Femme Couture • Gel Eyeliner in Expresso • Eyeliner

rated 4.5(8 reviews)

Average Rating.4.5
Would buy this product again.87%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 shuppet88 on 5/18/2014 2:56:00 PM more reviews by shuppet88

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this mainly for use as a brow color. My head hair is dark brown while my brows are black. However, they're very thin hairs which lack volume so this really helps give my brows the illusion of being thicker and fuller. It works by coloring the skin underneath rather than just the hairs because it is meant to be used on skin of the eyelids. It's perfect for my brows as a cheaper alternative to Anastasia brow pomade.

As a liner, it's also very nice. It is a very dark brown but it's still a softer look than black gel liner. The texture is somewhat thin so I also use it as a lid color for quick eye shadow.

I recommend it especially for brows :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 EscalatorKid on 12/23/2012 12:44:00 PM more reviews by EscalatorKid

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I bought this for $5.99 at Sally Beauty. This is actually my first gel eyeliner, since I hate pencils and can't handle liquid eyeliner without making a huge mess of my face.

Mine was dry, and cracked in half in the pot, but I used a wet brush and it still seems to work pretty well. It already works better than the e.l.f. cream eyeliner, although I like the e.l.f.'s color better. I just bought a Sephora cream eyeliner to compare it to

I would like to see a much lighter brown, but this is still brown, not black, and that makes a difference for me.


I think I am going to buy another one of these and inspect it at the store to make sure it isn't dried out.

But, for $6, I'm going to put this in the "worth it" box.

Edit:
I did get one that was not dried out and cracked and found it to be MUCH better and easier to work with. It migrates a little bit, especially on the waterline. It seems to do pretty well tightlining, though. It probably needs to be set with some kind of powder, but for $6, you can't complain too much.

I want them to offer more color options, though.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 bmorelikebre on 3/13/2011 9:45:00 PM more reviews by bmorelikebre

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Dark   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Holy Crap! My new HG eyeliner. for $4.49 I totally expected the product inside to be all dried out and clumpy but I took a chance and so glad I did! This gel liner is super smooth and creamy. Like other reviewers said, it's a little "wetter" than MAC fluidline or Bobbi Brown but but definitley not runny or anything. It's awesome. The Expresso color is more like brown/black. I wish it was more on the brown side but oh well. I will never by Blacktrak fluidline again as long as I can get my hands on this femme couture.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sdhar on 6/30/2010 10:45:00 AM more reviews by sdhar

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

Found this on clearance at Sally's for $2.99. I had always wanted to try this even at its regular price of $5.99 but the bargain-finder in me didn't want to pay regular price!!!!! I thought I'll buy W&W gel liner for $3.99 instead. But when I saw it on clearance, I scooped up all the 3 colors(navy, black, espresso). Loving it! My 1st time with a gel liner and I don't even have a good liner brush. But I used some brush and the product stayed all day. It does fade lightly IF I happened to rub my eyes but it doesn't really go away. Also, it comes off only with eyemake remover and not water. So run to your Sallys and grab it if its still available.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Tresha on 4/11/2010 7:04:00 PM more reviews by Tresha

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Tan, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I love the deep rich pigmentation. It's a dark/matte chocolate brown color. Not bad at all for $5.99 at Sally's. It did fade a little through out the day. It definitely rivals other lowend gel eyeliners. It's a nice product and worth a try for the price. I don't think this will hold up in the Vegas heat during Summer season, but I don't mind using this in Winter for sure. I think it will be fine for Winter. Update: Unfortunately, this creases in hot weather on me. Many other better ones on the market like Maybelline as far as lowend lines are concerned.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* hollyc01 on 3/9/2010 10:36:00 AM more reviews by hollyc01

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I've used gel eyeline for years. Easy to apply and longlasting. Femme Couture is the best yet. Very, very densely pigmented so you get a nice solid line (eyeliner should NOT be sheer). Stays on until you take it off, in fact I need eye makeup remover to take it off. I also line the inner rim of my eye with it and it stays, so waterproof or not, this stuff performs! I have it in the Navy and it is very dark, almost black, I would have preferred a tiny bit more "blueness" but I'd still buy it again. I intend to get the other two colours. For my black eyeliner I'm currently using the MAC gel and it tends to go on sheer and I have to reapply to get the intensity I want. Also too, it tends to fade (no transferring tho) and requires reapplication. So I'm getting the black Femme Couture based on price and performance, a real winner! Oops, just notice I posted this under the wrong colour, should have put under the Navy,

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 veronicakeith on 5/4/2009 12:07:00 PM more reviews by veronicakeith

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This is a really nice gel eyeliner. It is easier to apply than liquid eyeliner, and just like liquid it takes a few seconds to dry and is long lasting. It lasts longer than most of my eyeliners, however, I had to take off one lippie because I did notice a little transfer above my eyelid after a few hours. The color is a nice rich blackish-brown. Overall, really good stuff for a low price!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* gnippy on 7/21/2008 7:20:00 PM more reviews by gnippy

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This is a true gel eyeliner. It comes in a .11 oz jar that can be purchased at Sally Beauty for $4.49 w/a Sally Card and $4.99 w/o a Sally Card. The consistency is actually gel like. It applied smoothly without skipping or pulling. It goes on a little wetter than gel eyeliners like MAC, Bobbi Brown or L'Oreal but dries quickly. The pigmentation is excellent and the color is true to it's name. After 10+ hours of wear this still looked freshly applied. There was no transfer, smearing, smudging, streaking, or flaking. Since this isn't waterproof I don't know how it would be on the waterline. But if you want just as basic inexpensive gel eyeliner for your lids and under the lower lashes this is the baby. I used my brush from the L'Oreal HIP liner I got and it worked great. Any brush that you use for gel eyeliner would work though. I like this because there is a Sally Beauty right in my town so it is easily accessible for me. I did have trouble w/transfer on the L'Oreal gel liners and w/MAC & Bobbi Brown I have to make a trip out of down or pay for shipping so for me this is a great option. The Femme Couture gel eyeliner only comes in 3 basic colors right now - Black, Expresso, & Navy. I plan to get all three in the near future. I would definitely buy this again!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No




More Femme Couture products

More Eyeliner products