Tarte • Lash Hugger Mascara • Mascara

rated 3.5(50 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.52%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 xxFebruaryxx on 4/24/2013 12:18:00 AM more reviews by xxFebruaryxx

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I loved this mascara, it didn't irritate my eyes and made my eye lashes nice and long. Only complaint is that after using it for a couple months it started to dry out and clump.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Jexka on 4/7/2012 3:10:00 AM more reviews by Jexka

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I received this as a gift a while back and I was really excited to try it out. I had heard a lot of good things about this mascara and I really loved the aluminum packaging. But this mascara really fell short in performance.
This seemed promising at first. The formula wasn't thick and goopy, but it wasn't thin and watery either; it seemed just right. I also liked the shape of the brush, that kind of hourglass shape that's slightly thicker on the ends and thinner in the middle. Brushes shaped like this have worked well for me in the past. I noticed this smelled a little like chocolate though. Weird, but not really off-putting.
But when I applied this, pretty much nothing happened. It lengthened my lashes the tiniest bit, but that's all. I tried playing around with this the next few days, doing different techniques and adding more coats. But still, nothing. No curl, no volume, not enough length to be noticeable to anyone but me, not even rich color. Needless to say, I was really disappointed because I really wanted to love this stuff.
The two best things about this are the matte-feeling, purple aluminum packaging and the fact that my lashes felt super soft after applying this. But honestly, a cute tube and soft lashes won't make anyone come back to a product.
Maybe if you like very, very natural looking lashes you'd like this. But if you like any sort of oomph or drama, I wouldn't recommend this. I think Tarte might actually be discontinuting this, because I can't find it at Sephora and it's on Final Sale on Tarte's website. Hopefully they release a better mascara.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 BayBayFay on 7/31/2011 10:08:00 PM more reviews by BayBayFay

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

It's environmentally conscious but other than recycled packaging; I don't know what else qualifies here.

It went out smoothly, no smudges and more importantly: didn't run. The 1st time I used it, I saw a movie which made me cry and it didn't run. For the price, worth it

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 perosell on 7/21/2011 11:26:00 AM more reviews by perosell

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

My eyes are really sensitive to all sorts of products, especially mascara. I usually can't use the cheap, drug store brands bc they make my eyes burn pretty bad.
I've tried Smashbox, Benefit, Stilla, Estee Lauder, Clinique, Ulta, Too Faced - all ended up causing irritation. And for the pricier ones that was really frustrating!
So I went on a hunt to find a mascara that was good for sensitive eyes and read several blogs/reviews recomending Tarte.
So I bought this mascara, and fell in love.
I have been using it for 2 months + and it has not caused any irritation.
I love the way it makes my lashes look and does not seem to clump near as bad as some of the similar priced mascaras.
It wears all day and seems to do pretty good in high humidity. I don't end up with flakes everywhere either.
Comes off fairly easy at night when I use a face wipe similar to Neutragena's.

I would recommend it to anyone and everyone, regardless of how sensitive their eyes are.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 oingoboingoqueen on 5/6/2011 6:49:00 PM more reviews by oingoboingoqueen

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I tried this mascara as a sample but ended up falling in love with it. This mascara leaves my eyelashes thick, dark and soft without having the dreaded clumpy spider eyelashes. I would it if the mascara were glossier but other than that , it's a great mascara.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 melanieschmidt on 1/7/2011 7:28:00 PM more reviews by melanieschmidt

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

While I do love this mascara, the only problem is the removal. I cannot seem to get it off! It's dark and thick and makes my lashes pop, but I feel the struggle to remove the mascara makes my lashes brittle and sometimes I lose some, therefore I cannot repurchase :(

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ACupOfGreenTea on 12/29/2010 12:30:00 PM more reviews by ACupOfGreenTea

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

+ It's a bit early for me to be writing this review since I've only had this for about two days, but I felt that I liked it enough that it deserved some commentary. I'll add other noteworthy finding later. :P

+ At $18 USD, this isn't terribly expensive compared to other high-end mascaras (such as Dior, Bobbi Brown, YSL, Lancome, which are all $20+ USD), but for younger, novice makeup user like me (though I've tried more mascaras than I own each makeup product), it's not something I can afford on a regular basis, which is why I gave it a 5 out of a 5 (1 being "dirt cheap" and 5 being expensive) on the price scale when rating this.

+ I gave the packaging a rating of a 5 out of 5 because it's a beautiful matte dark purple tube that's made from recycled aluminum. Not only is it environmentally friendly, but that it feels nice, durable, and weighty (at least, it sort of is when it's brand new).

+ In general, I found the formula to be similar to that of the Maybelline Full 'N Soft thin and runny but the LH is a bit "drier." This product contains "skinvigorating ingredients" such as water, olive esters, rice bran wax, carnauba wax, beeswax, and mineral pigments, but like I said before, this review is a bit premature so I can't say much about its conditioning properties yet.

+ The brush is also similar to the FNS, save that the (full size) bristles are bit more densely packed and the brush has a slight hourglass shape like the Bare Escentuals Buxom mascara, or that it has a smaller "waist" than the rest of the brush.

+ For reference, I have a a full lash line with long, but fine, straight lashes that can never hold a curl. From my first application, I can see that one coat of the LH mascara definitely gives me length, more so than the FNS, but a bit less than the Neutrogena Healthy Volume, another drugstore mascara. Like the HV, no volume that I can see, just longer and more fluttery lashes.

+ The formula is thin and dries quickly following application, which reduces the likelihood of clumping. I wouldn't say that this is the kind of mascara that tends to clump, however, I do get teeny, tiny clumps at the ends of some of my lashes.

+ As for it's lasting power, suceptibility to smudging and flaking, and ease of removal, I feel that it's the formula light, thin,dry, and quick-drying that contributes to its lasting power and how it really "hugs" your lashes and stays there without flaking. This doesn't mean that it takes a heavy-duty cleanser to remove; on the contrary mild soap and water should suffice.

+ I'd probably wouldn't buy it again only because it's kind of mediocre. This definitely isn't a contender for being my HG mascara, but this is not by any means a terrible product either. If anything, I'd re-purchase only for the packaging.

+ Overall, I'd recommend this product for someone who loves natural-looking lashes, anyone who wants an eco-friendly and/or vegetarian product (I am no chemist and have no background in this area, so as far as I know, the only animal-derived ingredient is beeswax), and/or of course, someone who loves mascara. :)

+ I wouldn't recommend this to anyone who is looking for big, dramatic lashes or anyone on a budget but may be looking to splurge a bit on a higher-end product but not sure if they would like it. If you want a more economical alternative, try the Maybelline Full 'N Soft, which has about a third of a price tag and can be found in more easily accessible locations.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lhalvor on 11/7/2010 6:24:00 PM more reviews by lhalvor

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I love this mascara, not only is ethical in every way (minus beeswax), it actually is a great mascara.

I wish I could give this product a 4.5 rating, the minus .5 is due to being not-vegan. Since vegan mascara is very very hard to come by, I will buy this again.

I think the packaging is smart, it's recycled. Thank goodness to, in reality all packing should be using recycled materials. This mascara is an example that it can be done.

Tarte is a great company. They have a good range of vegan options, certified cruelty-free and have good quality stuff.

As a consumer, buy Tarte and please contact them and commend them on their ethics. Also encourage more vegan products, specially mascara and lip colour and request that more packing be recycled.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 vstpink on 11/5/2010 2:22:00 PM more reviews by vstpink

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

One of my favorite mascaras.
Okay, to begin, it is a bit liquid-y, but not too much. At the tip on the wand, there is always dab of it left, which I rub against the tube. I actually read that doing that dries out your mascara faster. However, it does NOT smell good. I mean, it isn't an over-powering scent, but if you bring it close enough to your face you get a whiff. I think that's because it doesn't have synthetic fragrances.
It gets a good job catching all my lashes and doesn't clump. It also does not flake off or smudge since it dries relatively fast. I have naturally long, dark lashes, so it looks very natural.
The packaging is good quality.... it's recycled aluminum (which I'm glad for... I've dropped it on more than one occasion ). It's a lot of product for, I think, 19 dollars (the life span of mine is 3-4 months, and the sample lasted me 3 months, since I didn't use it as often).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* miafrush on 10/15/2010 9:48:00 PM more reviews by miafrush

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

pros: this is a vegan mascara in an eco friendly container and it adds volume
cons: the cost is 18 dollars, it dries quickly so it can flake while you are trying to layer it on and it doesnt curl my lashes or lengthen them much

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Tarte products

More Mascara products