Bobbi Brown Lipstick- Brown

3.9

75 reviews

70% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 5/28/2015 12:25:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

So I've been really into brown lips lately. I love MAC's Velvet Teddy, but I wish it had more brown in it. My mum originally had this lipstick and I tried it and I fell in love. Hard. This shade is quite dark, darker than a regular MLBB, and definitely not a nude. However, something about this lipstick really complemented my NC25 yellow undertone Asian skin tone. I have not found a shade as unique as this one (come on MAC!)
The packaging is absolutely gorgeous and I love toting this around, it makes me feel so glamorous.
The price is a bit steep but I suppose for the quality of the packaging and the great formula, it's a good investment.
Love love love. This shade is perfect for daytime with a simple winged liner and a brown crease, and for nighttime with a bronzed, smokey eye.



Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This is for Bobbi Brown's "Brown 4". I'm light to medium brown-skinned of (East Indian) descent. Unfortunately my complexion is all over the place. Sometimes I can be beige other times a rich med brown with red undertones. My complexion is also UN-even. Anyhow, long story short this is my HG lipstick. I only get it when I visit the States (I live in Canada) but travel "south" often :) It's 26 USD whereas in Toronto it's about 35 ish...It's the perfect creamy consistency, lovely finish. Goes on thickly so covers all imperfections, however, I hardly feel this on my lips (which is good as I don't like feeling product on my lips all day). The finish isn't matte, but not too high shine. It makes my lips look sooo much bigger than they actually are, what a bonus! I wear it often to work. It's my base lipstick. Because my lips have a natural purple under-tone, I often use this as my base. I put light pink lipsticks over it, bright corals, oranges etc...It tones down colors I think are too wild or afraid to pull of in the daytime or at work. I go through one in about a yr or less I use it so much. 3 tubes in the 3 yrs I discovered it. I think it would look lovely on all skin types as it's a nice brown but pinky brown. On me it's like the perfect nude.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/4/2014 12:00:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I actually don't know when I purchased this lipstick, but it is still available. It is a beautiful neutral medium pinky brown. I am fair (N/NW10-15), but I like darker colors on myself since my lips do not have much pigment. I haven't seen a lot of comments about it, and I'm not sure if they still use fragrance in their lipsticks since I haven't purchased a BB lippie in a long time, but mine reeks. It smells like old lady perfume, and I just can't get past that. I feel like it makes my breath bad since it's on my lips. The drugstore dupes I've found if anyone is interested are Revlon's mink 671 and Wet n' Wild megalast in 913C.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 10/3/2014 7:54:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

If somebody comes across a dupe for this lipstick please post it . That s the most amazing lipstick on my lips for polished look definition without being too made up. Love it!


on 8/30/2014 2:07:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Olive, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This colour was selected for me a couple of years ago by a Bobbi Brown assistant when I asked for something to give me a natural/polished look. Looked fine in the shop so I bought it but hated it when I came home - too pale and chalky for me (MAC NC40, BB Warm Natural). I've tried to wear it on its own at different times of the day or in winter when my skin tone is lighter but it's still not me, although I can see that it's a great shade for lighter skins/less pigmented lips.
However....the beauty of Bobbi Brown's products is that because the lipsticks and blush shades are brown based and therefore complementary to skin's natural tones as well as each other, there's usually some way that you can successfully make an "off" shade work for you. I've been using Brown to tone down and soften some deeper BB lipsticks like Raisin and Clove, and have topped it with BB's Tube Tint in Naked (another rash purchase!) or Eight Hour Cream for a more wearable beige-pink nude gloss.
I've recently discovered, though, that this lipstick works really well as a natural, outdoorsy-looking blush, similar to BB's Tawny powder blush. Blends in really well over foundation too. Wish I'd thought of this sooner!


Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is nice pinky brown nude that compliments my skintone quite nicely. No need for a lip liner or gloss....just swipe it on and I'm good to go. On my pigmented lips its very opaque so it gives me eventoned lips (top and bottom). Its not a matte so my lips don't feel zapped of moisture after a day of wear. I look forward to wearing this lippie into fall as I see it working perfectly with my fall eye palettes.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/28/2011 4:30:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This is one of the best lipsticks I have ever had , it matches my lips and it is good for day and night.


on 10/9/2010 9:00:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

RIS so I gave it a 1 for price. I already know the whole story behind this shade of BB lipstick but I can't see how this could be a neutral for anyone except for people with darker skin. For this to work with me I have to put on a very thin layer with a lip brush, making it a pain in the butt to pull off outside of my home. Also, its a little stinky...


on 8/9/2010 4:20:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Very Oily, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I bought this lippie from CCO for $15. I really like the color. On me it is a muted brown pink. It is a good neutral nude color on me. It feels a bit drying so i use a bit is lip balm underneath. I wear this with clear gloss on top and a medium brown lip liner. I can wear any eyeshadow combo with this lippie. I am NW 45.


on 12/2/2009 10:49:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

Brown is the color of my lips. I know this for a fact, not only because I've gone through two or three tubes of it in my life, but because I was typed to Brown in the BB Lip System at the counter. (By all means, get thee to a BB counter and have them find your "natural match" lip color. It's entertaining, and it does help in thwacking your way through BB's 25 million "pinky brown browny pink pinkish brown" offerings.) In other words, "Brown" is a medium muted pinkish color. The SAs tell me this is Bobbi Brown's favorite color -- so I gather it's the lip color for many other people.

(The BB Lip System offers 12 other colors from her line that have similar undertones and are supposed to flatter you, in addition to the color that matches you exactly. Here's a link:
http://www.bobbibrown.co.uk/popups/lipsystem.tmpl)

How does Brown compare with other BB colors? IME:

Tulle Brown: a slightly lighter, pinker Brown
Brownie: a more muted, "browner" Brown, though roughly the same depth of color.
Brownie Pink: Brown, but deeper. Midway to Raisin.
Raisin: a deeper, more burgundy Brown -- the suggested "deep" color for women who match Brown.
Nude: a slightly more golden, peachier Brown. Roughly the same depth.
Golden Brown: deeper than Nude, but similar.

I love BB's colors -- if you're muted, neutral-to-warm like I am, her counter is the best for finding flattering lipsticks. She practically makes a fetish of muted warm lipsticks. However, I seldom adore the formulas. The Lip Colors are a little too opaque and matte to be my faves, though I can make Brown work if I apply it with a brush over lip balm.This is a function of aging: In my 30s, Brown was the color I could swipe and go. Now I need something sheerer, like the Heather Mauve Creamy Lip Color, or with pearlescence, like BB Metallic Lip Color (formerly Lip Shimmer) in Vintage Rose. These days, those are the two I love for every day.

18 out of 19 people found this review helpful.


Popular Lipsticks


Velvet Teddy
Velvet Teddy
216 Reviews
Liquid Lipstick
Liquid Lipstick
27 Reviews

Recommended for Medium Skin



Back to Top