Unlisted Brand • A'kin - Rosehip Oil • Treatments

rated 4.4(28 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.89%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 2 of 5 completelynumby on 11/26/2013 3:34:00 PM more reviews by completelynumby

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I've been using this rosehip oil for a month now.

It's reduced my pimple scars, however it does clog my pores and I've been having a few breakouts, especially around my upper lip area and chin. And it's given me more fine lines under my eyes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* apgoh2 on 8/15/2013 9:11:00 AM more reviews by apgoh2

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Yes, so I finally decided to try a new brand of rosehip oil after being a loyal fan of Trilogy for over 3 bottles !

Texture wise, A'kin version of RHO has a deeper red hue to it, and the scent of sandalwood (it's a woody kinda scent, which does not bother me anyway). It sinks in pretty easily, and does not leave an oily cast on the skin. A very important tip when applying facial oils: Always warm 2-3 drops onto your palm, rub your palms together and gently pat (NOT rub) the oil onto your skin. Your skin should feel comfortable with a little hydration, not oily.

I reckon it's a slightly cheaper version of Trilogy's with comparable benefits. Would be keen to try other products from A'kin

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 paralleluniverse on 7/10/2013 7:02:00 AM more reviews by paralleluniverse

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Black    

This is a lovely product that has worked very well on me.
Pros:
- Does not cause break outs on acne-prone, combination skin (oily T-zone, relatively dry cheeks and occasionally peeling nose)
- Great moisturising properties. I use this as a serum before applying my favourite moisturiser Nivea Soft. The two products together = divine baby soft and spot-free skin!
- Makes my skin glow
- Reduces redness in cheeks
- Acne scars are slowly fading into oblivion!
- Cute little bottle with a dropper for hygiene.
- Lasts a long time. I've been using mine since mid-March this year and I've only used around 35% of it. I predict that I'll finish it in January next year which means it lasts around 10 months with daily use. The $20 you pay for this is very much worth it!
- The Vitamin A in RHO has helped to reduce and regulate the oil my skin produces. Vitamin A and Vitamin E (anti-oxidant) also work well as prevention against anti-ageing as they repair sun damage and collagen. In my case, I'm obviously too young to have wrinkles and fine lines but I do enjoy using this and knowing that I'm doing the best for my skin since prevention is the best cure. I've also found that it's helped to brighten and lighten my skin with consistent use!

Cons:
- Possibly the smell. I did not like in the beginning, but now I think it's a very nice pleasant, natural musky smell.
- Doesn't prevent break outs (hormonal, food etc) but is effective in healing acne scars

Methodology:
- I use the dropper to place 2 drops on both my cheeks, 1 drop on my forehead and 1 drop on my neck.

Repurchase? Yes.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 JessicaLauren24 on 7/3/2013 6:51:00 AM more reviews by JessicaLauren24

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I apply this product twice a day, 2 drops in the morning, before applying moisturiser and then makeup, and 4 drops in the evening after my shower.

I have found that his product has improved the texture and overall appearance of my skin. My skin tone appears more even and my pores look smaller. I have also found that this product has helped treat some minor skin irritations on my face, near my cupids bow and above my eyebrow.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 an0uck on 11/15/2012 8:54:00 PM more reviews by an0uck

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

So far, this has been a nicely moisturising treatment. Helps my skin to remain dewy, really solves the problems of looking dull and flat and tired.

Bought the smaller version (23ml) on sale (for $15) in order to trial it, and really glad I did. I was wary about buying into the hype around rosehip oil, but I sampled the Kosmea one, and that made me want to buy some.

I do think even oily skins could use these, as long as you were maintaining a good skin regime for your type. Whilst I have dry skin, the benefits in rosehip oil shouldn't just be limited to one skin type, so I think more people should try to understand their skin better in order to use oil treatments. This really will help you.


PLEASE NOTE: I would be wary of other (negative) reviews stating that a particular brand of rosehip oil is better/worked better than another. This is unlikely true, given that the primary ingredient of rosehip oil....must be rosehip oil! Changing the brand is quite unlikely to make a difference to the treatment you are getting.





_______________
Update 4/13: Changed this to 5 (from 4), it is really good for moisturising. I don't think it removes wrinkles, but if you put it on at night, you wake up and your face is so well moisturised any fine lines are harder to notice. Will definately have to get another bottle when this runs out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Alicetangerine on 9/15/2012 11:01:00 PM more reviews by Alicetangerine

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I have combination skin which tends to be oily and sensitive so I tried to stay away product contents oil as fas as I could.

My friend recommended A'kin Rose & Geranium Pure Creamy Cleanser & Toner in One to me when my face had several red/dry spots from Kiehl's brigtening cleanser and this Rosehip Oil came together as a freebie.

First, I wasn't so sure about putting this oil on my problem skin but I'm happy that I did. I use one drop and put it on my red/dry sports around my cheek at night before I go to bed and after couple days my red/dry spots have disappeared and skin around my cheek is back to normal, well-hydrated and not as sensitive as before.





    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MOUNTAINGIRL on 6/20/2012 4:52:00 PM more reviews by MOUNTAINGIRL

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I have very tempermental skin, redness and breakouts. I have tried 100's of moisturizers and cleansers. If I read an articule about something new I would try it. The only moisturizer I could tolerate was collegen capsules,but I still had some breakouts. THEN, I read a review for rosehip oil, got it my local Marshall's for a reasonable price and gave it a try. At first I really didn't notice much of a change, but then I noticed my face seemed smoother and clearer without makeup. I use 4 drops on dampend hands, with my face being moistened. Rub it in and then put on my sunscreen. I have noticed my pores don't seem so large , and most of the redness on my face is gone. It also helped with the small wrinkels on my face, I have been told I don't look my age (66), so I am sticking with this for now. But remember to keep this in the frig as it will go rancid easily. I have combo skin, so you might not need this much.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 dgsgeh on 5/20/2012 7:58:00 AM more reviews by dgsgeh

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Dark   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This stuff is amazing. I have oily skin with large pores, but this has really become an essential part of my nighttime ritual.

Since I've started using it, my skin has definitely improved -- my complexion is brighter, my old scars have faded, and I have less zits. And when I get lazy and don't apply it even once, my skin immediately looks poorer the morning after.

The smell is very earthy, but I like it because it doesn't smell fake.

The oil might be a little bit hard to apply, so what I like to do is spray Witch Hazel + Rose Water on my face and palms and then apply the oil when my skin is still damp. 4 drops is enough to cover my entire face, neck and upper chest area.

5 points for packaging because the dropper is very useful.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 kate1973 on 4/15/2012 5:59:00 PM more reviews by kate1973

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I loved Aubey Rosehip oil, which makes my skin glow but I wanted to try A'kin as they have quality shampoos and the Rosehip oil is a bit cheaper as the Aubrey one. What a mistake, this oil does absolutely nothing for me but sits on my face without sinking in. I wanted to finish the bottle as it is not cheap and I hoped it would start working for me. Looking in the mirror last week and not liking what I saw (dull skin with a shiny layer of oil, fine lines) I rushed to my laptop and ordered the Aubrey Rosehip oil again. I will use the A'kin on my hair and hands but it will not touch my face again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 PALEGRE3N on 12/7/2011 4:31:00 PM more reviews by PALEGRE3N

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Wow! Somebody gave this to me and I was completely oblivious to the benefits rosehip oil has on skin! I was taken aback this morning when my skin looked fantastic, there was much less acne, my skin toned was already noticeably more even, pores were smaller and overall my skin was just lovely to touch. I'm blown away that I got such great results using it just once, and sooo glad I tried it. It's a very orange oil and it left an initial tint on my face, but that dissipates quickly. The smell is a little peculiar but doesn't really bother me and it doesn't hang around long either. Anyway, I can't wait to see how this will benefit my skin in the longer term, will update : ) and I absolutely recommend this to everyone in the meantime!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Unlisted Brand products

More Treatments products