Unlisted Brand • Milk of Magnesia • Masks

rated 4.1(374 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.79%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 3 of 5 AquaChain on 3/29/2014 1:56:00 AM more reviews by AquaChain

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I recently stopped using this because I felt like it stopped working for my oily face like it used to 4-5 years ago.

I remember when I first used it I was amazed. In summer, it would completely keep my face matte even if I started to sweat. All day and no touch up on powdering and blotting. That's how clingy I was to this. Also the product stayed as a liquid for months before it dried up in the bottle and became sludgy or crusty (idk how it does that?). I didn't mind and just re-bought more.
I believe it was last year when I noticed it wasn't keeping me matte all day like before. It only keeps me matte for 2-4 hours now before I get oily. And my nose isn't matte after an hour or so at all! How awkward it must look to have a random oily nose. lol And now the damn liquid sludge's up and gets hardened after 2 months. Is there evaporation going on in there? lol I wonder. I find myself using the dried up sludgy stuff to swipe on my face and it really chalks up on my face. Damn. My sister even said my makeup looked cakey too so I guess that's bad for a moisturized or natural look

Well, now that my sister and friend tell me to just use something else and not something silly on my face, I'll finally consider their words. Guess I'm primer hunting now. *sigh*

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 gabbm on 3/13/2014 1:40:00 PM more reviews by gabbm

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

i had read a lot of reviews about milk of magnesia and all are positive, but in my case this product didnīt work for me, i used it as a primer a few times and didnīt see the difference, a couple hours after my face was shining like always. Lucky you girls!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lizpolito on 3/13/2014 12:11:00 PM more reviews by lizpolito

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This is great if you have really oily skin!! I add a few drops of it mixed together with my sunscreen and voila makeup stays on all day without having to constantly blot! In summer time I usually add more drops than usual because of the heat that makes me super oily. And it's pretty cheap to buy so no need to break tha bank to get a mattifying primer, this will do.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 CaritoRdguez on 2/7/2014 5:51:00 PM more reviews by CaritoRdguez

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This thing is uuuhmazing!!! My skin is the oiliest of the oiliest and this thing keeps me matte ALL DAY no joke!! I have tried everything from low end to high end setting sprays, powders, foundations and absolutely nothing had ever worked, so I was kind of skeptical when i heard about it at first, but OMG now I have no doubt this REALLY WORKS. I used the generic Walmart brand that has no flavor on it. It works great!! I will be repurchasing when I run out of it.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* baldymonster on 1/31/2014 2:56:00 PM more reviews by baldymonster

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

You guys, please do not use milk of magnesia all over your face! I hear people recommending it all the time for oily skin, and it may work temporarily to "fix" that, but over time it will destroy your skin's acid mantle. That's what your skin uses to protect itself from bacteria, viruses, etc, and it's made from the acidic sebum secreted from your oil glands. You need to be moderately acidic for the acid mantle to remain intact. Remember your high school chemistry: base neutralizes acidity. Milk of magnesia is highly, highly basic with a pH value of about 10. Using this regularly will leave you extremely vulnerable to infections in your skin, including deep cystic acne. No one wants an infection in their face, so to be safe, only use MoM for treating digestive issues and maybe the occasional spot treatment. Your skin will thank you.

8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 shyaa on 1/30/2014 2:17:00 AM more reviews by shyaa

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

To keep it short: From time to time I get cystic acne on my face while having a few regular white-heads. My doctor recommended Epiduo gel (at $200 per tube, NO thanks!) and he put me on some oral medication for acne. I thought this was a little over board considering my skin isn't that bad. As I said, I get a few pimples (1 or 2) regularly and an occasional cyst on my chin that goes away when I continually ice it. I originally bought this product to layer over my sunscreen because my sunscreen makes me oily. But guess what? This product cleared my acne. No cysts, no white-heads, perfect skin. This M.o.M is the only new addition to my skincare routine. I only use it twice a week and it works great.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Sp0ntaneous on 12/27/2013 9:46:00 AM more reviews by Sp0ntaneous

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Dark   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Best primer ever. can be found in most pharmacys, drug stores, and grocery stores - dirt cheap and works just as well as any primer while lasting a long time. My makeup does not melt off at all and I use to be a frying pan

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 glamerous3059 on 10/23/2013 10:14:00 AM more reviews by glamerous3059

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

USE AS A PRIMER ALL OVER FACE.. TRUST ME THE MATTENESS LASTS I CAN GO OVER HALF THE DAY BEFORE I GET OILY WITH THIS AND A POWDER BEFORE MY FOUNDATION..

I HAVE A YOUTUBE VIDEO ON MY PREP AND PRIME UNDER -FEARLESS FEMME

ALSO YOU CAN USE GENERIC I PICKED UP LARGER BOTTLE FROM DOLLARTREE OR $1 WHICH WAS AWESOME BECAUSE ITS $4 AT WALGREENS

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Christinarhea on 10/13/2013 2:34:00 PM more reviews by Christinarhea

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Amazing under makeup! Try it...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 nliedel on 10/11/2013 10:00:00 AM more reviews by nliedel

Age: 44-55   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I read the reviews about the pH of MoM and could not believe it. I'm a Cosmetic Chemist turned yarn dyer because of MS and Lye burns. I'm a clutz and lye, as well as spilling bleach are nightmares for me. So, if MoM was at a pH of 10.5, I should be burning like fire and it's my holy grail. I tested it. I did not use a strip. I have a pH meter and it's always calibrated. I need it for dying as much as cosmetic formulating which I still do for myself. Yep, got a 10.5, and a bottle of spilled MoM on my kitchen floor. However, this is not burning my skin at all and if it was 10.5, I should be a disaster, instead of clearing up. Why? What is going on here? I then popped some onto my skin wet with oil and tested. This is not 100% accurate, because something has to be wet to have a pH. 4.5. That's me. I'm on the low end.

This is my theory based on years of work and talking to other formulators. The skin is really good at getting back to a normal pH. Some of the best soap and most gentle is at a good 10. This is anecdotal and based on other soap formulators opinions as well, so grain here, please. What is up? 1. The stuff dries so fast that the pH is not an issue. When your skin gets oily, the MoM is more neutral and is not an issue. Again, these are theories, and I am not going to be able to test them all. 2. When it encounters anything with a lower pH it comes way down. I tested this one over and over again. Brought my salicylic acid to 5, fast. This is 20%. I use it for a weekly peel.

My pet theory is the whole thing about your skin pumping out more oil if you don't use some is that is not true. I know, shock, gasp, a smack to Nancy. Why? If you have dry skin and go into the desert, put on something drying, it's not getting dryer. Also, in the desert, Las Vegas, I oil the same as home. Sad. True. So, here is the Nancy Theory of skin after years of study, classes, certificates, etc.

Some people can't use some stuff. Why? Skin is an average if 5 on the pH scale. Except it's really 4.5-5.5 and the difference is extreme from one end to the other. It sounds like a small jump, really. It's not. It's HUGE. The difference between bleach and lye is so high I am burned to the point of going to the ER once and lost part of the darker part of one of my girls. I shall not elaborate. You get it. It was on my shirt, blah, blah. Some people will have a VERY negative reaction to it. I seem to get to a normal pH with it, fast (dries quick and once it's dry, pH is not a factor). I have been diagnosed with a condition that I cannot remember the name of, that pumps out oil faster than anything you can think of. I am always oily and all over, except my legs. I'm almost fifty btw, and want to smack my pediatrician for telling me my acne would go away at 18. I get acne. Horrible acne and without the MoM...shudder. So, for me, my skin, my life, it's a Holy Grail. For you, maybe not. We are more alike than we understand and more different. What works for some, will destroy the skin of others. My son who is Hispanic (adopted), oils like I do and MoM does not help him at all. I cannot use any oil on my face at all.

Our skin has no way of telling if there is oil on it. It cannot regulate it's pH, individually. After you use soap it will return to your normal pH as soon as you are dry. When you think about it, water is pretty base for a skin pH of 4.5.

These are just random doodlings. I will look into this further and perhaps there is a dietary deficiency with myself and magnesium. I've not looked to see if there are any studies with magnesium and oily skin being associated. Never thought of it till today. I do know this works for me. I know people it does not work for. It seems there are two schools of thought, if it's natural, it's wonderful, and if it's man made it's wonderful. We all slide somewhere in the middle, but many are on one end, or the other. There are few absolutes in skin science. I've heard duck quacks from some people in one sentence and sound science in the next. We are still learning and oily skin is one thing I wish I had the answers for. I don't. I like the MoM. I agree it's not for everyone.

I hope this makes some sense and I didn't give answers because I don't have them. I just have enough thoughts to put together the basics with questions. I guess we all should be thinking carefully about everything that goes on our skin. There are no HG's for everyone. I honor and respect that any product can be a monster for some, and a cure for others. We are so far from all the answers, but the hunting sure is fun!!!!

16 out of 26 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Unlisted Brand products

More Masks products