NYX • Stippling Flat Top Brush-B 07 • Makeup Brushes

rated 2.5(12 reviews)

Average Rating.2.5
Would buy this product again.33%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* seven12 on 9/20/2012 10:36:00 AM more reviews by seven12

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I can't remember exactly how much I paid for this brush (I've had it a few years now), but I want to say it was around $15. For the price, I am happy with it. I originally wanted to use it for foundation, but it sheds too much. I basically only use it for blush and highlighter or sometimes to lightly buff a finishing spray on. It doesn't shed at all when I use it for blending or powders/blushes. Because of using it with blushes, the bristles are stained pink, but the brush washes well otherwise and comes out fluffy and soft each time.


I actually bought a real MAC 187 around the same time I bought this one, and I reach for this NYX brush more often. I think it has held up a lot better over time than the MAC. My real 187 has a badly chipped handle and sheds every single time I use it. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this brush.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 redlipstick47 on 9/11/2012 11:01:00 AM more reviews by redlipstick47

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Medium Brown   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Shed like crazy, not as dense as I had hoped. Not a repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Elinush on 3/15/2011 12:28:00 PM more reviews by Elinush

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

worst brush, sheds and doesn't pack product

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MSEMR2010 on 3/2/2010 10:15:00 PM more reviews by MSEMR2010

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this brush for $7 at a beauty store, and it is nice and soft, but it sheds when I use it with liquid foundation. Now that I only use it for my powder blushes it doesn't shed and I like it much better. I have washed it once, and I have had no problems with it bleeding, but if it does, I will update my review. All and all, for the price I feel like I can't complain. It's not a terrible brush, and for someone who doesn't want to spend $40 on a MAC 187, this is a good alternative.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 KilluhXCee on 10/29/2009 2:05:00 AM more reviews by KilluhXCee

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I got this in a swap originally because I heard jinahchae on youtube say she loveeeeeees this because it's soft and it's amazing for "BLUSH!".I washed a dozen times and it has'nt bled not once (maybe I'm lucky).but yea....

anywho..I never once used this for foundation.I always just use it for blush and I look the effect it gives!<3 it always comes out natural and perfect <3

if your getting this for foundation idk if I could reccomend cause I have'nt really used it for that purpose,But if your getting it for blush it's a A+++++

update: don't like this anymore. towards the end I ended up dealing with bleeding (I take very good care of my brushes cause I want them to look like they're in mint condition) and the hairs were falling out slowly but surely and despite how much I try to moisturize the hairs.....it still became harsh no just save you're money and get yourself one from sedona lace cheaper then sigma but better then nyx

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 DianAdams on 10/29/2009 12:28:00 AM more reviews by DianAdams

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

All these bad reviews, and this is my favorite brush ever!!!! Makes my liquid foundation go on so evenly and covers everything. I also use it for my orgasm blush, and it makes it go on so smoothly. Cant live without this brush!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 BronzerBuster on 9/10/2009 11:24:00 PM more reviews by BronzerBuster

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Oh skunk brush I tried to dupe so I wouldn't have to pay over $40 for a MAC 187, how do I hate thee? You bleed worse than a stuck pig even after many washes, it's disgusting. Yes you are soft, hence my not giving you the worst rating. Yes, you can do the job for a mineralized finish and light bronzing so I will keep you and continue to watch you bleed. As soon as I find something better, you will end up being my back up in my car emergency makeup bag.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 o0linsey0o on 5/21/2009 5:36:00 PM more reviews by o0linsey0o

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I just can't spend the money on the MAC 187 so I bought this during the NYX 10th anniversary sale and I am so dissapointed! It bled ALOT when I washed it, and shed worse than my long haired chihuahua! I had also bought a stippling brush at my local stop N' shop for $4.99 it never bled nor shed (haha that rhymed) and i use it more than the NYX brush. Maybe one of these days I'll give in and buy the 187.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 artistsararose on 5/20/2009 12:05:00 PM more reviews by artistsararose

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

As everyone else has mentioned, I was VERY disappointed in this product! I bought it thinking it was going to be a well-worth-it dupe for the MAC 187 stippling brush. I got it on sale from the NYX website for 50% during their 10th Year Anniversary, which was an amazing deal! The price was great and the packaging was fine.

However, when the brush arrived and I tried it with some of my Revlon ColorStay liquid foundation, it shed like CRAZY! I tried washing it with some light shampoo, and it continued to shed and bled black dye! Dried, it still sheds.

I can't use this brush unless I want black bristles embedded in my foundation on m face! I'll be returning it today.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 deejahmu on 3/25/2009 12:15:00 AM more reviews by deejahmu

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

The Flat Top was meant to be a backup for my MAC 187... just so my 187 will have its beauty rest... This was actually not too bad. It shed like crazy, and the brush bled black a little bit. I washed it with baby shampoo about 2-3 times, and then with a stronger shampoo 2 times... after that it didnt bleed black anymore. It was also much more softer than before - which lessened the air-brushed effect.
The softness helped quite a lot with my skin though. I have highly sensitive skin, so if I use a brush w/ hard bristles, I get redness and rashes all over. This one had super soft bristles thank heavens. :) And also, because it is uber soft, I have less control over the stippling motions. It still works if you want an alternative for MAC, or if you are beginning to learn about stippling foundation or blush.
I will not purchase this again though.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More NYX products

More Makeup Brushes products