Aubrey Organics • Volumizing Camomile Shampoo • Shampoo

rated 3.3(8 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.50%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* paneradfisk on 6/28/2014 6:06:00 PM more reviews by paneradfisk

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I have quite normal hair, no unusual problems here. It's very long (reaches my bum) and dyed bright cherry red. I've had this hair color for several years and have after some trial and error come up with the best ways to maintain it - after all, red is the hardest color to keep.

I don't like to use shampoos with sulfates, since sulfates make the dye fade faster. That's the main problem for everyone with dyed hair, and using sulfate free hair products is the best solution. Either use a sulfate free shampoo or the Conditioner Only-method. Both methods require you to stop using products with silicone as well.

I used to wash my hair with conditioner only, which worked okay - I managed to clean my hair but it became dirty faster and created build up over time. Also it took way too much time, too much conditioner, too much rubbing and too much rinsing with water.

This shampoo is my first sulfate free one and I think it cleans my hair really well. I agree with my scalp feeling plasticy while drying, like someone here said, but that disappears once dry and after brushing. Also my hair always feel that way after washing with any shampoo. I really like the scent of camomile, it's non offensive and my boyfriend uses this too. I'm happy I can clean my hair throroughly and without all the fuss with the conditioner only method. My only complaint is the damn bottle and the damn cap. The bottle leaked even after I taped the cap for traveling.
UPDATE: Again, the effing bottle is leaking! There are travel sizes/trial sizes of many of Aubrey Organics products, maybe that would be better...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Rosse3685 on 1/13/2013 12:50:00 AM more reviews by Rosse3685

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I am actually kind of surprised by the negative reviews on this product. I really love this shampoo and conditioner. This stuff gives my hair amazing body and really makes it a lot thicker. I would say it is thin and may not clean your hair that well so a lippie off for that, but I found a solution for that- just add a few drops of tea tree oil (tea tree oil is a natural antiseptic/cleanser and is moisturizing) to it and wash your hair as usual let it sit for a minute or two and rinse. I found that doing this reduces the dandruff I have, and also helps so that I don't have to use as much shampoo. The conditioner is great too it isn't to heavy for my very fine wavy hair. Most conditioners, especially the ones with silicones weigh down my hair and make it look thinner than it is. For anyone who wants their conditioner more moisturizing just add a couple of drops of jojoba oil to your conditioner, and again let it sit and it's amazing! Makes your hair so shiny and healthy!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 tabbiecatt on 4/10/2011 11:54:00 PM more reviews by tabbiecatt

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

From time to time, I go on all natural product binges.... that being said, I have found Aubrey Organics to have a nice selection of quality products. Sometimes the product takes a certain sense of adventure and an open mind when it concerns packaging, scent, texture, etc.
The volumizing Camomile shampoo is not one of my favorites in their line, but I still like it. The scent is fresh (reminds me of a sunny field of flowers) and it does add more bounce to my fine hair. I think it also brightens my already highlighted hair a bit. It does leave my hair a little bit tangled- so a good conditioner is a must. I really like the GPB conditioner.
Aubrey's products sometimes take some getting used to, but I feel they are good for people looking to cut the chemical impact for both their bodies and the enviroment.
They are cruelty free too, of course! :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* rossjen on 3/26/2011 6:04:00 PM more reviews by rossjen

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Not my favorite shampoo of Aubrey's, I prefer their Blue Chamomile Shampoo over this one. I find that it cleans my extremely oily hair rather well, so points for that. The formula is quite a bit thinner than the Blue Chamomile, and it also didn't produce as much lather, so if these aspects are important for you, you might want to steer clear. The scent is a straight up chamomile tea, nothing complex, and quite nice. My hair is light and fluffy afterwards, but also feels a bit dry. I am still looking out to see if this will get worse or better down the line.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* dancer156 on 10/9/2010 12:12:00 PM more reviews by dancer156

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I think the Volumizing Shampoo and Conditioner by Aubrey Organics are fantastic!! It's taken me a long time to find a good natural/organic shampoo/conditioner. Most brands actually aren't that natural (they claim they are, but always end up slipping in some crappy ingredients). The brands that are natural sometimes add too much oil their product making my hair extremely greasy (the "detox" period never worked for me, haha).
I love how natural the ingredients are in this product, as well as how soft and shiny my hair feels afterward. The first time you use it, don't expect to be WOWed by the volume effects-- in reality, good styling products are what gives you volume (at least from my experience--I like Shear Miracles styling products). However, with continued use, the texture and clarity of your hair will improve, leading to better volume. I have found after discontinuing the use of products containing harsh chemicals like sodium lauryl sulfate, my hair has improved tremendously!!!
***For those of you with very oily hair, I would actually recommend Aubrey's BGA protein strengthening shampoo and cream rinse (these worked great for my sister-- her hair is much more oily than mine).***
If this natural brand doesn't work for you, I recommend either Shear Miracles (Wild Child volumizing), Just Natural Organic Care (Thicker Shampoo & Conditioner), or Annmarie Gianni's Tisane Shampoo & Conditioner. These are the other three natural brands I have been very pleased with. :)
UPDATE: 11/16/12: I have found a much BETTER natural shampoo/conditioner by Organic Excellence! Check out my separate review if you are interested. :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 melikai on 2/10/2010 7:35:00 PM more reviews by melikai

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

After AO's Blue Camomile shampoo, this one is my favourite out of the 3 shampoos of theirs I've tried (my least favourite was the Rosa Mosqueta). This is a bit more harshly cleansing than the Blue Camomile, and gradually gives a slightly golden tone to my hair. Makes my hair very soft and shiny. Has a slightly odd scent, I think because of the corn glucose in their coconut-corn oil "soap" (which is actually a mild detergent and not a soap at all), but the chamomile smell makes it okay.

For reference, my hair is fine, blonde and mostly natural (I'm growing out highlights), and is waist-length. My hair generally needs a lot of moisture, and dislikes protein. I only use this shampoo on my scalp area.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 annabluebell on 9/30/2009 10:31:00 PM more reviews by annabluebell

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

My hair is very very fine and fragile. It also gets weighed down really easily.

The first few times I used this shampoo, I absolutely adored it. My hair was very shiny and soft, and curls were present that i'd never seen before; I have naturally straight hair! I was in love. BUT, within a week, I noticed that all the luster my hair previously had possessed just vanished. I agree with the above commentor that it leaves a heavy residue after a while; truly a bad deposit of SOMETHING oily just sitting there on your scalp is not good for your skin. I found that I was beginning to get something resembling dandruff but rounder and yellower that stopped as soon as I switched shampoos. My hair became weighed down a LOT. Those lovely curls that I started to get disappeared, too. Ugh it was so sad. What a let down.

Far too expensive (I got mine for about 10-12 dollars) for the actual quality of the shampoo, which is not good. The packaging was strange; the bottle was too firm and too much comes out at once, keeping in mind that it is a very viscous substance.

I'm so disappointed. I've purchased four Aubrey Organics products (this, plus several facial care products) and they do not work for me at all.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* modegirl on 6/25/2008 6:25:00 PM more reviews by modegirl

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I had gotten the Blue Camomile shampoo and conditioner in a buy one get one free campaign, and they werent half bad, so when i saw this on Drugstore.com, I bought it. First of all, this bottle size is probably 30% bigger than the average Aubrey shampoo - strange.

I was completely unimpressed with this shampoo. Not only does it not feel like it's sudsing/cleansing, it also left a coating on my hair. Over time, I had build-up that wasn't that noticeable, but it always felt like my scalp was a bit plasticy. when i decided to sudse my hair at the gym one day (eew, i genreally hate gym shampoo), that feeling disappeared. it's my organic shampooo....sigh. i won't be buying again. I like the other Aubrey shampoos much more.


UPDATE: What I didn't use we tried on our Pomeranian, and it is perfect for her! We use it on her every week and it doesn't dry her skin, smells good, rinses clean and VOLUMIZING doesn't say the half of it. she is a giant puff.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No




More Aubrey Organics products

More Shampoo products