Estee Lauder • Sumptuous • Mascara

rated 4.0(287 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.71%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* maggiegault on 1/27/2015 7:25:00 PM more reviews by maggiegault

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Got a generous sample of the stuff with a fragrance order. Wound up loving the mascara more than I love the fragrance! This is a long-lasting, non-flaking, non-smearing wonderful bit of something that makes my lashes look beautifully dense and delicious. $30 for a full size? I'll economize in other areas, because I will *have* to have it when I'm done with the sample. Very enthusiastically recommended (and hey, cosmetic companies: this is why you provide generous samples to your customers).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kselin on 1/27/2015 2:35:00 PM more reviews by kselin

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

i recently started to use it but i absolutely love it. first i purchased 'estee lauder concealer and mascara duo' because it was cheap. then i realized that this was the best mascara i've ever used. i naturally have long lashes and i don't like mascaras that makes my lashes appear longer than they already are. this mascara gives a beautiful fullness to my lashes and it definitely doesn't smudge. i have the most watery eyes yet it stays with me all day long. it gives a nice, natural look. but if you're looking for the false lashes appearance, this product won't satisfy you.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 TenderTina on 1/22/2015 more reviews by TenderTina

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I use the short sample when my mom gets a 'package' from Estee Lauder. The BEST lifting and volumizing mascara I have ever used. I see a dramatic difference in my overall makeup application. Clumps a little if you don't take your time applying. If it wasn't $30 I'd buy it all the time.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* CharismaSL on 11/10/2014 11:00:00 AM more reviews by CharismaSL

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

This is a very nice mascara that volumizes and lenghtens my lashes but it does seem to clump my lashes together making them look spider-legs like. The other thing I don't like is that it doesn't maintain my curl, on the contrary it un-curls my lashes. I did rebuy this once but ended up returning it because i found my ULTIMATE HG mascara from Cle de Peau 'The Mascara' which does it all especially curls and maintains the curl for my asian, stick straight lashes while separating them and making them look so full and luscious!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 SiiLLYxMEE on 11/8/2014 10:09:00 PM more reviews by SiiLLYxMEE

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Curly   Eyes: Brown    

This mascara does it all. Lengthening, defining, volumizing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* 8ball on 9/11/2014 11:05:00 AM more reviews by 8ball

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This mascara is waaaay too wet. So much comes out on the wand that, even if I wipe it down, it's still too much to work with. All I get is stuck-together dark lashes. The formula is very smooth and dark - I'll give it that. But it's not particularly volumizing or lengthening, and not worth the work. Will definitely not repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* valmont32677 on 9/8/2014 6:23:00 PM more reviews by valmont32677

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

This came in an EL palette I got from Costco & it's wonderful!! I love EL products but I cannot often afford good quality makeup so it's a rare treat I do savor. I have been using this for awhile, I plan to extricate every last bit from the tube, even if that means holding on to it for a bit longer than is normally rec for mascara. I wish my little tube was waterproof, but it wears well, is dramatic & very black, very classy looking, I love this mascara! Separates, thickens, defines, & curls all very well. I can see why this is a best seller. I don't normally wear HE mascara so like I said this mascara is a real treat to wear :) :) :)

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 beetrootcheeks on 9/8/2014 5:10:00 PM more reviews by beetrootcheeks

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Like everyone else, I received a sample of this (in black) as part of an Estee Lauder gift-with-purchase. One swipe and wiggle through my upper lashes and my Diorshow Extase, Chanel Inimitable Intense, and YSL Babydoll mascaras became tragically and expensively obsolete. The Sumptuous mascara imparts weightless curled length, as if you just happen to have fluttery and immaculately spaced natural long lashes, and just enough volume without hard spidery thickness or ANY clumping, then wears all day without smudging or fall-out. I also apply to my outer bottom lashes most days. I hope you don't have to cry in public with this mascara on, but if you do, I can tell you anecdotally it won't run down your face. The formula doesn't seem to deteriorate or dry out over time, and I've been able to use my sample for longer than I care to admit. I plan to purchase the full-size in brown (my preferred color), and to try the waterproof version (only available in black). HG for sure.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Alexandra123Y on 6/15/2014 1:12:00 PM more reviews by Alexandra123Y

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I didn't quite like this mascara. I prefer a more natural defined look. And this product made my eye lashes stick together too much. Also too much mascara got layered on at a time; cleaning the brush was taking a long time.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 FATUME on 6/10/2014 5:51:00 AM more reviews by FATUME

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I'm a mascara junkie love them all be it a volumizing, defining or a lengthening mascara. This mascara is hands down the best of all the ones I have. It gives me beautiful defined voluminous long lashes without having them look too clumpy or over the top. It's perfect for casual and formal occasions. Funny thing happened to me when I bought it the first time, I initially got a sample and loved it so when I went to purchase it, as I was walking to the Estée Lauder stand I was going through my bag looking for the sample to show it to the sales lady, I didn't find it but before I could speak the lady handed me the mascara I wanted!! She said its their best seller and most of the customers rummage through their bags looking for the sample to show her so she knew what I wanted.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Estee Lauder products

More Mascara products