Laura Mercier • Loose Setting Powder - Translucent • Loose Powders

rated 4.0(47 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.70%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 nosemajaras on 1/14/2015 3:54:00 PM more reviews by nosemajaras

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I have had this product for a very long time. One of my very first "high end" purchases. One of the girls at sephora suggested it and I purchased it without doing any research of my own. I got home and my first instinct was to out it all over my face. Which of course was a mistake. This was way back when I hadn't discovered the importance of filled in eyebrows lol. It sat in the dark depths of my makeup drawers for quite sometime until one day I decided to give it another shot. After many hours of watching YouTube tuturials I was ready to give in another shot. Now I only use it for setting my under eye concealer which works perfectly. No creasing occurs if I time the application of this perfectly. The reason why I wouldn't repurchase this is because I really want to try a different setting powder and I'm trying really hard to hold off on purchasing another one until I have finished this one.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* HunterGray on 1/11/2015 12:27:00 AM more reviews by HunterGray

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

I love this setting powder, both for its natural finish and its oil controlling abilities. It has more of a satin finish than a truly matte one, so it looks like skin. As long as I don't overdo it with the powder, I don't get flashback in pictures. It's very finely milled, but may seem a bit "thicker" than other silica based HD powders that are popular right now. Don't be fooled, this powder is equally as invisible on the skin, and even better at oil control in my experience. I've had success using it under foundation, over foundation, to set undereye concealer, as a base over eye primer, to mattify lipsticks, and even just applying it on my bare face to take down a bit of my shine on no-makeup days. My skin is dehydrated, which means it's dry and often flaky on the surface, but I still have a ton of oil. This keeps my shine at bay all day, with minimal touch ups.

The pot is huge, and even with near daily use I have barely made a dent in it over the past year. A little truly does go a long way. I find that the sifter holes are the perfect size for easily dispensing the right amount of product without a ton of it flying out and being wasted. If you want a satin skin-like finish (not too matte, but definitely not dewy) that LASTS, look no further.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 MimiPucheto on 12/8/2014 1:01:00 PM more reviews by MimiPucheto

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

The product is great. It's oil-control, gives silky matte finish and is long lasting. I've been using countless jars of this for the past 7 years in alternative with Nars light reflecting setting powder.

I took one lippy of because the quality of the packaging is so poor. All of which i had used broke at the rim. I don't understand why LM never fix this prob.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 laviniatea on 10/21/2014 3:38:00 PM more reviews by laviniatea

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is my holy grail setting powder! It looks amazing. My favourite thing about this powder is that it seems to have a blurring effect on blemishes. Even though it's translucent, I use it on my bare skin and it makes me look like I'm glowing. I love the way it feels on your skin too, it's so fine and you can't even tell it's there. I recently lost it, and it made me so upset, but I'm definitely going to repurchase!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kitty55 on 9/22/2014 4:15:00 AM more reviews by kitty55

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I have very oily skin and this leaves a natural, matte finish, but after using it for about a week or so, I was so disappointed that it broke me out. It also contains ethylhexel palmitate, which is known to cause acne.. Switched to "It Cosmetics" Bye Bye Pores translucent setting powder which is amazing!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Silverfox7 on 9/16/2014 9:10:00 PM more reviews by Silverfox7

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I wanted to love this. I really did. The powder breaks me out and makes me sneeze. The packaging is nice and her powder puffs are great, but the product did not work for me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 vhgg15 on 9/16/2014 5:28:00 PM more reviews by vhgg15

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I love this powder it's amazing,I'm considered NC 43 and this works beautifully on me,sets my foundation with no color changes,I only set my liquid foundation with this, it's truly something special

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 mskittynoir on 4/11/2014 10:24:00 PM more reviews by mskittynoir

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Sorry guys, this caused nasty breakouts for me. I tried over and over again hoping it was hormonal or another product. But today I stopped using it, and my skin is clearing up already and it hasn't even been 24 hours yet. Almost like it suffocated my skin, also it contains pore clogging ingredients, including cornstarch, can't imagine skin would like that. Soo if this doesn't make your skin get lil bumps on your cheeks, upper cheek under your eyes, then it's awesome, but I wouldn't know how this doesn't clog people's skin up. If your sensitive at all...I would STAY AWAY!!!!! Color is great though, finely miled, looked dewy and melted in skin, not matte.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mirameia on 3/31/2014 8:20:00 PM more reviews by mirameia

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Black    

I'm so excited abt this product, I logged in first thing in the morning to want to write a review on this. This finishes everything I put so beautifully, even BB creams or liquid foundations that I thought were too oily and sticky for me, I tried to set them with this loose powder and voila, miracle happens, my face wasn't too oily or sticky anymore as it gives a nice soft, powdery finish. What's even more amazing is that it controls oil and even after a day out, my skin still remains non-oily/non-shiny. I would repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* scs2dd on 3/27/2014 4:14:00 PM more reviews by scs2dd

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Red, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Price: 3 (there's a lot in there)
Packaging: 2
Buy again: no

This is an okay powder. I have slightly dry skin so I have to make sure to moisturize well or else it brings out flakes on my nose. I'm nc15-20 and I wish the powder appeared slightly more translucent as it manages to cover most of my freckles in one pass. While the finish is matte/dusty even with a thin layer when first applied (not a fan), I think it actually looks really lovely a few hours in after it's mixed with my natural oils (I feel like I need to reapply after 5 hours); at this point my skin looks even, fresh and dewy. However I'm not sure I'd buy it again just for that.
On the packaging: there are loose powder containers that make much less mess than this-- the holes are too large and too many, causing an avalanche of powder to collect in the lid so that I must shake it slightly before opening to ensure the drift has moved away from the lip of the tub. I can't imagine taking this bulky tub out with me and trying to reapply a public bathroom.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Laura Mercier products

More Loose Powders products