NYX • Echo • Lipstick

rated 3.3(16 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.37%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 coryrieken on 10/22/2012 1:18:00 PM more reviews by coryrieken

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I cannot imagine the skin tone this shade would complement. Perhaps Venusian or Martian? It's like putting khaki yellow-tan on your lips. It's slightly darker than my skin tone, which is medium light. I tried using it as a countour, but the base pigment of this must be white or a very opaque yellow - not sheer. I tried using it under brown eyeshadow - too creamy to substitute for primer. If I ever need to dress up like I have jaundice or severe liver disease, this might be good. I did use as part of my zombie makeup for a recent costume party. It came as part of a set of 4 I bought on sale from HauteLook, and I'm very glad I didn't pay full price. The lipsticks were supposed to be from the pink family, and 3 are very brown or light nudes (again, what species nude I don't know) and the last was a berry color (that didn't work with my skin tone either.)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Tresha on 2/17/2012 1:55:00 PM more reviews by Tresha

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Tan, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This Winter I went through two tubes of this amazing nude beige matte lipstick. It applies so well and doesn't ever look chalky or cakey! I hope this never gets discontinued! In the Summer I wear nyx Honey, but I think I will keep wearing this through out spring and summer too. It's the perfect true beige nude for me. I'm obsessed with Echo! Love it madly!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Italic on 8/17/2011 2:16:00 PM more reviews by Italic

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this tube along with NYX Circe, seeing from the swatch they provided that it would just be a darker, slightly browner shade of Circe, a backup in case Circe was too light. The color was darker than Circe, but I'll get to that point in a second. As for the formula, it is a lot less creamy than Circe for some reason, and the staying power was significantly better. However, the color was definitely not for me, matching my skin tone almost dead on. The tube is your standard lipstick tube, with an interesting pot of lipcolor at the bottom, STILL not sure what it's for! The smell is very floral and has a vintage musky feel, like a rose potpourri scent. Be VERY careful when buying NYX lipsticks, make sure you see a swatch other than the one they provide! I bought this lipstick thinking it would be a medium beige, but it ended up being more of a caramel with slight orangish undertones. In fact, the orange in the lip color really showed up in flash photography. However, for 2 dollars a tube, experimenting with NYX lipsticks is definitely a harmless and inexpensive way to find your shade without breaking the bank.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 ksmosley on 3/28/2011 6:49:00 PM more reviews by ksmosley

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is not a lipstick that you can just put on and go--it requires quite a bit of work. Yes it looks like concealor, makes you look like a corpse, and it virtually unflattering HOWEVER there is light at the end of the tunnel! Use it as a base (very lightly) to "cancel out" your lips. Then apply a pink tinted lipstick or lipgloss (my fav. is NYX smokey look) and voila--a pinkish nude much more wearable. Because its so smooth and pigmented a little goes a long way

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lucdiaz on 9/5/2010 10:09:00 AM more reviews by lucdiaz

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Black    

Formula is thin, but pigmented, wears off easily, and needs to be reapplied. The color is death on me (NC30). It is so yellow it makes my lips disappear. Not a winner from this line. However, I'm giving it a 2, because it's cheap, and moisturizing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* divadenah on 9/5/2010 1:50:00 AM more reviews by divadenah

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Dark, Warm   Hair: Black, Relaxed, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

yuck, you might as well put some concealer on your lips, but I can make this work just a little bit.I have to put just a dab of this on, with a lot of gold gloss, and maybe some mac chestnut liner.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sunfish211 on 4/29/2010 8:25:00 PM more reviews by sunfish211

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I had to wear this one for a bit before I made my final review, but it grew on me. At first glance, this totally reminded me of MAC's Swinger lipstick. It's a light-medium nude shade with yellow undertones. A lot of the NYX lippies look a little different ON than they do when you see them straight from the tube. Wearing this by iteself washed me out, probably b/c my skin tone already has a lot of yellow undertones. I decided to pair it with NYX Cafe Latte round gloss. It actually looks really pretty. The gloss brought out a more nude gold shade that is gorgeous. I could see wearing this as an everyday lip! Lesson learned: Never judge a shade at first glance & straight from the tube. LOL GIVE THIS ONE A WHIRL! I totally underestimated this one BUT it just needs to be paired with a gloss. NYX makes a lot of nice shades but they really don't have a good TRUE nude to just swipe & go.

(For reference, I'm an NC25/C3 with yellow undertones)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Giannina on 2/23/2010 8:40:00 AM more reviews by Giannina

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Red, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

First time trying NYX lipsticks and I love their texture, they are so creamy, not drying at all, bought a couple just to try them and this is my favorite one so far, I really like this color on me. Can't believe I pay $4 for this only

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 BabyGirl228 on 1/20/2010 6:52:00 PM more reviews by BabyGirl228

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I did not like this lipstick it made me look dead! It does come in nice packaging!It seems to dark for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* laqueron1 on 12/17/2009 8:19:00 PM more reviews by laqueron1

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I like the consistency of NYX Lipsticks. Echo is definitely a dupe for MAC Siss. I like teaming it up with Revlon Mineral Lipglaze in Infinite Rose for a perfect Rose Nude lip (I'm an NC42 with very pigmented lips).

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More NYX products

More Lipstick products