Kevyn Aucoin The Celestial Powder: Candlelight

4.5

44 reviews

84% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS

Talc, Polyethylene, Phenyl Trimethicone, Nylon-12, Phenoxyethanol, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, Butylparaben, Ethylparaben, Isobutylparaben, May Contain: Mica CI 77019, Titanium Dioxide CI 77891, Iron Oxides CI 77491/ CI 77492/ CI 77499, Carmine CI 75470


on 4/1/2015 2:13:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I purchased this, the other Celestial Powder - Starlight and the Sculpting Powder and while I think these Celestial powders are beautiful they are dupable and far too expensive. This particular shade is more of a yellow-white-neutral shade. These are very pigmented and don't look at all glittery and come off very natural. I just think I have SEVERAL other highlighters that are less expensive (Physician's Formula comes to mind) or as good, if not better (Becca and Bobbi Brown Shimmer Bricks come to mind, among others). The compact is absolutely tiny - like a single eye shadow, which is good and bad because they are extremely travel-friendly but don't seem like you get much product. I really think when it comes to highlighting/contouring, the real star of these powders is the Sculpting Powder.



on 4/1/2015 1:27:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

a very finely milled highlighter, highly pigmented, long lasting and looks very natural. no glitters, not overpowering, no fallout.

my only con about this - its tone is neutral to cool. for some reason, it's making the highlighted areas a lil ashy on my warm undertoned skin.

formula is really good but the tone is not for me. 4/5


on 3/17/2015 8:25:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

This is my second Kevyn Aucoin purchase. The first was the Sensual Skin Enhancer which took my breath away, mainly because it was super small, the wrong shade and completely baffle me. But I digress, The Celestial Powder is an altogether different kind of beast and a snap to use.

I'm an NC30 and initially thought this might be took light for me. I've actually found that lighter colored highlighters work better on me for some reason. I only use this to dust my cheek bones and my brow bones and it really does look amazing. It's not glittery at all and gives the same effect as Guerlain Meteorites which I love because they tend to impart that "lit from within" glow. I think the shimmer/glittery effect can be built up with this but since I'm a bit too long in the tooth to look like a Club Kid, I've never piled this on. I haven't noticed any particular smell and haven't had any adverse effects while wearing it.

I suppose the only negative to this product is the price. 0.17 ounces is $44 which can be startling but like most highlighters, very little is needed so one compact could last years. I would recommend this to anyone looking for a subtle highlighter sans glitter.


on 1/8/2015 3:41:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

This product makes no difference to my complection! Where is the glow? The illumination? What is this?
And it's full of talc!
Fortunately I have some cream products to impart subtle yet genuine effects like an Estee Lauder click pen and the brilliant Chanel concealer.
And they are not drying.
Save your money

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 4/21/2014 3:59:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

This is a fantastic highlighter , there is no glitter in it, only leaves you with a natural glow. In my opinion you cannot use this product as a finishing powder, you will end up look like a lighting bulb.I just use it on my cheekbones and a little bit on my forehead, above my eyebrows.you don't need to use much product.Only drawback for me is the packaging that includes a small brush, that is useless. But i think there is a newer version now with no brush at all. Brilliant!!!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 4/8/2014 3:41:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

That Kevyn Aucoin really did know things about make-up! This is hands down one of my most favourite highlighters and I have a few to pick from :) I only use this as a highlight on top of my cheek bones and couldn't really imagine using it as a finishing powder, on me it would be too sheeny/glowy for that.

This powder is best applied lightly with a fan brush and you really don't need much at all, the colour looks like nude champagne - but on my NC15 skin, just leaves a my skin but much better, angelic gleam, looking like you have a healthy glow from within coming through.

I have the newer packaging which does not include a brush - so its small but its all powder at 3.10g. For all you NZ and Aussie girls who will know if they are hunting this one down - KA is hard to find but this product sometimes pops up on strawberry.net and is also sold now from kissandmakeupny

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.


on 3/8/2014 9:41:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

This is my favorite highlighter. I am NW20 and this gives my skin a nice glow without be obviously glittery. I will definitely repurchase when I run out.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/18/2013 1:50:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

This is a very nice highlighter and was recommended to me by several people. The compact is nice, and the brush is not bad. It is pretty finely milled and a bit shimmery rather than glowy. The only problem on me was that it is just too dark for my pale skin. I'm a little less than NC15 and this just showed up as too much darker than my skin. I prefer Armani's Fluid Sheer in #2. I had to swap it because it just didn't look like a highlighter on me, but a light bronzer. I think for someone with a deeper-toned, warm skintone this would be awesome.

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.


on 12/5/2013 12:10:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This product is my holy grail highlighter. It is a beautiful champagne color that adds a beautiful highlight without being glittery or frosty. It is subtle, but effective.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 10/27/2013 4:06:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Beautiful!!!!!
After hours, I look perfectl! All because of this.
A little goes a long way! This isn't your run of the mill highlighter! You don't need to pack it on..so apply wisely! You're not supposed to look like a shiny pearl! This makes you have that angelic Oprah glow! That's worth every penny! I would pay double for this. Obviously you'll look like a clown if you put this all over your face lol like someone below! This is only applied lightly at the top of your cheek bones, a little below and above eyebrow arches, straight down your nose and chin, and cuspids bow..auuughhh so heavenly!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


Recommended for Normal Skin



Top Rated Kevyn Aucoin Products

image

Eyelash Curler

70 reviews
Back to Top