MAC • Cockney - Euristocrats • Lipstick

rated 4.6(29 reviews)

Average Rating.4.6
Would buy this product again.82%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 AnnaGee on 6/18/2014 6:36:00 PM more reviews by AnnaGee

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Other    

Beautiful, comfortable red. Almost luminous but subtle and soft. A real find.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tsh82 on 2/2/2013 1:15:00 AM more reviews by tsh82

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

now im not a red lippy girl. but i wanted something vibrany but not too bold for an everyday lip. i have 2 red lippies from nyx raisin and chaos but theyre like vampy bold reds.
i have nc30 skin and natural plumish lips and i was looking at all the reds and most of them are the highly pigmented ones (meaning bold).
so the ma chose cockney for me. see im not a fan of lustre but for this one shade, it was love at first sight. i agree with the 2 reviewers below me, its a nice vibrant red but not too bold and its almost like a touch of red that you can wear everyday :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Victoriajane89 on 10/4/2012 5:31:00 AM more reviews by Victoriajane89

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

This is a great colour, as you can build it up to a darker red or keep it natural with one coat. Looks great on my skin and is good for my dry lips. The colour doesn't last forever but then not many lipsticks do. Will definitely buy again and may have to check out the other colours!
LOVE LOVE LOVE!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* stls on 3/8/2012 8:24:00 PM more reviews by stls

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I was given cockney as a present. I thought ''Oh, well, pretty but it's just another red lipstick'' since I don't do red lips often and already have- and LOVE- Ruby Woo.
Boy, was I wrong!
It looks bold and bright neutral to cool red with tiny gold flecks in the tube but on the lips goes on sheer at first.
Looks like melted strawberries- vibrant and juicy!
The gold flecks are not really noticeable, but they contribute to the overall glow. I find the glossy finish very beautiful- it's a good alternative if you don't like the sticky feeling of lip gloss like me. I consider it moisturizing too.
I have to confess I always wanted to be one of those women that wear red lipstick every day but since I'm pale it's too in-your-face in my case. Not any more, though! For me it's the perfect everyday red- noticeable, face- brightening but not over the top.
It's also low maintenance, since it's sheer it's rather forgiving if you don't achieve the perfect application unlike me beloved Ruby Woo who NEEDS perfect exfoliated lips, lip liner and precise application to look decent. I can reapply cockney even without a mirror!
Last but not least, the color is rather buildable, so you can get bold glossy red lips with a few more swipes.
The only reason I can't give 5 lipsticks is cockney -like all lustres- wears off too quickly. But still, worth the trouble.
Love this one- it's so unique!


Edit: Unfortunately I don't think I would repurchase. I loved the result of this lipstick but not the longevity. I found that Dior Addict Extreme in Fireworks gives the same lovely sheer buildable red glossy effect (maybe a tinge warmer, without the flecks) with 5x lasting power. It's more expensive but I think I'll go with this one next time...

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 cmars29 on 2/17/2012 10:50:00 PM more reviews by cmars29

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other, Medium   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is a really pretty red, not to dull and not to bright. It's a great daytime color. It has very tiny flecks of gold but I don't even notice.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ukarmencb on 9/14/2011 9:48:00 AM more reviews by ukarmencb

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Black    

Beautiful colour, very wearable for daytime. Itīs buildable to your taste and its shade is gorgeous. Iīll buy it again for sure.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Mandibulo on 6/19/2011 11:30:00 AM more reviews by Mandibulo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I absolutely love this lipstick. I am so not a red lipstick person. I'll go for the pin-up look once a year. When I do wear lipstick in general, it's either nude or pale. But this! This is strawberries in a tube. It took me so long to get around to purchasing it because of its "orange undertone" I'd heard everyone talk about. Well I haven't found that to be true. If anything, I find it a rather cool and forgiving red. I've been wearing it every day, two-three swipes, with just concealer and blush. It's so wearable, it doesn't steal the attention from the rest of your features and it livens up the entire face. It looks like my lips are snow-whitey, juicy and youthful. This is a red for those who fear reds. It goes on so sheer but it's also buildable, however it's not the right one for an original retro diva look. This is more like a toy-red, the kind you would allow a young girl to wear out if she wanted to play grown-up. It's mainly my summer red, to go with my tan skin and more laid-back and effortless looks (no lip-liner and other formalities), but it also looks amazing on my pale winter skin. Recommended! Will repurchase.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Bindi7 on 5/23/2011 11:33:00 AM more reviews by Bindi7

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I went to the MAC Counter a few weeks ago looking for a red that would suit my olive skin tone (NC37 in studio fix fluid at the moment). This is spot on.. if worn alone it is a deep red on me - but not at all blue or pink - just red - if that makes sense! Also, when worn alone it gives that dramatic effect - perfect for nights out. I like to mix mine with CB96 (coral/orange with gold) which for me gives a wonderful bright coral - red that i prefer for my warm skin tone. I would definitely recommend this to ladies who have tan/olive skin tones who are scared to wear red.. you will love it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* CarlaN on 5/14/2011 12:07:00 PM more reviews by CarlaN

Age: 44-55   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Cockney is a lovely sheer strawberry red, great for summer.

Cockney *is* similar to Ladybug, but not identical. Cockney is a little brighter, a bit less "blue."

Either can tend to go slightly pink on me, but that's just a problem I have with red lipstick.

Cockney is pretty, though, and feels light and moist on the lips. I like it with a bit of Cherry pencil, or maybe a clear liner.

It's true that Cockney doesn't last well, but I more or less expect that from a sheer formula like this.

I'd probably buy Cockney again, but I'm not absolutely sure, since I have so many reds.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Raychxelle on 2/28/2011 2:49:00 AM more reviews by Raychxelle

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

This is MY red I've been searching for. I'm super pail with prominent facial features (big full lips, prominent nose, etc.) and any red I would try just looked like way to much for my facial features. I stopped by my MAC today just to pick up my essentials - brush cleaner and some more Lingering eyebrow pencils and Cockney happened to be sitting in a spot where it was sitting by itself and looked like it was just calling my name to try. It had to have been the 10th red I've tried in about a month and the minute I put it on in the mirror - WOW. I let out a little exciting scream I was so happy I FINALLY had found my red that suits me. I agree with some of the reviews on here how it's a sheer lustre, that's actually the exact words that came out of the MAC employee that was helping me but it's definitely one of those classic red lipsticks one cannot go without. It has almost an orangey red look to it which I think is why it suits my face and complexion even more-so then a typical brick or deep red hue. Because the formula on this is a lustre (my favorite) it's definitely not drying and I even notice a slight very minimal shine after I've applied it. If you haven't found your perfect red yet and you have similar facial features as I do with a fair complexion, trust me - you NEED to try this. I guarantee you will fall in love with it like I did today. It's the perfect red.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Lipstick products