Bobbi Brown • longwear gel liner in black mauve • Eyeliner

rated 4.3(65 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.73%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 trishcat on 3/14/2014 12:42:00 PM more reviews by trishcat

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This is a great shade for daytime. I have blue eyes and was happy to find it's flattering-- often color close to my eyes makes them look more green. Nothing horrible about that, but I want my eyes to remain as blue as possible. :)

It's got great lasting power and is easy to apply with BB's ultra fine eyeliner brush. And it's pricey, but a small pot can last a LONG time.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 briloveschocolatebunnies on 10/19/2013 9:48:00 PM more reviews by briloveschocolatebunnies

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

HG! Like all Bobbi Brown gel eyeliners, this is long lasting, stays put, and is easy to apply. But this one is by far my favorite. I had been using Caviar Ink previously, which I liked. However, this one is by far a better fit for those that are fair with lighter eyes (especially, as many reviewers mention, green eyes).

If you are worried that this will appear "purple" as I was, as I tend to work in a conservative field, worry not! It does not look purple to me once on. But it does have some purple in it, which gives it a very soft black look, which will bring out your eyecolor and not look as harsh as black eyeliner. I've been looking for something like this for quite a while, but I dislike brown eyeliner and caviar ink still was pretty dark. Also the "shimmer" it contains is very slight and definitely fine for everyday. I do not like applying it with the Bobbi Brown gel eyeliner brush. I actually prefer my hard angled eyeliner brush that Sephora sells---it seems to work better for me.

The only con with this: like all the Bobbi Brown gel eyeliners, it dries out easily. Really easily. I heard some advice to store upside down and this seems to help (condensation keeps it moist). Make sure the cap is on tightly at all times. This particular one is drier than the other "ink" eyeliners (like Caviar Ink). In fact, when I first got it, I took it back thinking I had gotten a dried up defective one. When the new one I got was exactly the same, I realized that this one is just drier than the others. It must be the shimmer factor. Still, it applies well. I wish Bobbi Brown sold less product (for less $) since some of it will probably dry up before I can use it. The YouTube clips that say how to revive these gel eyeliners only have worked so/so for me on the Bobbi Brown eyeliners.

Regardless, this is a great buy. Glad I had checked out the reviews for this one.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Princessngirl on 7/9/2012 9:56:00 AM more reviews by Princessngirl

Age: 44-55   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This was one of the first gel liners I purchased and I LOVE IT. the color goes ne v purply w a hint of shimmer. I get v good control w it, and a little goes a long way. And this stuff sticks - it never bleeds or fades on me and I have oily lids.

It is pricy - however, this is one of my staple cosmetics.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 jocexdarlingg on 6/22/2012 6:52:00 PM more reviews by jocexdarlingg

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I was super excited to get this product when all i heard were great reviews but it was less than i expected. first off, it was already hard enough to find a correct brush for this liner due to the fact that getting ahold of the Bobbi Brown Gel Liner brush was almost impossible since its always sold out so i decided to use any regular hard angular brush from the drugstore, mind you i tried the soft flat end brushes which has absolutely no use since it doesnt pick up any pigment since the gel liner is too tough. i decided to line my inner top eyes with it since i do like definition and then the bottom. the results at first is pretty decent but not as pigmented as i thought it would be. i had to swipe on the color a couple of times to really have the color show up and i guess this gel liner is really dependent on what type of brush you use. so if you have a really good eyeliner brush, then this is a good product to try. without one, its hell in a cup.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* artemistzitzikilakis on 3/17/2012 2:59:00 AM more reviews by artemistzitzikilakis

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

What an amazing color. It is my staple to replace black as it DOES come out quite dark/black, but with just a different undertone. It does not look like brown or grey and makes just as much a statement as black, but has something special. And of all the gel liners, Bobbi's are still the best.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cerulfox on 11/7/2011 7:34:00 PM more reviews by cerulfox

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Black    

EDIT: Updated my review to 4 stars as I realized I was an idiot and didn't wear this with a primer underneath. After doing so all the wear problems I mentioned below disappeared. Color is still too cool for my liking, but I'm no longer turned off by BB's gel liners.


I had high hopes for this liner as I've seen rave reviews of Bobbi Brown's gel liner, but to me it's pretty...meh. The color itself is a nice cool taupe/brown/purple with subtle shimmer. Unfortunately even with a primer beneath it faded pretty unevenly despite me being indoors most of the day and flaked off. This makes me wonder how it'd perform outdoors on a hot day. Wouldn't repurchase and will be swapping away.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lauracrua on 10/7/2011 7:32:00 AM more reviews by lauracrua

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This is a great cool brown colour and doesn't look too harsh on my pale eyes and skin. It lasts all day and into the night. A perfect cool brown gel liner for people who are frightened of gel liner!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lehzheng on 10/5/2011 2:55:00 PM more reviews by lehzheng

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Intros first: I've tried mac fluidline in blacktrack and make up forever waterproof eyeshadow so i guess my review might count for some. The reason why I bought this is because it is safe for waterlines whereas the previous two were not really intended for waterline use. Is it long wearing? Yes, only if you have a primer underneath. Does it give you raccoon eyes? Nope. it doesnt melt that way. Is it pigmented? fairly so, but it is supremely matte in nature. The texture is just right. Not too creamy and not too hard. WHich makes me wonder if it will dry out in the long run...

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 narkiz on 8/31/2011 9:43:00 AM more reviews by narkiz

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

A great day time black. Can't really notice shimmers, looks wonderful. A must for hazel eyes and green eyes.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* RaeRae2 on 8/16/2011 11:05:00 AM more reviews by RaeRae2

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Dry, Neutral   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

This is the best eyeliner I have ever owned!! The color is a beautiful soft blackish/brownish/burgundyish color. It goes on so smooth and perfect and lasts all day without fading, flaking, or wearing off. I have bright green eyes and this seems to be a perfect compliment. It goes well with any color of eye shadow. I'm not sure about the "shimmer" effect. I can't really notice much, but then I don't have the flat colors to compare it to. It washes out of my brushes easily with a little soap and warm water. I like the pot ok, no complaints on packaging. This pot will last forever. It doesn't seem to dry out like the cheap ELF gel liners do. I will definitely purchase this again if I ever use this one up!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Bobbi Brown products

More Eyeliner products