Nivea Hydro Care

3.8

86 reviews

72% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Active: Octinoxate, Avobenzone, Other: Octyldodecanol, Caprylic/Capric Triglycerides, Microcrystalline Wax, Ricinus Communis (Castor) Seed Oil, Cetyl Palmitate, Myristyl Myristate, Polyglyceryl-3 Diisostearate, Water, Glycerin, Cetearyl Alcohol, Copernicia Cerifera (Carnauba) Wax, Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea Butter), Simmondsia Chinensis (Jojoba) Seed Oil, Tocopheryl Acetate, Vitis Vinifera (Grape) Seed Oil, C20-40 Alkyl Stearate, Beeswax, Fragrance


on 6/11/2015 3:49:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Medium, Cool

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

No, no, no, no. I live in a very humid country, and even then, eight glasses of water a day isn't enough to keep my chapped lips away. I was looking for a new lip balm after I'd tossed out my Burt's Bees mango butter one, which frankly, did not do much at all. For a period of time, I slathered on coconut oil before going to bed, which worked just fine. However, I decided I needed something more on-the-go, because coconut oil is a mess to handle when it's 36 degrees celsius outside. So I picked this up at my local drugstore, because it had sun protection and promised hydrated lips.

What a mistake.

I took it out of the package as soon as I paid for it. The smell was overpowering and noxious. It smells like poorly-made artificial almond scent. I couldn't stand it. That aside, it did not absorb as quickly as it was purported to - I took a two hour nap after slapping this on and when I woke up, that greasy, icky feeling was still there on my lips. Hydration was subpar.

In short, it smells bad, feels greasy, and does minimal nourishment. Pass.



Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Excellent product. Very moisturizing. I put this on every night before bed. I don't have to reapply. Compared to others, it just feels different - very hydrating. Great product!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

It's a pretty generic lip balm, and it doesn't do much for me in the wintertime.


on 12/28/2014 1:08:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

This lip balm is my life. I use it every day whether my lips are dry, I want a little gloss on my lips, before lipstick, everything. It does exactly what it says and it always leaves my lips feeling amazing and helps my lipstick go on effortless and not have that dry look, especially with mattes. This lip balm is super affordable and you can always find it on sales. I'm on my third tube atm and I will definitely continue to repurchase


on 12/20/2014 6:44:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Gives my lips that "perfect lip" look! The thing I love about this, and the thing that makes this unique is the way it nourishes and cares for my lips without it being greasy at all! And it lasts too! The packaging has little bumps at the bottom of where the lid goes down to when closed which keeps the lid from falling off which I think is genius! When I used my mothers one of this before buying it I was dreading that id have to pay £7 or 8 quid for it but it was just under £2.00 !!! Would recommend to anyone!!!


on 12/17/2014 11:41:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have severe allergies including eczema, I have tried N3-3 Lip complex, paw paw ointment, Arbonne and numerous natural remedies which simply did not work. (Tried and tested)
Vaseline (which works at times) however this does tops it all!!! 110% removes my dryness, cracked bleeding lips and i don't tend to need to keep reapplying it, no awful smell or makes me want to lick my lips and includes sun-cream which i have noticed less sun moles on my lips- that's how bad my lips are! would recommend to anyone sensitive like me! good luck i cannot recommend it enough! FABULOUS PRODUCT don't know why it would receive negative feedback as bonus it is value for money.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/2/2014 12:20:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I have been using this balm for the last 6 years and it never let me down. Living in Canada, winter can do real damage to skin in general and I got used to chapped lips. It hasn't been a problem since I first bought this product and I've been through at least a dozen tubes since. I always have one on me. I travel a lot and it's been as useful in Quebec's humid winter as in India's driest season.

I usually put a thick layer before going to bed, and a sheer one in the morning. It hydrates my lips and therefore lipstick is holding on better during the day.

I think this balm is to be used in preventive cases, protecting against dry and cold climates. And for that price, there's really nothing to complain about.


on 11/22/2014 2:55:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I honestly don't understand why the rating for this product is so low... This is the best lip balm I have ever used in my entire life!! I've been using Hydro Care lipbalm for more than an year and I'm still in love with it.. And I know a lot of my close friends use it too and they love it. I will repurchase everytime I run out until I find a better one.


on 11/20/2014 12:32:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This lip balm dries my lips out for some reason. I never feel like it truly penetrates my lips, it just feels like it sits on top and gets rubbed off after like an hour. It's a shame because it smells wonderful and it's cheap too!


on 10/9/2014 10:01:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I like that its formulation allows you to easily smooth it onto your lips. I find with some other lip balms, you kind of either need to: 1. have a smooth lip for the lip balm to easily glide over your lips, or 2. you need to sort of radiate your body temperature through your lips to get the lip balm to "melt" so it can smooth on more easily.

I like that this product is always in stock in the stores. Originally, I would have never bought the product (I got it as a sample at my university), because my sister had the version where you dip your finger into the container and put the balm on your lips. That version of this product just looked extra wet, like water, which turned me off the product. But I'm glad I got a sample, because I will definitely be getting this in the future as like a basic go-to balm.


Back to Top