California Baby • SPF 30+ SUNSCREEN • Sunscreen

rated 3.0(17 reviews)

Average Rating.3.0
Would buy this product again.41%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 nikrou on 1/22/2013 5:06:00 PM more reviews by nikrou

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I have no babies, but I wouldn't put this stuff near my 8 month old goddaughter. This stuff is so oily. I don't know what else to say about this stuff. I feel like an idiot for ever putting this on my skin. It will clog your pores. I am currently waiting for summer so I can use this on my body so it doesn't go to waste. But even on my body it is extremely oily. GREASY OILY.

There are better products out there.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* girlndocs on 5/21/2012 7:20:00 PM more reviews by girlndocs

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Other, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

Over the past several years my face has gradually become sensitized to -- as far as I can tell -- every chemical sunscreen. Last year I used only sunscreens containing physical blockers (Eucerin Sensitive Skin spf30 and Neutrogena Baby spf50), but you can imagine my horror this spring when I discovered that I had also become sensitized to some ingredient on both of those sunscreens. I have to imagine that the ingredient in question is part of the inactive ingredients, but that doesn't make much difference when your face feels like it's on fire and is rough and flaky the next day.


Anyway, I went looking for sunscreens that might not irritate my skin and since this cream has a very short ingredients list with no fragrances, is touted as being sooper dooper safe, and is sold in some places under the name "super sensitive", it might be a good bet. WRONG. It burned just like the Neutrogena, if not as badly as the Eucerin.


I finally found that Vanicream sunscreens are the only products I can use. So much for the naturalistic fallacy, and preference for short ingredient lists!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 jabritao on 5/21/2012 12:06:00 PM more reviews by jabritao

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I like that this product is so highly rated on the Environmental Working Group's Cosmetic Database; however, I would definitely not repurchase. The formula is thick and it feels heavy on my skin. It leaves a very noticeable whitish / sickly mauve cast that doesn't go away. It is also difficult to get it off in the shower.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 tokiboom on 3/5/2012 1:42:00 AM more reviews by tokiboom

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Bought this sunscreen for my 12 month old daughter. She broke out and I thought maybe it was because she was too young to use sunscreen. Gave it another try when she was 18 months and she broke out again. In the trash it goes. What a waste.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 alaskafuji on 2/7/2012 1:34:00 AM more reviews by alaskafuji

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

This product is kinda sad since it claims that it was made for sensitive skin. it still give my face red bumps and rashes :( so i'm assuming that you have to use alot for this product to work on your skin. although i put on 1 extra more layer of the sunscreen to give a higher protection.
It's fine on my body though but would not use it for my face.
My skin is very sensitive and this doesnt help to calm my face at all. I guess i have to go back to my Noevir sunscreen.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 telo7 on 1/29/2012 5:06:00 AM more reviews by telo7

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

This can only work on the body, not my face. The scent is a little strong, and unpleasant if it's on the face. There is a certain lemongrass scent but I don't see "lemongrass" among the ingredients. I used the product on my face and it left a whitish cast even though I only used a little (pea-sized). My face became so greasy and shiny after a while, it looks ridiculous, like I painted my face with oil. Glad that I was at home and not out with makeup on. I don't think blotting the face can remove the shine left on the face (I tried). The heavy texture was felt on my arms too. Very sticky and shiny-looking. May be good for outdoor activities and it's quite water-resistant, but definitely not for my face.
I was unable to use it any more than that one time, so I can't tell if it causes any outbreaks.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 d7293 on 4/18/2011 8:32:00 PM more reviews by d7293

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Really thick formula. Very hard to absorb into skin. Left white/purplish cast on skin. Holding the cream in the palm of my hand, heating it, allowed the formula to absorb somewhat better. Did not break out my ultra-sensitive skin, but will not purchase again because of the heaviness of the product on my skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 chitammy on 8/18/2010 2:52:00 AM more reviews by chitammy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

After hearing many rave other californnia baby having the best safe sunblock i decided to try it. also according to ewg studies which a group of researchers who studies sunscreen effectivenesss and safety.. I have used this for more than 5 month on a daily base.I guess because of the high concentration of titanium oxide i broke out from the first use. Over the 5 month, my face have grew use to the product that i no longer break out from it. I even stop breaking out from my loreal mineral foundation that contain this ingredient.

BREAK OUT:
Note that titanium oxide does break many ppl out! I break out from many makeup that contain this ingredients. just cuz you break out from it does not mean that it is not good for you. just make sure you wash your face well by exfoliating because sunblock tends to stay on your face even if you wash your face. One thing to note and my only con of this product is you can get rashes when you use it after you pluck your facial hair, having a cut on your face, or recently burnt yourself with chemical product .Maybe it is the epsom salt or the titanium but i am not sure.. Other than that, my skin have stopped breaking out except some rash on damage skin.


SIMPLE INGREDIENTS:
I love that the ingredients list is short and simple while california baby provide us with a parentheses or simple one word definition for ingredients that we don't know. However they do not list percentage of titanium in this product.


WHITE CAST:
This sunblock does make you look white. put only a pea size n spread it so you can't see any white any more. For more blendable and sheer texture, i use a spray bottle with water and spray some water on my pea size sunblock and then put it on my face. Anywho, most sunblock or titanium base are going to make you white, but its workable so just put a darker makeup powder to match your skintone.


PROTECTION:
As for protection, there is not sign of tanning on my face plus my freckles are at bay. Fyi, i take public transportation and walk alot to school, and i wear sunglass and try to stay indoors.

edit: i am almost finish with the sunscreen. Overall it is a good sunscreen that i will come back to it if i cannot find something better. This sunblock is good and easy to blend.. I will not buy another one right now because i am going to try badger.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 linwild on 6/29/2010 12:48:00 PM more reviews by linwild

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This sunscreen felt heavy and greasy going on but absorbed into the skin pretty well (though it remained a bit greasy afterwards). I have medium-toned skin, and it didn't leave much of a white cast, which I was expecting. I like that it has titanium for UVA protection. I didn't like its nasty lemongrass scent. Overall, I didn't love this sunscreen but might buy it again. EDIT: Ugh. Ugh. Ugh. I tried this stuff a couple of more times and ended up just throwing it out. It left a conspicuous purplish-white tint to my skin and stayed greasy. It was difficult to scrub off in the shower. Given its apparent water resistance, it might be a decent product for swimming if you don't mind looking like a geisha gone wrong, but the white cast and the texture were just too much for me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* BothCoasts on 1/13/2010 10:18:00 PM more reviews by BothCoasts

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This sunscreen works as a physical barrier, rather than a chemical one; thus, it will probably leave a subtle white/ashy cast to the face. If you want a physical blocker, however, this is a very nice one that's not outrageously smelly. I agree with other reviewers, however, that this is the kind of sunscreen that you break out for the beach, not for your outdoor wedding because of the ashiness and shininess it will bring to your complexion. The jury is still out as to physical v. chemical sunscreens, but this one does rank very low hazard by the folks at Skin Deep database (which looks at cosmetics in terms of health and safety), fyi.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More California Baby products

More Sunscreen products