MAC • Cool Heat - Climate Blue • Eye Shadow

rated 4.2(11 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.81%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 MsCr0w on 12/28/2010 12:38:00 PM more reviews by MsCr0w

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I just love this colour and use it on it's own or blending with others, particularly like to pair it with MAC's Sharp. In the pan it looks super dark blue and the slight glitter is really pretty and not off putting. Going on I would agree, remember to tip off the excess as a little goes a very long way. I sometimes wear one layer, so quite pale, with silver around the edge and this goes nicely with a grey clothes day. With colours like Sharp (acidic green/yellow) it makes for a very different and edgy look. Climate Blue is very pigmented but it hangs on there all day, definitely one to find.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lalaland on 10/5/2009 1:04:00 PM more reviews by lalaland

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I usually check out MUA reviews before I purchase products, but I was at a CCO and of course I go to impulse shop. I am glad I did not because the review for this does not look so good, but I personally love it. So I have been hunting for a matte or opaque royal blue. MAC did not seem to carry one in their permanent line, and MUFE did not seem to have the shade I wanted. So while at the CCO, I was not expecting to see this shade of beautiful blue available, and from my fave brand. I swatched quickly and grabbed the last one. I own a lot of MAC shadows, and while I can see how some people favor or hate some shades/textures, I love them all for different reasons. Climate blue is beautiful and so unique. I have not had any trouble with the texture and find it very easy to work with. I love how it is vibrant without looking neon or clownish. The pink sparkles do not show up on me so much, but I really don't care, the color is amazing.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jd-jd on 8/11/2008 3:28:00 PM more reviews by jd-jd

Age: Unknown   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I was rather taken with the Cool Heat collection--surprised by this as I am not a color-o-holic for eye shadow (being over 50, I tend to wear neutrals.) I like the blue greens with my green hazel eyes. I wasn't sure a violet blue would work or agree with me as purples often make me allergic.


I was pleasantly surprised at the usefulness of this color as a crease accent. It is inky, chalky to some degree and has some purple sparkle, but it goes on subtly in the crease and needs building. I liked it less as a wet lining color.

The texture is a bit softer than the other Cool Heat collection and mine showed up chipped in one edge. Since it was sold out, this didn't fuss me much, but the texture is softer and crumblier than the other shadows.



I wear it with Solar white lid and brow as a simple blue and white eye. I plan to try it with Warm Chill and Warming Trend to see how they look.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 debllah on 7/14/2008 4:23:00 AM more reviews by debllah

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

a very pretty color.....i would buy again if it wasnt LE
(NW20, lightblonde, blue eyes)
update: one lippie up still became one of my fave eyeshadows

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* hicupcake on 6/26/2008 12:08:00 PM more reviews by hicupcake

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Normally, I do not like blue eyeshadow...but Climate Blue is an awesome, wearable color! It's a bluish purple w/ pink sparkles in it. I don't think the sparkles show up much though. This shade is very versatile...it goes well with greens/teals and also w/ purples. Try it w/ Shale and Dazzlelight, it looks nice! Some people complain about the texture of Climate Blue, but I don't have a problem with it. I always use an e/s base, pat it on and blend it out. Sometimes the frost textures are way too shimmery for normal use, and make nice shades way to OTT. But like I said, this shade is very wearable, and I could see myself wearing it as a day color. I compared Climate Blue to Contrast, and Climate Blue is by far a nicer color. Contrast actually looks more black on my eyes, and makes me look dead.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jin1022000 on 6/24/2008 10:22:00 PM more reviews by jin1022000

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This baby doesn't have the best texture, not easy to blend. UNLESS! You ditch the brush and your finger~~~ ... use an applicator! W/ a good e/s primer (UDPP or TSFI). You should be able to blend well...


The color is amazing! I didn't want to get this color because of the VELVET texture (I hate velvets....). But since I already ordered all the other colors in this collection, I might as well include this one too~ and I'm very GLAD that I did. It's a dark bluish-purple. The purple that I've always wanted~! I agree w/ another reviewer, this one should be called CLIMATE PURPLE!~


I was gonna compare this color to some other MAC blue e/sz~ but seriously, I COULDNT FIND ANY OTHER SIMILAR COLORS!!! .... So... I think this e/s is a very unique color~ If you love purplez, you gotta buy this one!


Will I repurchase? Well... of course! But it's LE (I hate MAC's LE!!!)~ I was gonna buy a back-up of this. But since I've never used up one e/s in my life, I'll rest my case =.="


PS. My fav. colors of this collection are: blue flame, climate blue and cool heat (you can tell I'm not much of a neutral gal~ ^^)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 velvetice on 6/19/2008 11:27:00 PM more reviews by velvetice

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I ordered this off mac online on accident because I got this and Blue Flame confused, I got my order today and this e/s is a total keeper! As soon as I saw it I fell in love with the color, I did a look right away and although it is a bit harder to blend it CAN be done and the color is still bright and true. I later used it wet by loading up a 239 with it then soaking the brush in a drop of mixing medium and the color is as vibrant and beautiful as it is in the pan! I didn't have a color any close to this in my collection because I think most blues look bad on me but I love love this one.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 makeup_queen81 on 6/19/2008 11:59:00 AM more reviews by makeup_queen81

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

I love the color, HATE the texture. The pink pearl is amazing, i don't have another e's like this...but that said this is a chalky horrible, not so easy to blend e/s. The color once i get it even is amazing..it's a dark purple with pink reflects.. I really don't see any blue what so ever, maybe they should have called it Climate Purple..lol. I would probaly buy this again just because i do like the color, but the texture SUCKS!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ladyofmirkwood on 6/19/2008 10:45:00 AM more reviews by ladyofmirkwood

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This color is reminiscint of jeweltone. Jeweltone I could not get to work ever... its horrible this eyeshadow is easier to blend which is why i bought it they look very similar until u try putting them both on :p i really love the color it is a dark blue purple with hot pink sparkles and it looks amazing with teals and blues and purples so a good crease color for sure it is a little chalky but it is able to be blended so its something to check out not everyone will prolly be able to pull it off but i do i'll post some pics if i take any i've done a couple tutorials on u tube so yeah but this was the one eyeshadow from the collection i didn't think i was going to get until i seen it in person and played with it so suprised me in a very good way! anyway hope that helps!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 lnd12347 on 6/17/2008 7:44:00 PM more reviews by lnd12347

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

This had the chalkiest texture of any eyeshadow I've ever tried.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Eye Shadow products