Essence of Beauty • Deluxe Duo Set for Face • Makeup Brushes

rated 4.1(40 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.72%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 breeolvera on 3/23/2013 10:17:00 PM more reviews by breeolvera

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

I love every single one of these brushes. I use them over any MAC brush. I use the foundation and concealer brush just for concealer because I like to apply concealer with a small brush then blend it with a foundation brush. I prefer my real techniques stippling brush for foundation. The blending brush I use to contour my jaw line. The eye shadow brush is the best brush ever for contouring my nose. And the blush and powder duo are my favorite! I use the powder brush for contouring my cheek bones and highlighting my cheek bones and nose bridge. The blush side for blush of coarse Lol. The blush and powder do shed for like two weeks...about 2 hairs every day but I haven't had and shed since.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 s0m3ra on 1/20/2013 12:59:00 AM more reviews by s0m3ra

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I really enjoy using these brushes. I have yet to experience any shedding. The brushes do apply the makeup very nicely. My biggest complaint with these brushes would be I don't know how to store them because they are double sided. But that is not enough to keep me from using these brushes or recommend them to someone else.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Chloeclover on 10/14/2012 9:40:00 PM more reviews by Chloeclover

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I really love these brushes but after a few months, the glue holding the two ends wore off. So now I have the brushes separated, which I do not mind. But might as well have bought the ones that aren't dual ended. The blush and powder duo sheds a ton ;_;!!! I really like the concealer and foundation duo (which ended up being separated). I also really like the eyeshadow duo which I find great for contouring my nose, lol.... I would say the brushes themselves are pretty decent but the double ended idea is a no no especially if the glue can't hold them together.... I won't be re-purchasing, possibly just the foundation brush by itself, which I love

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 JanetA7X on 12/21/2011 11:01:00 PM more reviews by JanetA7X

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this two weeks ago and the brushes I like are the Foundation/Concealer, the Blush side, and the Eyeshadow side. I don't like the Powder side of the brush because it's too small. The blending brush is okay. It's soft but it's too big. Overall I'd say I like the brushes.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 MrCelestialSoul on 8/27/2011 6:24:00 PM more reviews by MrCelestialSoul

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

the brushes last for a long time so i dun needa buy another. i only like the foundation brush and concealer. my powder and blush brush sheds like crazy even after i washed it. the eye brush is decent id perfer elf thats only $1. i wouldnt rly buy this again in the future even if the foundation brush dies out because i want only 1 of the 3 brushes so its a waste of money.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* raggie92 on 7/29/2011 9:53:00 AM more reviews by raggie92

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I don't love or hate this brush set, just because it works nicely for days I want to keep my make-up light.

Foundation/Concealer duo brushes: I like applying my Revlon Colorstay with the foundation brush and it gives me a smooth finish. It doesn't shed much but it could be slightly streaky. Nothing like fingers' warmth couldn't fix to blend it out. I'm not very into the concealer brush because I don't apply concealers very often unless I am going for photoshoots. And I personally prefer having a stiffer brush to apply cream concealer for my lips area. This concealer brush is very soft, and ideal to blend out concealer or streaky marks that foundation brush misses.

Blush/Powder duo brushes: This is my favorite brush duo to be honest, despite the negative reviews. The blush brush is fluffy enough to blend out and deposit the right amount of blush on my apples. And the powder brush, I use it more as a contour brush because it fit perfectly on the hollows of the cheeks. Swirl a small amount of bronzer or contour blush and apply the product on the hollows with small circular motions and you get really natural contoured face. The downside is that both brushes sheds rather badly during deep cleansing.

Eyeshadow/Blending duo brushes: I'm not a big fan of this duo, just because the blending brush is really too big and the eyeshadow brush sheds alot. I don't really use this brush set because I prefer using filbert brushes to pack on eyeshadows.

I wouldn't buy this brush set again, but I might reconsider to get another set for the blush/powder brush duo.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SChiara on 5/10/2011 5:43:00 PM more reviews by SChiara

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I'm not impressed with this brush set. I would say this is best suited for girls/women that are just getting into make up and would like to experiment with a foundation, concealer or angled blush brush. Three of the six 'ends' are very disappointing.The set contains the following dual ended brushes:
---------------
Blending & Eyeshadow
I don't use this brush personally. The 'blending' side (which is the bigger side) is of low quality; it's flimsy and too soft. It's certainly not suited for blending out products. It might be used to apply powder highlighter because it's so soft and flimsy. I personally feel that it's too awkwardly shaped for that purpose - it might be better if it was a little more tapered or less wide.
The 'eyeshadow' end of this brush seems to be made of the same soft bristles, but it's a little more dense. I don't use this end either because I find it too big for an eyeshadow brush. It could be used to blend out eyeshadow I guess - but why not just make it domed fluffy brush then? This brush is not stiff enough to apply eyeshadow either.
----------------
Blush & Powder
I don't have anything bad to say about the shape and feel of the 'blush' side of this brush; it's very comparable to the Mac 168. I prefer using a regular (not an angled) blush brush, so that's why I don't use this much either. It's definitely the best brush 'ends' of this set though - together with the foundation and conceal 'ends'.
I'm not happy with the 'powder' end though. It's stiff and pretty dense, so I thought it might work for contouring purposes. The problem with this brush is that it's too stiff. The bristles feel cheap and rough to the touch - very different from the feel of the 'blush' end. This brush end scratches my face, so I never use it.
----------------
Foundation & Conceal
When I first started using this dual ended brush I was very excited; the 'foundation' end is dense and not flimsy at all. It's comparable to the Mac 190, only denser (which is nicer, in my opinion). It applies liquid foundation very well.
The 'conceal' end is similar to the 'foundation' end, only smaller. I used this for under eye concealing and it worked well.
Sounds good right? The problem I have with this brush - and thus with this set - is that the construction of the brush is very poor. After only using this brush for about 2 months (not every day) and washing it about 4 times, the handle completely fell apart. Both the 'foundation' and the 'conceal' end started getting loose from the wooden handle. Now I'm left with three parts; two iron parts with the foundation and conceal brush stuck to them, and a wooden handle part. Not good.
---------------
So this brush set basically disappointed me on two points. First, half of the brush ends are unusable in my opinion, because of very poor quality. The 'blush', 'foundation' and 'conceal' ends feel and work very nicely though. The second reason I'm disappointed with the set is because of the extremely poor construction of the handles. My Foundation & Conceal brush fell apart after only using it for 2 months.
---------------
My advice: skip this if you already own quality brushes or if you have the budget to invest in better quality. I got it for about 3 euros on Ebay, so this might work for make up newbies who want to try out different make up brushes for cheap. Also, if you're on a tight budget and like the idea of the 'blush', 'foundation' or 'conceal' ends; go for it (but get a tube of glue just in case)!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 tightkitty on 2/17/2011 4:53:00 PM more reviews by tightkitty

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan   Hair: Brunette, Coarse   Eyes: Grey    

I got the pack that contained 3 brush duos including a foundation and concealer brush, eyeshadow and blending brush, and blush and powder brush. This is a great set for a beginner.This set of brushes has everything you need to create the perfect face. There's a foundation brush, one for concealer, a mascara comb, a blush and bronzer brush, a powder brush, and an eye shadow brush (one side is for contouring and the other is for the lid). I really like the eye shadow brush because you can use both sides to get whatever look you want.Anyone starting out in make-up wanting some affordable, yet quality brushes...this is it. I use the foundation, concealer, and angled blush brush more than any of my other brushes The foundation/concealer brush WAS my favorite the concealer end did fall off but I had this set for a year or so. It was still worth the price and a very good deal. I did love this set alot but I will not repurchase since I just need a new foundation brush and not the whole entire set again although I do recommend it esp for beginners looking for a decent inexpensive set.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 pinkrose838 on 12/19/2010 6:20:00 PM more reviews by pinkrose838

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

Love the concealer and foundation one, does everything I expect plus a little bit more.
The angled blush one, on the other hand, sheds pretty bad (one or two hairs every wash) and the other side is great for powder cheek highlights.
The angled shadow brush is pretty nice, but the other flat topped side is pretty much pointless.

The one I bought came with a shadow blender, but it's pretty scratchy and sheds every time I wash it.

EDIT : ok, i officially hate these brushes... first off, 2 of the 4 brushes have fallen apart, resulting in me having to glue the ferrules back on. Also, while washing the angled blush brush, i was able to literally pull chunks of hairs out of the black side, not to mention how scratchy these blushes are.

i would not recommend these brushes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 mangopancake88 on 10/22/2010 10:40:00 AM more reviews by mangopancake88

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I got the pack that contained 3 brush duos including a foundation and concealer brush, eyeshadow and blending brush, and blush and powder brush. This is a great set for a beginner.


They are soft, a decent size and do the job. Unfortunately, all the brushes except the foundation and concealer brush duo and eyeshadow brush SHED. I've only used them a couple of times so I'm very disappointed in the quality.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Essence of Beauty products

More Makeup Brushes products