David Yurman EDP

3.7

18 reviews

55% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.6

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.6

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS



Age: 44-55

Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

For starters if you do not like rose fragrances there is a very good chance you will not like this one. I can smell a rose from a mile away and since it does not sit well with me or my chemistry I steer clear of it. I tested Yurman and the rose is just way to strong for me. While yes I do find it very well constructed and blended I am overpowered by the rose which seems to remain the same on my skin from start to finish. The rose is a more spicy rose with hints of musk and patchouli mixed in. The bottle is gorgeous stout and well made. I just can't seem to get past my childhood memories of those floral shaped rose soaps my Grandmother had in her bathroom. Therefore I just cannot seem to like this one at all.



on 2/9/2012 7:25:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I drug my husband to Nordstrom's and asked him to help me select a fragrance that appealed to him. Bearing in mind, he is usually uninterested in my perfume obsession-since it was my 58th b-day, he agreed. We sniffed and sniffed, paying no attention to price at all. He was "so-so" on everything, until the David Yurman. As soon as he smelled it, he said "That's the one!" I was impressed, here is a man who could care less if I wear any fragrance and he selects one of the most expensive bottles in the store! Not to mention the extreme sophistication of the scent (my opinion). I really love this fragrance, but am feeling a wee bit guilty over the price-but the lasting power isn't what I would have expected in a high end fragrance. I'll experiment with it a few days and then decide if it's a keeper. I will say this, David Yurman is not a fragrance for younger women. I just can't imagine my 33 yr. old daughter-in-law wearing it. I also got a nice little roller ball of Belle D'Opium, another mature fragrance. This is definitely something you would want to get a good sized sample of it and wear it a few days before investing in a bottle. It is definitely lovely-I'm still undecided, as it is a gorgeous fragrance. But I would definitely love to get a piece of David Yurman's jewelry LOL!

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.


on 11/13/2011 9:42:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

My "yes" I'd buy is provisional; this is wearable for me. There is pleasure in wearing it. BUT, I don't "need" it, and certainly wouldn't pay full price or near that. I'm not sure, in fact, that I would actually buy this, but would wear it if I had it.


More to the point, I respect this fragrance. It is a nice dark rose (brightened with peony) and patchouli scent, a little bit of fruit (citric to my nose). The patchouli in the base is reminiscent of that used in many modern fragrances (i.e. Narciso Rodriguez, Prada) but it is more resinous and growly, a little more of smoke and substance.


On my skin, this came on strong with good sillage then wilted. It was beautiful while it lasted, and made a really convincing argument for patchouli with me, something not many fragrances do. I absolutely don't think there's anything inherently declassee or suburban about this. David Yurman is beautifully composed. I could wish for a little stronger intensity, better last, but to be fair, some of the times i've tried this it's lasted forever. I'd rather give this 3 1/2 lippies, but in lieu of that, I've picked the "yes" option and am officially rendering my P-Ville protest at the haters on this. David Yurman is a lovely dark rose/patchouli fragrance that comes in great packaging. I'm officially interested, and will visit his other fragrances with optimism!


EDIT: HA! Awaiting final confirmation but at this point DY is a smellalike of DKNY Delicious Night (DN came first)! Patch/incense base, fruity/citric opening, smoky rose heart. DY lasts a little better than DN.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 8/13/2011 10:14:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

smells strong and masculine. After trying the sample I had to roll down my car windows then hurry home to wash it off.


on 7/16/2011 1:49:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love the smell of this fragrance, it is very expensive and doesn't last on me but an hour :(

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/28/2011 6:01:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This frangrance lasts forever on me, which is not always a good thing as it is very heavy and obvious. I wear it only for evening, never for a work day or for knocking around. I get the "rich" and "mature lady" references, it does evoke those images.


on 2/28/2011 10:28:00 AM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Dry, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Guess I am the older lady mentioned in one reviewer's statement, although I am past the age limit they mentioned, somewhat. ;-) I got a generous sample of this fragrance and I do find it very delightful from the first spritz to the last fragrant whiff. This is one of those fragrances that swirl around a person with great easiness and a sense of class beyond what most consider classy. I want to spray it again and again as soon as that first initial blast starts to tone down even though it still smells divine! This fragrance makes me want to do my makeup, dress in my best nightie, or go out on the town, clothes decked out, with all my finest jewelry, hat, shoes, coat, etc. It does not make me feel rich like some have said, but it does make me feel very much like a fine lady. There is something very calming and serene going on with this fragrance, and at the same time includes a feeling of content and security within. This is a must have for my own collection. It does cost quite a bit, but well worth the investment. I find the bottle design to be unusual but somehow classic in it's own way. It is heavy, clunky, and very different from what I think of as a beautiful bottle, but it is the ingredient inside that I long for. I think the bottle will look stunning next to some of my other favorite fragrances, and it will be an easy to find scent for sure.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.


on 2/27/2011 11:31:00 AM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I love this - it's a sophisticated, sensual floral chypre. I agree with other reviewers that very young women might not like this, however, it's certainly not an "old lady" scent. Someone who is in her late thirties, forties or fifties would be more likely to fall in love with this fragrance - I don't see anyone's great-auntie wearing it.
I read elsewhere that this smells of money and it does, but not in a vulgar way. The woman I see wearing this spends February in Palm Beach, shops for her clothes in Paris, and all of her jewellery is real, not costume. She doesn't flaunt her wealth and yet is is obvious that she does have money.

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.


on 9/16/2009 9:02:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

The notes are blended so that you cannot pick them out individually. I smell florals and woods but no note in particular jumps out. Very smoothly blended. Fragrance does not change much from start to finish. It is a little too mature for my taste. I prefer something more flirty. This is elegant and extra refine. However, I find Dolce & Gabbana Rose the One to be similar but with a prominent rose note and more youthful. DY on an older lady with a quiet demeanor. RTO on her daughter.


on 3/27/2009 4:16:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I find this fragrance to be a very masculine fragrance. I detect deep woods, musk, and red berries. Also, the bottle is very masculine as well. It's a heavy chunk of glass and stands mighty, proud, and tall and would look perfectly at home on any guy's nightstand. The red berries are very evident upon first spritz and slowly fade as the scent wears. The berries are replaced by a wonderful woods and musk scent. This fragrance makes me think of a majestic wizard. He's standing on a mountaintop looking down on all of creation. He has a deep, royal blue cloak on and it's adorned with many silver charms hes obtained from all his mysterious travels throughout mountains and catacombs of the world. He has mounds of graying hair and a massive beard. He has a satchel full of red berries to eat and twigs to start a fire with to keep him warm at night. The red berries and twigs have become one with this great wizard and they fill the mountains and his worldly travels with his scent.....David Yurman's EDP.

4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.


Popular Fragrances


Coco Mademoiselle
1359 Reviews
Chloe (EDP)
341 Reviews
Light Blue
1410 Reviews
La Vie Est Belle
156 Reviews
Daisy
544 Reviews


Back to Top