Redken • Real Control Thermal Resist • Hair Treatments

rated 2.9(14 reviews)

Average Rating.2.9
Would buy this product again.35%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 fiouu on 3/4/2013 12:22:00 PM more reviews by fiouu

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Silver, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I HATE THIS STUFF. Still I'm giving it 3 lippies because once I wash this crap out my hair is shinier and definitely stronger. Yay! My hair is bleached platinum blonde, very 'icy' so to speak. I make sure I don't have to put this stuff on whenever I wwant to have my hair floating freely everywhere, otherwise it looks like a pack of hay sticking out of my hair, so I just put it up on a bun and don't let anybody touch it, I mean, I don't want anybody with bleeding fingers because of my hair. Anyways, with the following wash it's all gone, and the result is shiny healthy and strong hair. The active ingredients are shea butter and castor oil (hence why the hair feels so dry), but I'm certain that they are actually nourishing the hair fiber. The only problems I have with this is, as I said before, the freaky texture and dryness, and the PACKAGING! IT PLAIN OLE SUCKS, it seems I can never get a hold of it, and the nozzle kinda drips, so it ends all slippery and stuff, UGH! And also, never ever EVER try to fix the dryness with argan oil or serums, because your hair will end up being a sticky frazzled mess

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 jenib on 5/2/2012 10:51:00 PM more reviews by jenib

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

Yuck! I bought this because I recently had very heavy blonde highlights put through my hair, and my stylist recommended the Real Control line plus using a heat protectant since I use a flat iron or large barrel curling iron almost every day. I HATE this stuff. Followed the directions (which are, simply, to mist on damp or dry hair, then do whatever styling) and it made my hair feel SUPER crunchy and gross. Not what I was looking for at all! I just wanted something to give my hair a little more TLC with the heat processing, but this stuff made my hair look and feel like I'd sprayed cheap hairspray all over it and then curled it. I took it straight back to Ulta where I bought it from.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 rorita on 10/8/2011 8:03:00 PM more reviews by rorita

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Other, Wavy   Eyes: Brown    

I thought I was going crazy... I went to the salon to get my roots done and the rest of my hair, other than being washed, wasn't touched but it felt like such crap. They used the thermal resist on me and I bought some for home. Until I read these other reviews I thought my hair was just ruined for some reason. This stuff makes my hair smell nice but makes it feel so crunchy and plasticy. It's probably frizzier than if I hadn't used it. It doesn't feel dirty, it just feels stiff and dry. I can see how it would make people's hair tangly. I just bought this bottle. Blegh.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Sara_1987 on 6/15/2010 6:57:00 AM more reviews by Sara_1987

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I like Redken products, but this sucks.
I have dry, frizzy thick hair. I use this on damp hair before blowdrying with a big round brush.
It made my hair tangly and feel coated. It's like my hair is dirty and I just want to wash it again.
I hate this product!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 ambereyes on 6/1/2010 10:27:00 AM more reviews by ambereyes

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Silicone hell. I really wanted to like this product but it made my fine, straight long bob a crunchy tangled mess. I applied it to dam hair before blowdrying (the brush got stuck) and ironing. My hair felt like plastic, and when I ran my hand over it, made that horrible plasticy noise! look at the ingredients - so many silicones. I will stick with Ciment Thermique!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Hollytron on 6/18/2009 2:35:00 AM more reviews by Hollytron

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I decided that I needed an alcohol free thermal protectant for my color treated, fine hair. Some lovely MUA gals recommended this and I am so glad that they did! I adore this product. It's very nourishing and doesn't fade my color treated hair or make it feel like straw. In fact, I agree with a previous reviewer that it does act as a detangler. Before flat ironing, I section off my hair as usual. I take a section of hair, mist this over the section (not too much or your hair will be too wet and too weighed down), brush it through and flat iron. My hair feels incredibly soft and silky after running the flat iron through (and not dry or damaged at all)! It's really a wonderful product! So wonderful that when I saw it on sale, I decided to stock up! If I feel like my hair is *too* flat, I mist some water on my roots on top, mist a bodifying product, and blow dry right at the roots. Doesn't take that long at all and makes for a brilliant finish of silky, soft, plump hair!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MsAzNqTpRiNcEsS on 4/25/2009 12:44:00 AM more reviews by MsAzNqTpRiNcEsS

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

i actually use this prior to flat ironing since i already have something for blowdrying and a leave in...this is better than ghd's version...i have somewhat damaged hair that im slowly nursing back to health and sprays r not cutting it for me.....Loma serum beats this for sure

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 jfing01 on 4/8/2009 1:20:00 AM more reviews by jfing01

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I am in love with this new range! I know that Redken staff are advising that this is best for thick hair, however I have been using the shampoo, conditioner and the thermal resist and my fine hair is looking fantastic (I have fine hair but a lot of it) I even got wet the other day in very fine misty rain and usually my hair would just turn frizzy but not with this range, and the bonus is that it doesn't make my roots greasy either which a product that conditions this well and makes my hair not frizz normally would. This could be my HG!
I find that I get a smoother blow dry when I use the thermal resist as opposed to when I just use the shampoo and conditioner.

UPDATE - I found that after a few weeks of using this that my hair started to get drier and drier and I started getting split ends. Not entirely sure if it's due to this range but have discontinued and it is already looking better.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 lillamyspysen on 3/1/2009 11:43:00 AM more reviews by lillamyspysen

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

This is product I really don`t know what to think of. The smell is fantastic, it makes my hair smell really nice, like expensive shampo. But the result.. I donīt know, it does nothing. I have fine hair with highlights so itīs a bit dry. It doesnīt drag it down, but donīt give it that nice frizz-free look eather. As I said, the smell is fantastic so I like to use this as a freshner for those days I donīt wash my hair, but I wonīt buy this again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MiaMoore on 1/12/2009 9:04:00 AM more reviews by MiaMoore

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I love products that are dual function- this one has three! Thermal Resist is a detangler, heat protector, and also helps to repair heat damage to the hair... It's lightweight so it won't weigh hair down- even baby fine hair! Detangles beautifully and the hair feels very soft after a blowdry. Love this stuff!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Redken products

More Hair Treatments products