Derma Roller

4.3

68 reviews

89% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 4/28/2015 4:33:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

ordered this a while ago but wanted to wait to write a review in the chance I did see a difference. Skin is not badly scarred but I have some dark pink, dimpled marks on my chin from when I had acne. I bought this out of desperation after wasting my product on lotions and potions that promised to help. I can't belive I'm saying this . . .this thing really works! After 2 uses over a couple of weeks my skin is 80% better. And every day I wake up they have improved. If you're in two minds about getting it, I promise you it's worth the gamble!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.



on 4/4/2015 10:58:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

i saw this being advertised on banishacnescars.com and i noticed other beauty bloggers such as huda beauty try this. She had just bought her own dermaroller from her sisters salon and used her own creams/serums. I took initiative and did the same, i ordered it from amazon for £5 the 0.5mm needle and i love it. At first when i tried this my skin was all red and blotchy and it was quite sensitive for a few days and it dried out my skin loads however i saw results instantly. I use it once a week sometimes twice a week when i am not being lazy with a vitamin c serum and my scars have visibly reduced, my skin is so much smoother and the pitted scars i have on my face due to acne are dissapearing. This product is amazing, i love it and i dont know where i would be without it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 3/25/2015 2:01:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I am writing this review as a warning for others about where you purchase your roller from. I have been desperately looking for something to fade my dark acne scars, when I stumbled across the dermaroller. I read the reviews on MUA, as well as other sites, before deciding I will purchase it. Even though I read the warnings about not being cheap about it, I decided to try a 1.5mm roller from Amazon. This one, to be specific:

http://www.amazon.ca/gp/product/B00B8XAK5S?psc=1&redirect=true&ref_=oh_aui_detailpage_o00_s00

DO NOT PURCHASE IT! I regret it immediately, as soon as I opened the box. It was kind of hard to tell at first, but some needles were bent, and some were curved. I looked at it through a magnifying glass to confirm.

Being me, I wanted to test it out to see if it will actually damage my skin (I was too curious, but dont try this!). I left it for about 15 minutes in "99% Isopropyl Alcohol", then let it air dry for 30 minutes. I cleansed my face, and let it dry completely. Then I rolled it on my face once. The needles didnt hurt as much as the scratching did from the bent and curved needles. I cleaned it off, and put it back in its package. I requested a refund from Amazon, and they refunded me.

I will be trying this again, with a proper dermaroller. I searched around, and the best place I can find that is affordable AND has high quality needles (according to reviews, and thier site) is:

http://owndoc.com/

I didn't want to lower the rating of the roller by alot, so I gave it 3 stars for now. I will update some time after I use the one I recently purchased. :)

5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.


on 12/31/2014 3:23:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

This is the initial review of a skin care junkie (who's tried just about everything).

Full disclosure, I have only used this product once. I will come back and do an update once I've done this enough times to see if it's made a difference.

My skin type: fair, natural freckles, reformed sun lover (not complete WORSHIPPER), finicky skin type that changes with the wind. Professional facials every month, have had IPL, and experienced with at-home professional-grade products.

I purchased the 1mm roller from Amazon. I had it in my closet with a million other things for months and decided 3 days ago to actually use this.

How I did it: I rolled mine up and down across my entire face, picking it up each time to start a new "column." Then I went the other way doing the same as rows. I did not do the star pattern and do not recommend it.

Feel: My skin, although sensitive, has acclimated to lots of different things. For me it wasn't painful but you could certainly feel it. I couldn't imagine how I've seen some of the youtube videos where they do it so quickly and you're bleeding all over the place. That has to be painful and I don't see how that's good for your skin.

Aftermath: My skin was a slightly flushed pink. I did not bleed. I used a light retinol on my skin 30 min afterward and it burned slightly. My skin felt dry and like I should baby it.

2-3 days after - I can't say I've seen any changes, but I also recently had a chemical peel. I do feel some rougher patches by my jaw which I think are very light scabs. I would imagine that there is inflamation and swelling that happens which is why fine lines may disappear over night.

The reason I wanted to write this now (besides giving a 1st timer review while it's fresh) is that I see so many people who are rolling multiple times a week and are posting that they aren't sure what they are doing. People, this is your FACE. You are literally poking needles into your face and causing it to inflame. Just like you shouldn't do peels or scrubs too often, you should also not do this too often. If you destroy the barrier of your skin, it will allow products in yes, but it also won't be able to keep our free radicals. So, stepping off my soapbox, do I think the product is great? We'll see. I love the option that it gives you to do it inexpensively at home (I'd never pay someone else to do this for me). Just please listen to your skin and be patient.

8 out of 13 people found this review helpful.


Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I never thought in a million years that I would put needles on my face as part of my skincare regime until I started using the Derma Roller by Diva díor. I had to do some research first. Microneedling is done in a professionalís office with needles as long as 4 mm. The Derma Roller has needles that are 1 mm in length.

Why would someone voluntarily put needles on their face? Itís a wonderful way to combat the signs of aging. Used correctly 2 to 3 days a week, your Derma Roller multiples the effects of anti-aging facial serums and vitamin C moisturizers, which allows it to get deeper into your skin.

The Derma Roller is a fast, safe, and inexpensive skincare alternative to a dermatologist or esthetician. Use your Derma Roller to reduce and eliminate wrinkles, scars, fine lines, cellulite, stretch marks, and hyperpigmentation. When you use the Derma Roller, you can increase your natural collagen production and skin elasticity.

Why should use make Derma Roller part of your skincare regime?

Stimulates collagen formation
Tightens skin and restores elasticity
Softens fine lines
Reduces the appearance of scarring
Reduces cellulite
Reduces pigmentation and sun damage
Improves the skinís ability to absorb topical serums, gels, and creams

Derma Roller has a 100% satisfaction guarantee with a 90 money back warranty and it comes with its own protective case for safekeeping.

I received this product for free in exchange for an honest review.


on 10/24/2014 3:10:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Other, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Had to give 3 stars review as the at-home, little hand-held tool and professional micro needling machine ( Dermapenģ Micro Needling ) are two totally different experiences:

1) At home: For last four years, use a 0.5 micro needle purchased from yourowndoc.com. Great service and website. It does help your skin accept products such as RetinA and such. I also use it on my neck and decollage. For 62, my skin in that area looks pretty good as I also use the RetinA on my neck, shoulders, and in between my breasts. You should never be heavy handed with even the 0.5 as you will caused damage. Was using it about 1 x a month. Check out the website as it clearly explains different levels of needles. Nothing dramatic but felt helping a little.
Cost: Under $25.00 for each pen.

2) Professional Dermapenģ Micro Needling. Had this performed at a cosmetic surgeon's office but by a staff person trained in lasers, etc. It is TOTALLY different from the home, hand-held needle. After, I had lots of redness, bruising, scabbing, and even some lumps under my skin. Looked as if I had a really bad sunburn and scraps. Not sure if the lumps were from the needling, or the Aguaphor I was instructed to use for two days to moisturize my skin. Plus, my skin peeled for over a week. The lumps took almost two weeks to disappear.
Cost: $500 per area. I had entire face done. Does my skin look better? A little softer with one treatment, but they recommend multiple treatments for a bigger benefit. Also, am not convinced that the roughness of the treatment didn't undermine the Botox and filler I had 5 weeks prior. They claim it doesn't but the treatment is very rough. They numb you about 45 minutes prior to treatment, as there is some pain.

There are only positive reviews out there for DermaPen. Nothing negative at all. I searched all over the internet. For a few days and nothing but glowing accounts. The whole concept of micro needling is that by slightly damaging your skin, collagen production will start on its own. Makes absolute sense as the body is attempting to repair itself.

That's fine but....I think someone in their 60's is not going to see the same results as a younger woman. When a women is post-menopause, there's definite muscle loss in the face, besides everywhere else. I, me, foolishly went in with unrealistic expectations. If I want to look ten years younger, I will need a lift of some type, e.g. Quicklift.

As I paid up front for four treatments for the price of three, I will have more treatments. May have it done on the decollage area. Wherever, will definitely ask the technician to be much more gentle next time. Don't think this older face can handle that much bruising. The technician said younger women are using it on stretch marks and such with great results. The DermaPen website does show some amazing results for scarring too.

To be fair, I will update and see how subsequent treatments go. So far, no one has made any comments telling me how wonderful my skin looks. Darn...

EDIT: Because I developed hard, cyst like bumps, went back to Derm's office and they put the pre-paid money towards fillers. Later, read an article from a dermatologist who agreed the office machine should be used cautiously with mature skin. Also had CO2 laser at another plastice surgeon's office. Tech did it for $2,300. Told me would have a 50% improvement in wrinkles and old acne scars. Nope. About 15% and developed two of those hard cyst. Will stick with botox and fillers.

15 out of 17 people found this review helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

'What on earth is this medieval torture device?' Those were the first words that popped into my head when a friend suggested I try this on some pitted acne scarring I have on my upper left cheek/temple area along with stretch marks on my stomach and buttocks and a patch of thinning hair on top of my scalp. Kill three birds with one stone...really?

Let me tell you it's not as bad as it looks! Having used a 0.5mm, 1mm and 1.5mm on various areas, I have to say the sensation is akin to scratching/tingling rather than painful. An appropriate word for it would be 'irritating'. And this is coming from someone who seriously hates needles!

My routine went like this:
Saturate all areas of skin to be treated, nightly with a Vitamin C serum (from Owndoc - just add water to the powder and voila!). After a few consecutive days of doing this it would be time to 'roll', so here goes:
Wash and then steam my face to help open up the pores, followed by disinfecting with 70% ethanol and cotton. Other areas of the body I would just soak under a hot shower beforehand (no buttock-size steamer been invented yet as far as I'm aware...at least not for mine lol!)
After rolling I would soak the roller overnight in Chloramine T solution and gently rinse the rolled areas with tepid water and allow to air dry. Finally I would apply 'Infadolan' Vit A ointment on all rolled areas.
After a few days of Infadolan, once the skin has healed I would switch to Divine Herbal Facial Treatment Serum - sparingly on all areas every night until it's back to Vitamin C serum pre-rolling time again...

For scalp no need for Vitamin C or Infadolan, just the Divine Herbal Hair Oil straight after rolling and of course careful soaking of roller itself in Chloramine T solution after.

After rolling every 3 weeks (scalp 3 x per week) for 6 months this is what I noticed:


Face - (0.5mm initially and then 1mm - felt no different to shorter needle!). Pitted/sunken scarring improved by 60%-70%. I'm lucky enough not to have any lines or wrinkles (yet!) so cannot vouch for effectiveness on these although common sense would dictate it will work on the same principles it does for scarring. Very pleased overall!

Scalp - (0.5mm). I noticed my hair thicken up in an area where I had lost some. 70-80% improvement! (used roller immediately before applying Divine herbal hair oil)

Stomach - (1mm). I didn't notice any significant improvement on stretch marks until I used a single needle which is much more targeted. I found this area to be the most uncomfortable but still not significantly so to warrant stopping treatment. 50% better.

Buttocks - (1.5mm and later a single-needle). Again nothing on the stretch marks until I changed to a single needle after 3 months. Improvement around the 40-50% mark I would say which is pretty good going for just 3 months of this.

Overall I'm very pleased with results so far but got to stop rolling for now as travelling abroad. Hope to resume rolling again later next year to increase results seen so far.

What you will need:

- Dermaroller/Single needle (Owndoc or any other reliable seller)
- Chloramine T (Owndoc)
- Vitamin C powder (Owndoc or a brand version that contains up to 10% such as Obagi or Skinceuticals)
- 70% ethanol solution (various online shops, try 'Amresco' - they ship to the states and worldwide)
- Infadolan ointment (ebay or Owndoc)
- Divine Herbal facial treatment serum (Divine Herbal website or ebay)

...or if on scalp:

- Dermaroller 0.5mm or possibly 1mm (Owndoc or elsewhere)
- Chloramine T solution (Owndoc)
- Divine Herbal hair oil (Divine herbal website or ebay)

Tips:
- Use a 'non-acidic' retinoid (Vit A) product after rolling. Infadolan is the only one I can find for this purpose.
- Use the 'facial treatment serum' only once the skin has healed (normally a few days). Otherwise it will sting as contains essential oils! Use very sparingly as not much required.
- Stretch your skin with one hand whilst rolling. It will help reduce the uncomfortable sensation.
- Use common sense when purchasing a roller. I have never purchased one of the many from China that you can pick up on ebay for a few dollars (although it's tempting!) so I can't comment. but do your homework first, there are lots of companies specializing in rollers and with the expertise to match in case you require follow-up advice. I would suggest sticking to these in case anything goes wrong.

Yes if you sweat (the way we do here in the south) IT WILL STING the following day once the sweat reaches any rolled areas. And yes there will be some red spots - usually just one or two but easily covered with concealer (I know you're not supposed to but I've been fine doing this, so far. But that's just my experience!). But my philosophy is beauty comes at a price which is why I've never fallen for hype and 'magic pills'. Its the stuff you really don't want to do (think exercise, diet) or uncomfortable (botox needles or filler needles - ouch!) that actually produces results. There are no shortcuts, you have to be prepared for a degree of discomfort if you want results!

21 out of 24 people found this review helpful.


on 10/3/2014 7:06:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Medium Brown, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I bought a Dermaroller a 6 weeks ago and started using it about 4 weeks ago. The results are very good. I had some acne scars on my face and they are almost gone now. The brand i bought is called MNS DermaRolling. The product looks pretty low quality, as you can see here http://perfect-body.dk/dermaroller-mns but it is fine to use. The handle is a bit woubly, but the dermaroller was cheap og works fine. I hope that if I ude the roller some more, my scars will be fully gone.


on 9/23/2014 3:24:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I tried the 1mm roller and really loved the results! After just one treatment, I could tell that my skin was improving significantly in terms of texture and skin tone. I don't have active acne, or major acne issues. But I frequently have oil clogs/ white heads by the dozens, and I have naturally large pores. The first time I used my roller, IT HURT. My skin is rather thin, such that you can see the entire network of veins/blood vessels under them, especially in my lower cheeks. It hurt everywhere but the worst were on the forehead and above the lip, under the nose.

After rolling, I applied Aloe Vera gel generously all over my face for about 5-10min, meanwhile washing the roller with soap and water, then soaked it in 70% alcohol, removing it after 10min and allowing it to air dry completely before storing it in the container it came with (BTW, I did wash the container with alcohol too). Then I washed my face clean and applied the rest of my regular facial routine (treatment essence, rose water, rosehip oil), and went to bed. The next day, my skin was not red, but it was still a bit sore. Especially during the day, it burned/stung badly when I perspired. Imagine salt on wounds, which essentially that's what was happening when my face sweat after the rolling.

But by that night, after washing and finishing my regular facial routine, my skin texture was significantly smoother. No bumps, pores felt and looked tightened, red pimple scars were drying up fast. There were some peeling, but nothing significant, just a few flecks of white here and there.

I love this product and wished I could have found out about it earlier. Now it's just about being disciplined enough to continue using, not rushing between treatments (once every 1.5 - 2 weeks for me), and fastidiously keeping the needles clean, changing when they get blunt (every 8-12 mths).

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 7/7/2014 2:33:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Violet

I'm so so so glad I found this product. After reading reviews online, and watching instruction vids on YouTube; I decided to try it, thinking that it probably wouldn't work. Before I started using it, I had slight acne scars on both of my cheeks. They were pitted and makeup/primers/pore erasers never worked on them, so I figured I was stuck with them for life. However, after using the Dermaroller on my cheeks once a week for three months (in one direction, applying sterilizing solution to my face and the roller both before and after using) I can honestly say that my scars have faded. Using the DR does hurt a little, but no more than getting cheek fillers or a microdermabrasion. It's kind of hard to get used to at first, but the results are 100% worth it. I can see myself using this for many years to come, since it can also be used to combat signs of ageing =) Amazing product.

**Just to edit my review: I recommend applying a moisturizer of some kind after using the Dermaroller (I use Medik8 Pretox Filler - which is a little pricey but works amazingly, especially on acne scars and signs of ageing - or A'kin unscented moisturizer). A natural one (no parabens, synthetic colors, fragrances etc) would be better since your pores are totally open, meaning anything you put on your skin has more chance of getting into your bloodstream.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


Popular Misc Beauty Tools


Derma Roller
68 Reviews
Mia
1039 Reviews
the sponge
660 Reviews
Foreo - Luna
32 Reviews


Back to Top