Revlon • Colorsilk in Dark Brown • Hair Color

rated 4.3(78 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.88%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 Jeanbean7777 on 6/29/2014 5:15:00 PM more reviews by Jeanbean7777

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

This is good dye. I was afraid to dye my hair at home. Too many horror stories and I've been going to an upscale.salon for awhile. However, with the grays growing in like mad and the cost going too high I had to do them myself or go gray. So, I had to force myself to try. It.came out just fine. It was darker.than expected but I know.after.a.few.shampoos it will be a.nice.rich brown. I would heartily recommend.this.brand.of dye. Yes it is very messy to dye your own hair but I took all the hints from the other reviewers and really protected my bathroom with towels, saturated my.face, neck and hairline.with Vaseline to block the dye from staining my face and.neck. It doesn't run too much once.it's on your head. I liked this stuff and would definitely buy again. Go revlon!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Liz318 on 2/21/2014 12:51:00 PM more reviews by Liz318

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I LOVE this! My hair looks incredibly shiny and is an amazing shade of dark brown. This is my holy grail hair color. I've used other shades in this line as well and have liked them but this shade is my absolute favorite! My only gripe is that I wish they gave you more of the amazing conditioner.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 nanamisan on 1/18/2014 4:21:00 AM more reviews by nanamisan

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

My hair was ombre with dark brown on top and dark blonde on the bottom, however I had quite a few grays coming in. I wanted to even out the hair color so I opted for a deep rich shiny dark brown which is what I hoped this would be. No such luck, I ended up with dull flat black hair with ends that had a greenish tint... My grays weren't colored and I had to wait a few washes to see any brown. I didn't mind the ends because after all they were ombre but I can't forgive the no gray coverage, the dullness and not to mention dryness. Probably worst hair dye I've ever used and I've had my hair every color you can think of.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 foreverbrunette on 12/26/2013 2:36:00 PM more reviews by foreverbrunette

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Olive, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Amazing deep dark brown haircolor! I went from a medium brown to this dark brown haircolor. I wanted the deepest, darkest brown without going black and this is it. This dark brown looks black right after you have colored it but after it's been washed once or twice the color is very rich. There are no red tones and the color isn't flat. By far the best over Loreal and Garnier.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* blooiejagwa on 12/6/2013 3:57:00 PM more reviews by blooiejagwa

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

I thought it sucked (too cool, flat) but then after another wash, I realized it rocked. Other people agreed with the latter sentiment. All the 5 star reviews are true. The end.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 silentmode on 12/2/2013 1:11:00 AM more reviews by silentmode

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I dyed my hair yesterday and just get a jet black hair, and its not dark brown. I think it really depends on your hair color. but have to say my hair look shiner then before and this may due to the conditioner they provided. I hoped that the color will fade soon.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* prettypollyperkins on 10/28/2013 7:03:00 AM more reviews by prettypollyperkins

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Total rubbish. I was sucked into trying this due to the great reviews and the price but it left my scalp very sore and my hair like straw. Days after using it (I followed the instructions to a tee) the colour (dark brown mixed with golden brown) still looked unremarkable and totally flat with any shine taken out of my formerly extremely shiny hair. It took me weeks to whip my hair back into shape with intensive conditioning, rosemary rinses and keratin spray plus my weekly Aphogee treatment. Don't use this if your hair is fine. And if you have resistant greys don't bother either. Mine were showing again after just a week. The overall colour, however boring, only faded a little though.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 m3talmary on 10/11/2013 12:23:00 AM more reviews by m3talmary

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

Love this stuff! It's only like $2.30 and it does a good job at coloring for what it is. The conditioner is the bomb as well! It leaves my hair super soft. I wish I could buy bottles of it

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 whimsicaldreamz on 10/10/2013 10:42:00 PM more reviews by whimsicaldreamz

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I typically use feria red dyes... Wanted to change it up a bit and go chocolate brown.. A few weeks ago i used feria "espresso" which sucked and barely covered the red dye. Today i used revlon dark brown and my hair is now BLACK.... But the first 3 inches of my hair still has red tones. I am very disappointed.. I wanted BROWN hair :(... I have died my hair black on purpose years ago and I know this is black.. NOT "dark brown"!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 DLyanii on 9/21/2013 2:47:00 AM more reviews by DLyanii

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I love this product. Especially if anything goes wrong with any other color dye or brand this always has my back and fix my haircolor. Revlon dark brown is one of the best colors at first looks black but then fades away and the hair will be a brown natural looking.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Revlon products

More Hair Color products