Stila • Convertible Eye Color in Stone • Eye Shadow

rated 4.4(10 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.90%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 pearlbutton on 6/6/2012 6:07:00 PM more reviews by pearlbutton

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Fairly new to this, but I really like; it's already permanently in my make-up bag. I have pretty sensitive eyes, but this has not irritated them at all. It also stays put really well. Makes soft smudgy eyeliner and a low-key smokey eye really simple.

I've got it in stone, which is a soft mid-dark browny taupe. It's not totally matt, there's a slight sheen in it, without it being too shimmery.
The eyeliner is lovely and soft -it goes on without dragging but isn't so soft you end up putting more than you intended on. It's also got a soft smudger, which is great at it's job as it is slightly pointed at the end so you can smudge it right into the eye line.
The eyeshadow is a shimmery and slightly paler version of the eyeliner colour. It's great for going from day to night makeup.

I don't know how long it will last, as it's only a bit longer than a normal eyeliner and it has 3 parts to it. Just hoping it'll be a while. It's fairly pricey at 14 (I found it on ASOS here in the uk) -although I got it from TKMAXX for less, I'd definitely consider shelling out for it again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 hotpink on 12/30/2010 6:26:00 AM more reviews by hotpink

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Let me start by saying I got these for $5 during a beautycrunch sale. I probably would not pay full price because unfortunately, they are pretty pricey. That said, I LOVE the concept of this product. Liner, smudger, and shadow all in one pencil...ingenious! I have Teak and Stone and Stone is definitely my favorite of the two. The liner is a deep brown with purple tones that makes it almost black. I like that the pencil is soft and easily smudgeable (if that's a word). I rarely use the shadow but it works in a pinch. It's a taupe frost with a bit of metallic sheen. I like it on the lid. If I could get these at $5 again, I'd buy all the colors! Til then, I may have to look for an alternative. But regardless of price, they are an excellent product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* EIGNA on 1/28/2010 4:33:00 PM more reviews by EIGNA

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Stone liner is a perfect dark taupe color. Great liner and love the packaging. The wand eyeshadow dissapoints as it seems too soft and migrates everywhere. Quite honestly, I've stopped using the shadow. While I love the liner end, I can't justify the price seeing as part of the product is unusable. I'll just have to look for another dark taupe liner at a lower price point.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ilasik on 3/8/2009 8:25:00 PM more reviews by ilasik

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I got this at the beautycrunch.com Stila sale for less than $5. I am not sure how I would feel about it if I paid full price but I like it a great deal. The shadow goes on fairly subtly with just a hint of glimmer. The pencil stays on with just a teeny amount of smudging Next sale I am getting other colors.
Edit: used it a few more times and am taking two lippies away. It is gone within 4 hrs (My Revlon Colorstay is still there 10 hrs later)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 jengirl_714 on 1/2/2009 7:00:00 PM more reviews by jengirl_714

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I received this over the summer as a birthday present and I used it a few times then and I just got back around to using it. I love the liner and the shadows okay (it's a little too warm for my skin tone, but looks cute with other colors), but when I went to use the smudge brush it broke off. It's a nice product, but for $20, I'd expect the product to remain intact longer for at least 6 months.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 slwye on 10/15/2008 3:51:00 AM more reviews by slwye

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

If I'm in a hurry, this is what I reach for. I can do a fantastic polished eye in about 60 seconds with this. I usually just use the liner along the top lash line and then apply the shadow over the top in a thicker line and blend out with the sponge. If I ever run out I will repurchase, this is so handy to have around.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* virginiachick on 7/22/2008 5:56:00 PM more reviews by virginiachick

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

There is really nothing that I can say about this product that the other reviewers haven't said below. This product is stellar. It is so easy to apply and use. The color (eyeliner) IMO, is more of a plummy brown, and the eyeshadow a slightly shimmery taupey color.

I love using this product for the days when I am super rushed or I just don't want to go through the trouble of fussing with a lot of makeup. It makes me look polished and pretty.

I bought mine at Ulta for $20. I am sure this could be found at Sephora and Stilacosmetics.com

I will be repurchasing.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tijanarm on 7/16/2008 8:47:00 AM more reviews by tijanarm

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

I was in a search of a taupey colour eyeliner, when I ran across the previous two reviews on MUA and decided to go to Sephora and give Stila Stone a try. My challenge is that, being a natural brunette with dark brown eyes, I wanted a nice taupey colour that would not be too light or too brown or too gray or too anything. Well, I was so impressed by the Stone that I immediately bought it and I think this will from now be one of my HG of eye makeup routine. First, let me say that I am often allergic to coloured eye shadows/liners and because of that, I have usually stuck with the basic black. I had to return numerous eye shadows and liners, because of this, but Stila's Stone, this is not a problem. As reviewers have pointed out, this is a beautiful taupey set of colours, with liner being darker taupe and eye shadow a beautiful lighter neutral taupe. My preferred routine with this is to line my eyes, blend a bit with a sponge tip, then blend some more with the eyeshadow included. This all takes less than 2-3 minutes, however, if I'm really pressed for the time, I can see myself using just the liner and blending it in with the sponge tip. However, the colour, when both liner and shadow are used, is absolutely gorgeous, and I can see it working with any colour eyes, as it has in it a perfect mix of brown, grey, tiny bit of purple (btw, I am allergic to purple pigment and I can wear this no problem), just a gorgeous, yet very natural mix of colours. I apply this just around the rims of my eyes and it gives me a natural smokey look to the eyes, the one where you are not sure if the person is or isn't wearing anything around their eyes. I just add some mascara on my lashes and I'm ready to go.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 idgebrit on 7/7/2008 1:10:00 PM more reviews by idgebrit

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Why did I wait so long to review this product? It has been an HG for me for 8 years and I have repurchased once already. Stila's convertible color is an eyeliner, smudger, and eyeshadow all in one convenient pencil-like package. Stone is a brown-taupe eyeliner with shimmery neutral taupe shadow. Liner is smooth and doesn't tug my eyelids and the shadow is its perfect counterpart. I love using this product when I don't have much time in the morning and I need an eye look that will never fail and always look polished. I line my eyes, top and bottom lids, smudge the lines with the smudger, cover the eyelid with the shadow, then re-emphasize the liner. Add mascara and I'm good to go! For reference: NC35-40, MMM-GGG, black hair, brown eyes.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* diggity on 6/23/2008 9:29:00 AM more reviews by diggity

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

First, I have to say that the Stila Convertible Eye Colors are my all-time favorite eye liners! I've tried many of the really popular ones (Urban Decay 24/7, MUFE Aqua Eyes, Bobbi Brown gel liners). The Stila Convertible liners are my favorites. Here's why. They are easy to apply (creamy but not too creamy), last all day (no running, not even on lower lash line), and can be smudged or blended if you'd like. I also tried the Stila Kajal liners, which are softer and creamier and gorgeous, but unfortunately they tend to run after a few hours of wear. Too messy for me to keep using.
Anyway this (Stone) is an amazing little product. If you are new to the convertible eye colors, here's a brief description. The product is an eyeliner with liner on one side and a smudge brush on the other. By unscrewing the middle of the eyeliner, you find a matching eyeshadow. Stone is a beautiful combination of classic taupe colors. The eyeshadow is gorgeous enough to wear alone all over lid, and the liner is fantastic. Both are great quality. The price is a bit high, but in my opinion it's worth it for the convenience and portability. If you are traveling, you can pack this item and mascara, and you've got a complete eye look!
Also you can find them on sale at All Cosmetics Wholesale, Beauty Crunch, or ebay. I paid around $8 for this. Highly recommend, especially if you can find a good deal.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No




More Stila products

More Eye Shadow products