Derma Roller

4.2

72 reviews

88% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 6/30/2015 12:31:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I have used the derma-rolling method more than a few times and I can honestly say I liked it! It didn't really hurt and I push hard! I use it when I'm breaking out (around my period) and after I roll my whole face I always apply some type of toner or acne fighting skin product. I like to use rubbing alcohol on my skin directly after rolling but I don't do this often because it is not good for your skin in the long run (using rubbing alcohol). I feel like it's a fast quick fix to stubborn pimples. I always do it at night because your face will be bright red and you don't want to put makeup on after doing this because you literally have holes in your face and you would clog your pores so bad and probably cause infections and acne if you put face makeup on after derma-rolling. Doing it before bed is the best because when you wake up in the morning all the redness is gone and the holes have closed up so you can apply some face products! I do recommend it if you have acne or scarring!! Happy derma-rolling!



on 6/24/2015 3:49:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Please, don't fall for this. In the long run, you are puncturing and wounding your skin. Find another method.


on 6/11/2015 1:56:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I bought mine on amazon for $6 and it is 1.0 mm. I use it once a week because it does leave redness. I use it mainly on my temples of the forehead where I have deep acne scar pits. After my skin healed I notice my scars are reduced and skin looks smoother. I've been doing this for a month now and I think in 2 more months my scars will totally disappear. I also use vitamin C creme after rolling to produce more collagen and even out the skin tone.


on 5/11/2015 4:56:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I have been dermarolling for about six months. I have used a few different models ranging from 1.0 to 1.5. My favorite one is by Lilian Fache available for purchase from Amazon. I am 35 with very fair skin that is prone to broke capillaries. I originally purchased this to try and correct some mild acne scarring and some light brown skin patches. One thing I did not expect was the reduction of broken capillaries on the bridge of my nose and around my nostrils. I've had laser treatments (IPL and VBeam) in the past which helped a little but they're expensive and the capillaries always returned. I am absolutely ecstatic! Dermarolling has also improved my mild scars and brown spots. I use the 1.0 roller once every week or two. Be cautioned, it hurts (I use a lidocaine cream) and the results are cumulative. As I mentioned above, I've been doing this for about six months and so far I'm at about 40% improvement. I can't say dermarolling will work for everyone, but it works for me. With my current success rate, I will definitely continue dermarolling!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 4/28/2015 4:33:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

ordered this a while ago but wanted to wait to write a review in the chance I did see a difference. Skin is not badly scarred but I have some dark pink, dimpled marks on my chin from when I had acne. I bought this out of desperation after wasting my product on lotions and potions that promised to help. I can't belive I'm saying this . . .this thing really works! After 2 uses over a couple of weeks my skin is 80% better. And every day I wake up they have improved. If you're in two minds about getting it, I promise you it's worth the gamble!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 4/4/2015 10:58:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

i saw this being advertised on banishacnescars.com and i noticed other beauty bloggers such as huda beauty try this. She had just bought her own dermaroller from her sisters salon and used her own creams/serums. I took initiative and did the same, i ordered it from amazon for £5 the 0.5mm needle and i love it. At first when i tried this my skin was all red and blotchy and it was quite sensitive for a few days and it dried out my skin loads however i saw results instantly. I use it once a week sometimes twice a week when i am not being lazy with a vitamin c serum and my scars have visibly reduced, my skin is so much smoother and the pitted scars i have on my face due to acne are dissapearing. This product is amazing, i love it and i dont know where i would be without it.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 3/25/2015 2:01:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I am writing this review as a warning for others about where you purchase your roller from. I have been desperately looking for something to fade my dark acne scars, when I stumbled across the dermaroller. I read the reviews on MUA, as well as other sites, before deciding I will purchase it. Even though I read the warnings about not being cheap about it, I decided to try a 1.5mm roller from Amazon. This one, to be specific:

http://www.amazon.ca/gp/product/B00B8XAK5S?psc=1&redirect=true&ref_=oh_aui_detailpage_o00_s00

DO NOT PURCHASE IT! I regret it immediately, as soon as I opened the box. It was kind of hard to tell at first, but some needles were bent, and some were curved. I looked at it through a magnifying glass to confirm.

Being me, I wanted to test it out to see if it will actually damage my skin (I was too curious, but dont try this!). I left it for about 15 minutes in "99% Isopropyl Alcohol", then let it air dry for 30 minutes. I cleansed my face, and let it dry completely. Then I rolled it on my face once. The needles didnt hurt as much as the scratching did from the bent and curved needles. I cleaned it off, and put it back in its package. I requested a refund from Amazon, and they refunded me.

I didn't want to lower the rating of the roller by a lot, so I gave it 3 stars for now. I will update this review after using a proper dermaroller.


on 12/31/2014 3:23:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

This is the initial review of a skin care junkie (who's tried just about everything).

Full disclosure, I have only used this product once. I will come back and do an update once I've done this enough times to see if it's made a difference.

My skin type: fair, natural freckles, reformed sun lover (not complete WORSHIPPER), finicky skin type that changes with the wind. Professional facials every month, have had IPL, and experienced with at-home professional-grade products.

I purchased the 1mm roller from Amazon. I had it in my closet with a million other things for months and decided 3 days ago to actually use this.

How I did it: I rolled mine up and down across my entire face, picking it up each time to start a new "column." Then I went the other way doing the same as rows. I did not do the star pattern and do not recommend it.

Feel: My skin, although sensitive, has acclimated to lots of different things. For me it wasn't painful but you could certainly feel it. I couldn't imagine how I've seen some of the youtube videos where they do it so quickly and you're bleeding all over the place. That has to be painful and I don't see how that's good for your skin.

Aftermath: My skin was a slightly flushed pink. I did not bleed. I used a light retinol on my skin 30 min afterward and it burned slightly. My skin felt dry and like I should baby it.

2-3 days after - I can't say I've seen any changes, but I also recently had a chemical peel. I do feel some rougher patches by my jaw which I think are very light scabs. I would imagine that there is inflamation and swelling that happens which is why fine lines may disappear over night.

The reason I wanted to write this now (besides giving a 1st timer review while it's fresh) is that I see so many people who are rolling multiple times a week and are posting that they aren't sure what they are doing. People, this is your FACE. You are literally poking needles into your face and causing it to inflame. Just like you shouldn't do peels or scrubs too often, you should also not do this too often. If you destroy the barrier of your skin, it will allow products in yes, but it also won't be able to keep our free radicals. So, stepping off my soapbox, do I think the product is great? We'll see. I love the option that it gives you to do it inexpensively at home (I'd never pay someone else to do this for me). Just please listen to your skin and be patient.

12 out of 21 people found this review helpful.


Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I never thought in a million years that I would put needles on my face as part of my skincare regime until I started using the Derma Roller by Diva díor. I had to do some research first. Microneedling is done in a professionalís office with needles as long as 4 mm. The Derma Roller has needles that are 1 mm in length.

Why would someone voluntarily put needles on their face? Itís a wonderful way to combat the signs of aging. Used correctly 2 to 3 days a week, your Derma Roller multiples the effects of anti-aging facial serums and vitamin C moisturizers, which allows it to get deeper into your skin.

The Derma Roller is a fast, safe, and inexpensive skincare alternative to a dermatologist or esthetician. Use your Derma Roller to reduce and eliminate wrinkles, scars, fine lines, cellulite, stretch marks, and hyperpigmentation. When you use the Derma Roller, you can increase your natural collagen production and skin elasticity.

Why should use make Derma Roller part of your skincare regime?

Stimulates collagen formation
Tightens skin and restores elasticity
Softens fine lines
Reduces the appearance of scarring
Reduces cellulite
Reduces pigmentation and sun damage
Improves the skinís ability to absorb topical serums, gels, and creams

Derma Roller has a 100% satisfaction guarantee with a 90 money back warranty and it comes with its own protective case for safekeeping.

I received this product for free in exchange for an honest review.


on 10/24/2014 3:10:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Other, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Had to give 3 stars review as the at-home, little hand-held tool and professional micro needling machine ( Dermapenģ Micro Needling ) are two totally different experiences:

1) At home: For last four years, use a 0.5 micro needle purchased from yourowndoc.com. Great service and website. It does help your skin accept products such as RetinA and such. I also use it on my neck and decollage. For 62, my skin in that area looks pretty good as I also use the RetinA on my neck, shoulders, and in between my breasts. You should never be heavy handed with even the 0.5 as you will caused damage. Was using it about 1 x a month. Check out the website as it clearly explains different levels of needles. Nothing dramatic but felt helping a little.
Cost: Under $25.00 for each pen.

2) Professional Dermapenģ Micro Needling. Had this performed at a cosmetic surgeon's office but by a staff person trained in lasers, etc. It is TOTALLY different from the home, hand-held needle. After, I had lots of redness, bruising, scabbing, and even some lumps under my skin. Looked as if I had a really bad sunburn and scraps. Not sure if the lumps were from the needling, or the Aguaphor I was instructed to use for two days to moisturize my skin. Plus, my skin peeled for over a week. The lumps took almost two weeks to disappear.
Cost: $500 per area. I had entire face done. Does my skin look better? A little softer with one treatment, but they recommend multiple treatments for a bigger benefit. Also, am not convinced that the roughness of the treatment didn't undermine the Botox and filler I had 5 weeks prior. They claim it doesn't but the treatment is very rough. They numb you about 45 minutes prior to treatment, as there is some pain.

There are only positive reviews out there for DermaPen. Nothing negative at all. I searched all over the internet. For a few days and nothing but glowing accounts. The whole concept of micro needling is that by slightly damaging your skin, collagen production will start on its own. Makes absolute sense as the body is attempting to repair itself.

That's fine but....I think someone in their 60's is not going to see the same results as a younger woman. When a women is post-menopause, there's definite muscle loss in the face, besides everywhere else. I, me, foolishly went in with unrealistic expectations. If I want to look ten years younger, I will need a lift of some type, e.g. Quicklift.

As I paid up front for four treatments for the price of three, I will have more treatments. May have it done on the decollage area. Wherever, will definitely ask the technician to be much more gentle next time. Don't think this older face can handle that much bruising. The technician said younger women are using it on stretch marks and such with great results. The DermaPen website does show some amazing results for scarring too.

To be fair, I will update and see how subsequent treatments go. So far, no one has made any comments telling me how wonderful my skin looks. Darn...

EDIT: Because I developed hard, cyst like bumps, went back to Derm's office and they put the pre-paid money towards fillers. Later, read an article from a dermatologist who agreed the office machine should be used cautiously with mature skin. Also had CO2 laser at another plastice surgeon's office. Tech did it for $2,300. Told me would have a 50% improvement in wrinkles and old acne scars. Nope. About 15% and developed two of those hard cyst. Will stick with botox and fillers.

23 out of 25 people found this review helpful.




Back to Top