the pill, I've noticed an increase in my underarm perspiration, which thank goodness is nothing like my teen years but enough to make me feel uncomfortable, especially on busy days at work. I've used this for 4 days and even on the first day I noticed a big difference-my underarms were dry! I was impressed that it did not sting or irritate my skin in anyway (even after shaving), I like the scent (green tea/cucumber) and despite the texture it is not sticky and it dries quickly. This is not like an ordinary roll on like I expected though, and I've noticed my container is a bit erratic with the amount it dispenses. It's a bit annoying. I end up slathering it way past my armpit, just to use it. This does work without the irritation of the really heavy duty anti-perspirants, and I'm really glad I've found a solution that doesn't involve me wanting to rip my armpits off at 1am like the Driclor did.

EDIT: This stopped working very effectively when I got to about half-way done with the product-dampness increased again and what's worse, B.O actually increased! Usually I will sweat without much odour but this makes it increase dramatically-not sure if it's due to the sweat reacting badly with the product fragrance or the product itself. It's pretty mortifying though and I will be looking at other options now.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* aznmnkygrl808 on 7/28/2013 7:17:00 AM more reviews by aznmnkygrl808

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I would only recommend this for someone that sweats a crap load because this product can dry the crap out of your armpits. I got it in Sakura/plum, which is my fave scent out of the whole dove line. I only use this deodorant for the gym or if I know I'm gonna be getting sweaty and super hot. On days where I'm doing light errands or after I shower, ill use my regular secret deodorant. Definitely would repurchase this!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Carybear on 6/20/2013 2:17:00 PM more reviews by Carybear

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I have a real problem with sweating. When I am interacting with others, in public and even typing emails to another person. I have high social anxiety I guess. Anyway, the underarms of my shirt would get drenched. In school I kept my jacket on in class (which didn't help) because I sweat so badly.
Today, for the first time since my teens I decided to stop hiding and stop apologizing when someone notices it. I looked at some cream anti perspirant my father used to make me use as a kid. It's the stuff you put under your arms (or on your feet, palms where ever you sweat badly) before bed and you don't need to reapply for like a week. That creeps me out, and so did the price. I saw this and said "meh, might as well try it"
I went riding my bike in 24 degree (celsius) sunshine. No sweat.
I went to the mall and had foundation shades tried out on me. No sweat.
I talked on the phone and now I am composing this reveiw and I am not sweating. Somehow I sweat the worse when I am typing an opinion or review online. I do not know why. Anyway, this stuff is excellent. I am typing comfortably without rivulets of sweat coursing down the insides of my upper arm.
Oh that last image was sexy, wasn't it.
HG.

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* spaflam on 6/10/2013 10:27:00 AM more reviews by spaflam

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I like this product - even better than Secret Clinical - keeps me dry and has a higher concentration of anti-perspirant.

I try to get the cucumber/green tea ("fresh") fragrance.

Good product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 MissMacabre88 on 4/18/2013 1:11:00 PM more reviews by MissMacabre88

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Grey    

As someone who has suffered from hyperhidrosis (excessive sweating) since hitting puberty, I am constantly on the prowl for effective antiperspirants. It's a difficult thing to overcome because there really is no permanent solution for it. And when you have it to a severe degree, you're basically stuck constantly trying to hide the dinner-plate sized sweat stains under your arms or putting prescription strength products on your pits that burn the crap out of your skin and prevent you from being able to shave regularly. It seems as though it's a lose lose situation, really.

I've pretty well always used Drysol, which is ABSOLUTELY brutal on the skin. There have been times where I've put it on before bed and needed to wash it off within 30 minutes because of how bad it burns. It's 20% Aluminum chloride hexahydrate, and that stuff is all kinds of bad news for anyone. It's terribly harsh on the skin (as anyone who has used it would know) and studies have shown that ACH increases the chances of developing Alzheimer's later in life. NO GOOD! But what do you do if your excessive sweating really starts to affect most aspects of your life? Keep hunting.

A few months ago I tried Perspirex, a new product that only contains 10% ACH. This stuff didn't work for me at all, and it still had that awful chemical smell and burned upon application. Pretty well for the past decade of my life I have made a habit of carrying a sweater with me all the time, for when my sweat stains become really noticeable. It's embarrassing! Summer is a terrible time for me. And here in Alberta, we only get it for about three months, so I'd like to be able to make the most of it.

About a month or so ago I came across Dove's new Clinic Strength Antiperspirant. I didn't expect it to control my sweating all that much but I figured it was worth a shot. It was a little on the pricey side compared to regular dedodorants. I think I bought it *ON SALE* for around $10.00. It comes in a few different scents which is a nice change from the horrible chemical smell of any prescription strength antiperspirant. I opted for the cucumber and green tea one. It's not too overwhelming and I like the fact that the scent is based on two natural ingredients that are good for skin (not sure if these ingredients are actually in this product but it smells pretty good!)

I've been pleasantly surprised to find that this stuff actually works! I haven't been sweating excessively from my arm pits since I started using it. I like the consistency, it doesn't flake like most deodorants and it dries fairly quickly (no nasty wet feeling). I put it on after I shower every morning and it lasts the whole day. My only issues with this product are the fact that it comes out of the applicator very inconsistently. You'll notice that it will only come out of a few of the little holes rather than all of them. Also, if you put it on before getting dressed, let it dry first. I get a few white marks on my shirts but they rub off easily and I'm sure this coud be avoided if you let it dry thoroughly before putting a shirt on. I see that a few people think it's a bit pricey, but I think it's worth the $10.00, considering that it works, it smells pleasant (no horrible chemical stink), and it doesn't burn the hell out of your skin!

I'll definitely continue to buy this product. It seems to last awhile too if you're only applying it once a day, which is effective enough!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 bitaboop on 4/7/2013 8:38:00 AM more reviews by bitaboop

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Horrible smell and did not work at all like secret which I use. Surprised this is a dove product

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Dove products

More Deodorants products