Sally Hansen • Hair Remover Wax Strip Kit for Face, Brown & Bikini • Hair Removal

rated 3.3(65 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.66%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 ponc on 6/30/2014 8:29:00 PM more reviews by ponc

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Other    

I prefer wax strips to microwavable wax. I love the convenience though microwavable wax does a better job at getting rid of hair. This product gets rid of hair well. It hurts a lot though. I feel it hurts more than Veet strips. The upside is this strip has longer shelf life than Veet strip. The veet one will become useless if you left it sitting in the bottom drawer too long. Sally Hansen will remain useful even if it has been sitting in the bottom drawer all winter.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 JetJockey on 5/29/2014 1:03:00 AM more reviews by JetJockey

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I'll just come right out and say it - I have a very hairy face. Peach fuzz galore. It's not dark, but it's not exactly short and it can be noticable in certain types of light.
This is the first wax product I have used on my face (aside from a few eyebrow waxes at salons). I only waxed my upper lips, a small spot on my jawline, and a small spot on my cheek, just to see how my skin would react before waxing any further. It wasn't too painful, it was very effective at removing all of the hairs, and the finishing oil left my skin feeling very soft.
HOWEVER... it irritated my skin and I experienced some minor itching. It left me with a few blotchy red spots that were slightly raised and a bit flakey. They gradually went away over the course of about a week. I have since read some tips on waxing, and will use a bit of powder to keep the wax from adhering too much to my skin the next time I try these strips.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Andtaylorr on 4/19/2014 12:23:00 AM more reviews by Andtaylorr

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

So affordable for all the stuff you get in this kit. First time trying it and it got all the hairs and was quick and easy!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 abmccartney on 3/23/2014 1:51:00 PM more reviews by abmccartney

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Perfect! No need to use anything else. Considering I have very sensitive skin, only product that works for me.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 KittyBooBoo on 3/12/2014 12:18:00 AM more reviews by KittyBooBoo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I use these for regularly for my bikini area and they're ok; the reason I keep buying is because they're cheap and there's no mess. They're not the BEST-- it sometimes takes a few strips to remove the hair completely, but I figure the ease of use makes up for that. Pulling the strip off immediately after smoothing it down seems to help. I can't rave about these, but they're easy to use if you're new to at home waxing.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 GinniAffliction on 3/5/2014 8:43:00 PM more reviews by GinniAffliction

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm   Hair: Other, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

So the bf wants me to wax his armpits. Lol kden.

I didn't wanna use my hard wax because that needs to be heated up in the microwave and I dunno if his mother would be ok with me waxing her son. :P (I'm 17, he's 16)

So we went to Wal-Mart to get some waxing stripa. I was originally looking for the Veet ones but settled upon this one.

Just tested it out on my legs and HOT DAMN these work well! Only problem is the wax strips are huge but the finishing oil is so TINY!

I swear. I'm scared to use it :/

I guess I'll have to find a substitue.......

IMPORTANT
HEAT UP WITH YOUR HANDS BEFORE USING
REALLY HEAT IT UP THOUGH
OTHERWISE THE WAX WILL BE A GLOBBY, STICKY MESS!

I'll let you know how the bf likes it later too! :P

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 latoyaoneall on 5/11/2013 10:56:00 PM more reviews by latoyaoneall

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Just picked these up the other night because I needed to wax my upper lip. I had been using a jar that you heated up in the microwave and then put the hot wax on the hair but I ran out. First of all, this product is ah-mazing for upper lip hair (which that's all I have problems with). I used my blow dryer on its hottest setting and warmed it up quickly, then pulled apart the strip (all you need is one, there is wax on both sides) and put it on my upper lip and pushed down so the wax would grab my hairs. I closed my eyes, and ripped it off as fast as I could (in the opposite direction of course.) Every single hair came out! My lip upper lip is a smooth as freshly shaved legs (if you know what I mean.) I love this product sooo much! You have to go buy it, it's awesome!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 erinbearen on 1/15/2013 9:50:00 PM more reviews by erinbearen

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

I have been using this for a long time and love it. It is not sure simple but I like it a lot better than other waxing methods. I like that the Strips are pre stickyed for you.
To use:
cut to the size you want, I usually cut all the way up to the wax leaving one side with a tab to pull.
Rub between your hands to warm slightly then pull apart.
Place where you want to remove hair. I come from a long line of unibrows so I wax between my brows and above and below. Seriously I have more eyebrows than most people you will meet!
Rubb slightly to warm
Pull fast and hard against the direction of hair growth.
Repeat as needed.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Ubiq on 11/21/2012 11:24:00 PM more reviews by Ubiq

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I have really sensitive rosacea skin that reacts badly even to salon waxing or depilatories. I'm also on Retin-a. I also have clear and very fine hair on my upper lip that I have to get rid of every week. This is all a very bad! :(
The problem with most waxes is that they aren't sticky enough to grab this kind of hair. My skin is so sensitive I can't go over the same spot twice so I have to make sure I get it all the first time. This is the best wax I've ever tried for this. It beats Nads, Parissa and Bliss hands down.
I'm posting the method I've developed over the years to deal with waxing my ridiculously sensitive skin. This is the only way I can deal with waxing. And I have to wax. Maybe it'll help someone else out there with bad skin at least get rid of their mustache.

How I use:
-Wash your face, preferably with a soapless cleanser of some kind. Get your face and hands really dry.
-Use a natural talc-free powder like the one from Jason to lightly coat the area to be waxed. I have used makeup powder for this but why waste that when you can get a canister of rice powder with tea tree oil that'll last a year. Then brush away the excess. This really helps ensure that sensitive skin doesn't get ripped away if you don't pull just right or if the wax isn't hot enough. I haven't tried cornstarch or regular talc but I imagine they would work.
-I like to have a q-tip or 2 already dipped in some of the Azulene finishing oil for removing stuck wax or to calm just waxed skin if its burning but the wax session isn't finished yet. It has a calming agent in it. Don't get any on area yet to be waxed. The wax won't stick and you'll have to go through the whole prep process again.
-Warm wax strip with a hair dryer or a plug-in space heater. The heater is best if you have roomies or a sleeping boyfriend. Give it 30 seconds or so. The wax shouldn't burn but I've found that it won't work well unless it has actually melted.
-Place the strip on the area you want to wax and lay it on the skin in the direction the hair grows. Press it down firmly. The wax will stick to itself and not get left on the skin if you give it 5 seconds or so.
-Pull your skin taut.
-Rip, as in pull *very* quickly, in the opposite direction you laid it down and at such an angle that you are pulling it against itself if that makes sense. When the directions say pull the skin taut and pull the strip in the opposite direction, they mean it. It'll really hurt if you don't do this step right. ;)
-Do a small area until you get a feel for it so if you do rip skin off the area is contained. *Ouch*
-When done, rub in some of the Azulene finishing oil to remove excess wax and calm skin. I use just a bit with my fingers. Sometimes I have to use kind of a lot but I don't wash it off with soap, just water.
-My skin is really sensitive and so its red and burning at this point. I use Bactine which I have found doesn't break me out like some anti-pain and irritation things do. I reapply this throughout the night if it starts burning or turning red again. I also take benadryl at night and I think that also helps control bad reactions but I'm no pharmacist. ;)
-I then use argan oil instead of my nightly moisturizer. This prevents acne, calms my skin, and usually means I can go back to my regular routine the next night. I get a rather big bottle of this from Whole Foods. It's from AAASheaButter. It lasts more than a year and is much cheaper than other brands that sell argan oil. This is probably the best thing I've ever used on my face and I don't think I could wax without it because the irritation would be too severe.
-The next morning I will use a cleansing oil like the one from MAC for removing waterproof eyeliner. Using even a mild cleanser at this point will cause a reaction because the skin hasn't yet rebuilt it's defenses. If you don't have one then it's better to just use water and maybe some more Bactine if you are still raw.

I know this all sounds very involved but if I don't do all of thse steps, I'll regret it. It's worth it for a hair and rash free face.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Slone07 on 10/7/2012 7:00:00 PM more reviews by Slone07

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I was surprised to see such low ratings for this product! I've been purchasing these wax strips for at least 10 years now and they've yet to let me down. I love these wax strips in particular because you can cut them to the size and shape needed and then just chuck them into the trash. For my brows, I cut the arch shape that I prefer and because the two strips are stuck together with wax, I have identical eyebrow strips for perfectly symetrical brows. Same thing goes for anywhere else you're using them, of course.

This wax is exceedingly sticky and I have actually ripped skin off of my upper eyelid before (my fault...I shouldn't have waxed the morning after using my Retin-A, and on clean skin, no less), so be careful. Warm the strip up well, keep the skin pulled taut, and gently press the strip into the skin for a few moments to allow the wax to settle around the hair. Pull in one, swift motion against (or diagonally against) the hair growth. Oh, and learn from me...never use these on freshly cleansed skin or the wax will adhere more to the skin than it will the hair. OUCH! I like to use these in the evening before I take my makeup off and find they work best and remove the most hairs with the least amount of pain this way. I have not used them on any areas other than my face, so I cannot comment on that.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Sally Hansen products

More Hair Removal products