MAC • Gentle Simmer Slimshine • Lipstick

rated 4.5(30 reviews)

Average Rating.4.5
Would buy this product again.86%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 maggiejeanjones on 6/26/2011 10:35:00 PM more reviews by maggiejeanjones

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I love MAC Slimshines!!! This is probably my favorite color: a sheer pink-peach shade with loads of shine. Slimshines are shiny without feeling sticky like a gloss. This color makes a beautiful springtime/summertime lip that just subtly brightens up the face. Too bad they were discontinued :/ I found a backup for this at my local COO, so I can keep loving this color for a little longer.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Hannahbby2 on 6/24/2011 12:46:00 AM more reviews by Hannahbby2

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

One of my favorite summer lip products! It's a peachy coral with shimmer that brightens my complexion beautifully. I adore the texture, very glossy and smooth feeling. I find that these are even a little moisturizing because of the balm-like feel. I love pairing this lipstick with a golden or bronze eye and a peachy pink blush. So beautiful! It's so sad that MAC discontinued these, they were one of my favorite products. If you can find one at a CCO, definitely pick it up!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lygophilia on 11/30/2010 1:35:00 PM more reviews by lygophilia

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

I really like Gentle Simmer. In the tube it appears as a bright peachy coral, but on my lips it shows up as a sheer light peachy nude. Very glossy, moisturizing, and the formula is so smooth and satiny. I bought this on eBay and definitely will buy a few more for back up as it's a great product and colour.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sarajane927 on 11/28/2010 9:23:00 PM more reviews by sarajane927

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

HG! This is the perfect sheer, glossy, neutral pink that goes with everything. I wear this nearly everyday with a variety of makeup looks. It's unassuming enough to go with a smokey eye but also rosy enough to fit with a natural eye look. It's got just the right mix of warmth and coolness to compliment both pink and coral blushes. And it's the perfect hybrid of lipstick and lipgloss--the staying power/non-stickiness of a lipstick and the shine of a gloss.
Wish this wasn't LE as it's a shade I know I will use up quickly.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mimie on 6/27/2010 1:23:00 PM more reviews by mimie

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I am totally in love with it. Its a very light coral-pink colour. Ideal for a more quite-lips look, pretty neutral but with colour. Its very sheer so it looks better on light skintones. If you have darker combination you should use powder on your lips, so that the colour can stand out.
It is so great and makes the lips pop and look bigger.I adore it. It looks so natural but so chic pretty. Defiantely will repurchase. I was looking so long for such a bright but natural colour

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sheisontherun on 3/23/2010 12:57:00 PM more reviews by sheisontherun

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I'm normally a gloss/balm kind of girl but I love this. It's light, smells great, feels smooth and moisturizing on the lips and still packs some color pay off. I have pigmented lips but this still gives a great glow and a shot of neutral-pink color. The downside: how little product you get for the price.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* starrysim on 3/13/2010 5:36:00 PM more reviews by starrysim

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I love Gentle Simmer. It's a bright peachy pink in the tube, but it shows up quite natural on my lips. At first I thought it wasn't pigmented enough, but I think I've changed my mind. Also, while it does have some shimmer, it doesn't feel gritty at all. I adore the Slimshine packaging and the formula - it doesn't dry my lips out at all. I have no idea why MAC discontinued these lipsticks.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* niclyf on 2/14/2010 11:53:00 PM more reviews by niclyf

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Gentle Simmer was my intro into the slimshines, and this is both good and bad for me.



The color is pretty although not unique .. a soft peachy/pink with a hint of shimmer and delivers lots of shine. The drawback to this is that while it applies beautifully and smoothly, and with more body (thickness) than the lustres do, it's still fairly sheer, and after about an hour on .. just dries the crap out of my lips and actually makes them peel! I can't rank this as a repurchase for that reason alone. While the color is pretty, it's just not worth the price for wearing it. I'm sure I'll use this from time to time, but it's definitely not one of my preferred lipsticks.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* malston81 on 1/26/2010 10:46:00 PM more reviews by malston81

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Dark, Warm   Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I saw this color online & I thought it was a pretty color until I purchased it and tried it. I really did not like the way it look, it was too shimmery or frosty but whatever it was it wasn't working for me so I returned it like the next day. I think this product was a limited edition or discontinued, however, it doesn't matter to me because I would not repurchase it!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* aksaiyo on 12/6/2009 6:08:00 AM more reviews by aksaiyo

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This is a pretty light yellow-pink. I wouldn't call it peachy, but it is definitely not cool. It is a basically a neutral leaning on warm pink base color with gold pearls, making it warmer. It is a great summery shade that I love on my NC25-30 skin tone. This lipstick is sheer, but it is slightly buildable (especially with a lip brush). The texture is very soft and creamy, so much so that it can melt a little (becoming rather squishy, but still *rather* solid) when left in my pocket on hot summer days. It leaves a glossy finish, but is not sticky like real glosses. It comes in a beautiful bullet type packaging that can get a little messy on the inside of the tube because of its soft meltyness. Now, I must say that it is not the best value on earth because somehow I finished my first tube in 2 months, and it wasn't even the only product I used during that time. But that is because it is, again, super soft and that these sheer lipsticks are always smaller at 2.3g while normal lipsticks are 3g. All in all, a great lipstick, it's soft, creamy, and has a glossy shine, but you use it up fast and it can get a bit too soft and melty. I will definitely repurchase for the summer because I do like the color and the texture, and I don't mind the price too much because I also love my Dior Serum de Rouge, which is 2g, but more than double the price.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Lipstick products