Phyto • Phytodefrisant • Styling Products

rated 4.1(354 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.75%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 Sara_1987 on 7/21/2014 4:23:00 PM more reviews by Sara_1987

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I love this!

I read rave reviews about this for years but for some reason never tried it.
I have annoying straight/wavy/frizzy hair and have tried so many hair care products (shampoos, conditioners, masks, serums, oils, etc) looking for something to help me nicely air dry my hair. My hair air dries in weird waves and very frizzy (+ it takes ages and if I go to bed with it wet it looks crazy in the morning).
Over the years I've become a master at blowing out my hair. It takes me 15-20 minutes and many people think my hair is naturally straight. I like the smooth feeling after blow drying my hair straight, but sometimes I get very lazy and just want to air dry.

So I finally tried Phytodefrisant and I love it! I haven't tried it with blowdrying yet, but I just put it in wet hair (I put in quite a lot!) and let it air dry or put it in a bun with a clip. This makes my waves nicer and reduces frizz so much that I can't actually wear it naturally! I really love it and if I'm feeling non-lazy will try it with blowdrying as well.
I am currently only using this on my hair - all my expensive Morrocanoil and Bumble and Bumble serums are just sitting on my bathroom shelf...

I love it and am excited to try other Phyto products.
I bought this for 12 euros - about 16 dollars. Very cheap in my opinion for such a wonderful and natural product! And the idea that your hair only gets better the longer you use this balm is very appealing!
Absolutely recommend for people with thick, frizzy, wavy hair.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* snowwgirl on 7/13/2014 3:45:00 PM more reviews by snowwgirl

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Other   Eyes: Green    

This stuff is freaking amazing. I have the "new" ? formula and love how soft and straight it makes my hair, for days on end. This is a real miracle product. Even after sleeping on it, a quick refresher blow dry makes it look fresh and full. I cannot believe how it smooths down all those little annoying hairs. If you have bleached hair, you need this in your life.And its supposed to work even better over time.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Seegeeme on 1/30/2014 5:22:00 PM more reviews by Seegeeme

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Normal   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I've used Phytodefrisant for probably 10 plus years. They recently changed the formula though and now I'm looking for a new product to use to help straighten and smooth my curly hair when I blow dry it. The old formula product was actually a gel that came out of the tube. Not it's a liquify goo. The product should be in a squeeze bottle and not a tube. Ever get a liquid out of a tube? Well, that's what is is now. AND, the product does not work the same. Even my hair stylist who has been doing my hair for years, notices that it used to blow dry better with the older formula. He has a few other clients who are having the same experience. When they bring back the old formula, I'll go back to phyto. Until then… I'm trying Rene Furterer and some other products. I've complained to Phyto company by emailing them and get no response.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 icanhazcheezburger on 1/18/2014 11:48:00 PM more reviews by icanhazcheezburger

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Olive   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

Maybe I am not qualified to be reviewing this product since I did not blow dry my hair after using it, although I read a bunch of reviews on this product and saw that some used it even just as a leave in and let it air dry, and that it would still give softening and shiny results. Well that is what I did, I also used some of Paul Mitchels skinny serum on top. Sadly, even when I use that serum alone, my hair is not as poofy and dry as it is right now. After applying it ON TOP of this relaxing balm. I felt as if my hair got dry instantly on impact of applying it to my hair. It did not make it feel soft whatsoever. I really hoped that this would be the answer to controlling my curly frizz prone hair but it honestly did nothing for me. The way that the product felt was like I was applying rubbing alcohol to my hair. Now my hair is one big confused mess, neither curly nor straight, very dry.

I am not giving up on it though, I will give it a few more tests.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* barberree on 12/29/2013 11:08:00 PM more reviews by barberree

Age: 44-55   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

i had a lot of hopes for this. i have thin, fine hair with an oily scalp. recently, my hair has grown out, and the longer it gets, the more fly-aways and tangles i have. so i got this to try. it did a very mediocre job taming and moisturizing my hair, even used on top of other conditioning product. also, i found the container difficult to manipulate, especially given the slippery nature of the product (a pump or the like would be more convenient). i'm sure this is a wonderful product for other hair types, but it wasn't for mine.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 pandabear5 on 11/28/2013 12:36:00 AM more reviews by pandabear5

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

If you have relaxed hair, this may not be the product for you. This was disastrous. It made combing my wet hair more difficult, and when I styled it, it was way bushy. Everything I looked for this product to do, it did the opposite.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 oonarye on 7/11/2013 12:52:00 AM more reviews by oonarye

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Amazing, unreal, haven't written a review in years and just logged on at 1 am because I had to praise this product. I have a different head of hair thanks to this balm! Silky, manageable, glossy, just wow. WOW. So glad I purchased this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 teach1229 on 6/22/2013 8:47:00 AM more reviews by teach1229

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

This product did absolutely nothing for me. I have relaxed hair, that tends to get frizzy. It seems as though it made my hair frizzier. For me, it was a complete waste of money and I returned it to the store. Someone with a different texture/type of hair may have better results.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 vsmini on 6/5/2013 10:00:00 PM more reviews by vsmini

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Other    

It took me YEARS to find something that could make my frizz-prone, thick, wavy hair look amazing and I found this! I've been using it steadily for over 2 years. I had a minor freak-out when I saw that they "improved" the formula (it now comes in a gold-toned tube.) Many reviews on other sites stated that people were not happy with the new formula. I was forced to buy the new formula as PHYTO is slowly phasing out the old formula. I've used it a few times now and I notice no difference. I still get the same, amazing results.

So I don't think it has really improved all that much - it's just stayed the same - which is FINE BY ME. Most likely they had to change an ingredient or something for safety reasons or for environmental reasons (a lot of hair spray products have had to "improve" their products recently.) Thankfully Phyto didn't compromise their quality product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Caryn1477 on 3/4/2013 11:16:00 AM more reviews by Caryn1477

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I received a sample of this at Sephora. It is AMAZING. This botanical relaxing balm is the only thing that makes straightening my wavy, thick, long hair easy. It is expensive, but worth every penny to me. I put a quarter-size amount on damp hair, comb through, and blow-dry while brushing my hair with a regular brush. That's it. I go over my hair a little with a straightening iron and I'm done.
I've used several different straightening balms, from drug-store to higher-end, and they all resulted the same - me having to section my hair, blow-dryer in one hand, round-barrel brush in the other, attempting to straighten for 20-25 minutes while I sweat and turn red from all the heat. And I STILL end up with bumps underneath.I am amazed with how well this works and will keep buying it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Phyto products

More Styling Products products