Le Metier de Beaute • Classic Flawless Foundation • Liquid

rated 3.8(27 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.66%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 1 of 5 hurlyburly on 3/9/2014 6:57:00 PM more reviews by hurlyburly

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

It sits on top of my skin - you literally can see that I am wearing something on my skin, I am afraid even to touch my skin because of the fingerprints that would be visible on my skin whenever I wear this foundation!

Honestly with all my blemishes and unevenness, I look a hundred percent better "au naturel" than with this "fradulation" on my skin.

It makes my skin look oily, even during winter - It looks like my face is sweaty!!!!
I hate the smell as well - very chemical and artificial. Whenever I apply it, I always open a window just to get some fresh air.

Its definitely overpriced.

So if you wanna look like a sweaty mess who was just robbed by this company, then go ahead and buy this foundation!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ocdocdodcgirl on 12/22/2013 12:01:00 AM more reviews by ocdocdodcgirl

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Holy grail foundation!!! I have tried every foundation out there, my most recent was Armani LSF and this is so much better. I'm NC-30 and I got this in #7 (I like to cheat a little and go a little darker and warmer). This is perfect for my mature, combination skin. It gives coverage and yet still leaves a glow. I already ordered a back-up!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 voodoodolly330 on 9/1/2013 7:22:00 AM more reviews by voodoodolly330

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I had high expectations of this foundation since I've read about some raves about it, but it turns out to be a miss for me. It sits on the top of my skin rather than melt into the skin like many highend foundations do, just like telling everybody "Hey, look! I have foundation on my face! " Also it emphasize dry patches on my cheeks, which is horrible. At this price range, there are some wayyy better foundations on the market.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sitknee on 6/10/2013 4:48:00 AM more reviews by sitknee

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I'm NC20-25, and I was matched to #4. It's not a perfect match (nothing is, really) but it does well, and I like it better than #3 because #4 has a yellow undertone.

This foundation has SPF 8, which isn't very helpful, and it comes in a pump bottle, which is a bit hard to push and dispenses too much product. As for the price, you get the standard 1 fl oz for (not-so-standard) $68.

As someone with a good amount of redness and hyperpigmentation (acne scars), I have to say I think this foundation does a decent job of covering flaws. Definitely not full coverage, but an almost solid medium with some layering.
Random note: When I use my Cle de Peau concealer over this foundation, I find that the concealer oxidizes a bit. Might just be me though.

Generally, the more you use, the less natural you look. However, I find that even when I use a good amount of this foundation, it never looks cakey or unnatural. The finish is dewy, but not overly so, and the product does a wonderful job of smoothing everything out.

Unfortunately, while I do like the way this foundation looks, it just doesn't work for me. The reason is because it does not last on my oily skin. I could see it working on combo, normal, and definitely dry skin, but not so much on oily, and especially not without some mattifying products.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Rosee on 4/30/2013 3:54:00 PM more reviews by Rosee

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

I purchased this based on delicatehummingbird's review
http://delicatehummingbird.blogspot.com/2012/07/foundation-overview-21-le-metier-de.html

and she pretty much sums up my feelings about this product. I think its highly overlooked & under rated. I'm a NC20-25 and was matched by the SA to #4 but I should have stuck with my gut feeling and research because #3 is a much better match. It has a very appealing satiny finish and doesn't highlight my flaky patches. If I had anything to gripe about - please LMdB, change the pump! It's freaking hard to control! As you can see from my pictures above, a massive blob squirted out (while the KGD Aqua pump did a much better job).

PS: I have dry to combination skin. During winter, my skin tends to flake a lot.

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 hellokittybrock on 9/25/2012 9:34:00 AM more reviews by hellokittybrock

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I finally purchased this foundation after thinking about it the longest time. I did not regret my purchase. It is truly a beautiful foundation well worth its raves. But let me elaborate a little more. Texture wise it is lightweight. Coverage is more like light to medium. If you have tons to cover and dun like using concealer, most probably you should skip. Finish is luminous to matte. If you like a complete matte foundation, you should skip. Oil control is quite good. I have extremely oily skin. I still need to blot. But I am ok with this. Foundation is the most long lasting I have ever used. Definitely better than my Chanel mat lumiere which looks ugly after 8 hrs. This foundation last all day. At the end of the day it still looks beautiful. So who should buy this??? Anyone with relatively good skin, wants a luminous looking foundation, have extra cash to splurge (hey its LMDB!). Oh yes. I didnt breakout from this. I am Mac NC10 to 15 and used #1.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Deandra on 8/6/2012 3:16:00 PM more reviews by Deandra

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This foundation blends smoothly, lasts welll on my combination skin, does not feel heavy or cakey, and does not appear thick. It gives medium coverage (I use a sponge to apply or a foundation brush) to even out subtle imperfections and minimize redness. It does not exaggerate lines and the satin finish stays. If you have extremely oily skin you may not like it, but for normal or combination it is very good. It looks great when worn alone but contains no SPF. I don't think it combines well with the Hourglass Primer, which surprised me, but works with a lightweight sunscreen underneath.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 lipstickfashionista on 6/24/2012 4:02:00 AM more reviews by lipstickfashionista

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I tried a sample of this and definitely would not purchase it! Usually, I love this brand overall. In fact, I LOVE their lip gloss and their cleanser. I even gave their lip gloss five lippies and a rave review on this same website. So I was very surprised and disappointed with how much I disliked this product. It smells like glue, and it gave my skin this nasty, greasy appearance. I guess it just isn't suited for my particular skin type. I would tell other combination-skin girls like me to save your money and skip this one, when there are so many other great foundations out there.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 madneccy on 5/2/2012 2:01:00 PM more reviews by madneccy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I bought a sample of this foundation from Zuneta.com and omg its amazing. I got it in Shade.6 and it has very yellow undertones that evens out my skintone and makes it look naturally dewy. Its definitely medium coverage and buildable because I need a dime sized amount to cover my entire face for a casual day. Very good product but super expensive so I don't know if I'll purchase the full size yet.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* deliah008 on 12/4/2011 9:16:00 PM more reviews by deliah008

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I have been using Shade No. 1 for the past five months, and granted, while it is not a perfect foundation, I think this is one of the few ones with the least flaws, at least for me. Since using this foundation exclusively, I have not broken out (I tried the same skin care routine with my Chanel Mat Lumiere, and whenever I'm using the Chanel, there were minor breakouts). Le Metier de Beaute is a little expensive, and it is not a full coverage foundation. I normally use a SPF moisturizer, pat, and then wait 1 to 2 minutes before apply Le Metier with my fingers. This one coat lasts 8+ hours with no touch up, and no powder needed. Granted, if I go a little heavy on the application, it does look cakey, so it's best for a no-make-up look rather than a full-coverage look. When I want more coverage, I wait for the first coat to set, and then apply a coat of my Chanel foundation powder on top, which is less heavy than two coats of liquid foundation. For those who want a truly matte look, this foundation is not for you - this is semi matte at best and is quite dewy.

Essentially, whether this product will work out for you will depend on your skin. I have used MAC's Studio Fix Fluid and Laura Mercier Silk Creme Foundation (as a reviewer mentioned below), and both of these broken me out badly. The Laura Mercier Silk Creme is not something I can imagine teens (18 yrs or younger) wearing, as it is very heavy and oily. I don't think Le Metier de Beaute's formulation is very heavy - yes, it is heavier than Nars Sheer Glow and many sheer foundations, but Le Metier goes on very sheer.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Le Metier de Beaute products

More Liquid products