No Brand (DIY or homemade) • Spironolactone for Acne • Skincare - Face

rated 3.9(86 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.84%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 siminims on 9/18/2014 6:46:00 PM more reviews by siminims

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Amazing, amazing, amazing.

I've been having a hormonal acne breakout that was attributed to coming off the pill...but this 'breakout' lasted a whole year. It just got worse and worse, and finally I got my OB-GYN to run some bloodwork. It turned out my testosterone was high though I was otherwise healthy, and she put me on 50mg spiro twice a day.

She told me it usually takes about 3 months to really see an improvement.

One month in, and about 90% of my body breakouts are GONE. My face is probably about 40% less oily, as is my scalp, and I only had two cystic breakouts during my period this month. My skin is SIGNIFICANTLY better, I'd say about 40-50% reduce in breakouts.
I still have trouble with clogged pores and small bumps, though.

Cons are: my hair, lips and hands are MUCH drier. I use a humidifier at night now because the dry air from the AC hurts when I breathe it in through my nose. My cuticles and lips crack when I don't apply Vaseline regularly.
I do find myself peeing more than I did before so I can't take my nightly dosage before I go to the movies, and if I know I'm going to be on a long drive I take my second dose AFTER I get back.
When I don't drink enough water, my muscles begin to ache and I get really, really tired... My libido is also way, way down.

Note -- I started out on 50mg ONCE a day (half the dosage prescribed to me) for the first week to get adjusted to the diuretic effect. Then after a week I increased the dosage to 50 mg twice a day as prescribed.This helped me a lot in getting used to the side effects.

I haven't noticed weight gain, but I've been trying to lose weight for awhile now so we'll have to see. But it's really, really helped my skin and I am extremely thankful for that.

I will update this review once I've hit the 3-month mark. :)

EDIT, 11/25/14: I got sick for two weeks and I wasn't taking my Spiro... sigh, I guess it's a good thing it doesn't stick around for long in the body, but in terms of oiliness I'm right back where I started. I also started to break out on my chin and a few spots on my back/chest. So note to self and others, take this as religiously as you'd take any other Rx! On the plus side, I can jump right back into the full dosage and not feel particularly dehydrated or dizzy like I did before.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 hay_guise on 9/2/2014 6:51:00 PM more reviews by hay_guise

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Dark   Hair: Other   Eyes: Black    

I have suffered from acne since i was 15. Its mostly hormonal and ive tried(do you have time? have a seat....list is long) everything from atropin(retin-a) to tazorac, doxycycline etc. Topicals and Ingested products. What's spiro? Its basically an androgen blocker. Meaning it blocks testoterone production. Testoterone is what causes some cases of hormonal acne, hair loss in some body parts(head), excessive hair growth in other areas etc. (DONT QUOTE ME IM NOT A DOC)
Ive been using it for about 6 months and about 3 mths ago, my derm upped my dosage from 50mg to 100mg. In the past few months ive also GAINED WEIGHT. I dont fit in most of my clothes. Ive gone from weighing 115lbs soaking wet to 130lbs!!! Am i upset? Of course!! Had to donate all my clothes. My tits are BIGGER, my butt is plumper and so is my freaking stomach. I didnt relate the weight gain to spiro until recently. Another TMI observation is i was spotting randomly and for weeks straight. I think the spiro had a lot to do with it!! :( Will it make me stop taking it? Absolutely not!!
I have not broken out/had ONE zit in about 3 months(after dosage increase) and i will take the 15lbs weight gain that i probably needed and hope its no more than that!! I might talk to my derm and see if she advises to go back down to 50mg and ill report back!!
Another pro is that Im no longer as oily. Before you could fry eggs with the amount of oil my face produced. Lancome teint idole ultra foundation and bioderma primer were my BFFs and now, i dont even bother to blot or powder my face in the humid summer heat all thanks to spiro!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Lex07 on 7/24/2014 11:01:00 PM more reviews by Lex07

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Other    

I've had stubborn acne since age 13. Recently, my face, chest, upper arm and back are breaking out like crazy. I have a very oily complexion in the t-zone area and pimples on my forehead, chin, jaw area and both sides of my face. These pimples leave behind brown/reddish marks all over the sides of my face that take years to fade away! After 2 weeks taking Spiro (once a day, 50 mg) i'm beginning to see a change. I've noticed my face is less oily, and my forehead has for the most part cleared up. I did however experience a a bad break out on my chin and the left side of my face after about 4 days of taking Spiro but that has cleared up now. Although I havent seen a HUGE difference yet, im going to be patient with it. SIde effects in the first wk were frequent urination especially in the few hours after taking a dose and I got my period 1 wk early. It was an extremely light period though--just brown spotting.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 luckygirlblue124 on 7/24/2014 11:52:00 AM more reviews by luckygirlblue124

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I have such mixed feelings about Spiro (along with Glucophage 1000mg for PCOS)

I have only been taking it for 3 weeks, and the side effects are insane.

Pros:
I have lost 14 pounds in 3 weeks. My boobs are bigger. My skin is clear, glowing and.. beautiful, quite frankly. I have struggled with acne since the age of 17 on, and it has always been a source of embarassment for me. My hair in shiny, soft, and not falling out.

Cons:
I feel dizzy and tired all of the time. I have ZERO appetite, have to force myself to eat anything or drink anything. I developed a kidney infection due to dehydration from not drinking enough. I feel jittery and have headaches a lot since starting Spiro.

I am taking 50mg once a day, and I am going to cut them in half to see if I feel any better. I love the pros, but the cons, to me, are almost unbearable.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 wilyplatypus on 7/16/2014 6:14:00 AM more reviews by wilyplatypus

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Made me weepy and fat. And then had my period for 4 weeks when I stopped taking it. And then toxic shock. In the hospital for 9 days. Beware, these are strong hormones.

6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 robbin11293 on 7/13/2014 7:00:00 PM more reviews by robbin11293

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I suffer from terrible cyctic acne and have since I was a teenager. I've tried everything under the sun to get rid of this curse that has left my face with many pock marks and dark spots. My dermatologist kept putting me on antibiotics, and, truthfully, they worked but only for so long. Not to mention, I'm not the biggest fan of prolonged antibiotic use, because it's really unhealthy for your insides. My other problem is that I knew my cyctic acne was caused mainly by hormones. Anyways, I happened to be watching a makeup blogger, and she explained the medication that she was using -- Spironolactone. She had success with this medication, and I knew that I needed to give this a try.

I'm in my first month of useing this medication, and this review is just of what I've experienced so far while taking Spironolactone, as this medication is supposed to take a few months before anyone can see significant results. The night that I started taking the medication I had bad stomach cramps and was in and out of the bathroom. A day after starting on this medication, I noticed that my face and the crown of my scalp was not oily. This is great because around that time of the month my face and scalp would get SO oily, that no matter how well I washed my hair, it felt like I hadn't showered. Yeah, it was gross. My face has remained oil-free feeling, but I have to use oil-free moisturizer after I wash my face because it does dry out and get pretty tight feeling. Many people have said that they experienced a major weight-loss, and, sadly, I haven't, at least not yet. hahaha! Really though, I haven't noticed any difference in less acne, but I have had a pretty bad breakout around my chin and even around my ears.

My hope is that this medication will work after a while. So far there is nothing too bad to complain about, but I'll keep everyone updated.

UPDATE July 27th-

The oiliness on my face and crown of scalp has kind of returned. The acne around my mouth and on my ears still hasn't gone away. I havent had acne around my ear area in a long time. No weight loss or weight gain. Though it hasn't been a month, it feels as though I'm almost taking a step backwards rather than progressing in my struggle to get clear skin because nothing has changed for the better. Anyways, I'm going to continue to stick with this for a few more months.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* briloveschocolatebunnies on 5/11/2014 4:44:00 PM more reviews by briloveschocolatebunnies

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

First of all, this is a prescription drug so you need to make sure to take the advice of your doctor with this. However, I can tell you that this has worked wonders on my skin when nothing else (prescription topicals and antibiotics) would! I have not tried accutane before so I can't speak for that.

Spironolactone (the brand name is Aldactone) was actually designed to control blood pressure, but the dosage prescribed for acne typically is a lower dosage. It is a diuretic and potassium sparing. Because of this, depending on your dosage, you will need to make sure to drink plenty of water and have your blood checked to monitor potassium levels. If you are taking a high dose, you may have to monitor that you do not eat an excessive amount of foods that are high in potassium.

The great effect this medication has on acne is that it can block androgens. This is one reason that it is really a treatment for women with acne and not men. If you have hormonal acne, this can do wonders. It also really seemed to help my skin's oiliness. I have combo skin, but the oily parts of my skin were really improved by this.

I have read that it typically takes 4 months to see significant improvement, but I saw it start in a week. I also find to not get worried that your dosage isn't high enough. Give it time. A lot of people respond great on only 25mg or 50 mg (these are considered low dosages), and it would be ideal to use the lowest dosage needed. I also have found a big difference in splitting the dosage up (half in the morning/half at night) so see if your doctor says that's an option for you. I haven't had side effects on 50mg/day.

Some cons: This drug has a "black box" warning because when tested on rats---with a dose over 50 times higher than would would be prescribed to humans---it caused tumors. However, this journal entry from the US National Library of Medicine really addresses this concern: http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC3315877/

Also, when I did go off of this medication, my acne came back in a few months. So, it is more of a management...not a cure. Definitely worth a try though.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 wintertragedyx on 5/6/2014 2:52:00 PM more reviews by wintertragedyx

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Okay, so I'm going to write a review on this medication, finally, after having been on it since September of last year (approx. 8 months). For me, it has changed my life in a few ways besides taking care of the dreaded cystic acne.

I'm going to share something that might be TMI. I used to have a very...pungent body odor. I've been told that it wasn't necessarily bad, but it was very strong. It would linger in my clothing even after I washed them. It was embarrassing for me. I would cringe every time my boyfriend's face would go anywhere near my pit region. I was very aware of the scent and there was no deodorant in the world that could touch it (I tried them all). Then I started taking Spiro. Within a few weeks, I realized that I no longer had a lingering scent. I could wear clothing more than once, and there was no odor. My pits just smelled like...smelly good deodorant. I can't tell you how stoked I was to discover this. I would take this medication for this fact alone. It's crazy awesome.

My skin was ridiculously oily. Like, nasty, grease-slick oily. Makeup would only last 1-2 hours before sliding off and becoming patchy and disgusting. It didn't matter what makeup I was using, the result was always the same. After a few weeks (less than a month) of using Spiro at 100mg, my face was what I would consider "normal". Neither oily nor dry. My makeup looks fantastic all day, regardless of the foundation I use. Anyone who struggles with extremely oily skin AND cystic acne knows how devastating it can be. It's like you can't even cover up the horrible marks all over your face, because the makeup will slip off and look even worse that your bare skin in a few hours.

Spiro cured my cystic acne. It didn't happen over night. It didn't happen within the first few months. It was a VERY gradual process over the course of the last 8 months. And I still get zits and inflamed pores once or twice a month. But I no longer get the painful, gigantic cysts that leave indented scars in my skin.

Spiro is something you have to stick with. You have to be consistent. You have to realize that it can and will take many months for your acne to clear up to a manageable level.

Now for the bad. Because, there's always some sort of negative side effect with any medication you take. For me, it increased the amount of little visible veins in my legs. But in saying that, I will also say that it was probably because of the hormonal fluctuation. You can see an increase in leg veins if you are pregnant or take birth control, too. It's not horrendous. The only person that notices is me. But it is something to be aware of.

The first few months, while getting acclimated to the medication, I would wake up in the middle of the night and have to pee. When I would stand up, I would get extremely dizzy. I'm assuming it's because it lowers your blood pressure. After a few months, though, this went away.

It messes with your period. My period happens anywhere between 30-45 days now. Sometimes I get random spotting. It kind of sucks, and it could probably be remedied if I took it with birth control, but birth control is what transformed my skin from normal and blemish free to a cystic mess of a grease-slick. Wasn't willing to chance that crap again, so I just deal with the irregularities of my period.

I hope this was helpful. I know that while I was waiting for the medication to work it helped to read other people's experiences with it as motivation to keep going with it. It does work, it just take a lot more time than someone struggling with cystic acne would like it to take.

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 slim34 on 5/3/2014 2:04:00 PM more reviews by slim34

Age: 44-55   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

This medication has been nothing short of a miracle for my skin. I've been acne-prone on and off throughout my 30s and early 40s. Topicals helped somewhat, but I still got hormonal cysts that would take forever to go away if I didn't get them injected with cortisone. It got to the point where I had very few clogged pores, no pustules or regular zits - just the deep, pea-sized cysts on my chin and jawline. Spironolactone began to get rid of my cysts almost immediately. I had no initial breakout - just got clearer and clearer. I have been on the medication for almost 6 months now, and have not had a single cyst in that time. I was probably getting 1-2 a month on average before I started the med, sometimes more than that. I am on a fairly low dose - 25 mg, 2x a day. No side effects to speak of, other than a slight increase in urination and thirst. I do find that higher doses tend to make me a little light-headed, so I'm glad that I am getting results with just 50 mg a day.

Definitely worth asking your derm about if you are suffering from acne that is largely cystic and hormonal.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Thirtynineandcounting on 4/26/2014 1:05:00 AM more reviews by Thirtynineandcounting

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I'll be 39 this year. My teen years aside from one major pimple every now and then were acne free, as were my 20's and half of my 30's. Suddenly at 37 years old I started getting the worst "pizza face" cystic acne I ever had all around my face. I was incredibly embarrassed and wore my long hair down in hopes of covering my scarring face. I'm typically very confident but with the incredible amount of acne that never left I avoided being in the spotlight or leaving the house.

I tried retinol, face creams, scrubs etc.

Finally a dermatologist visit was in order.
Last year they claimed it was all hormonal and put me on Spiro. I was warned it would take a long time.

It did.

Six months no results. I would have given up had the doctor not told me I'd see no changes for a very long time.

Trusting him I did it with no results.

Very slowly about 9 months into it changes happened. To make a very long story short
My skin has NEVER looked better! Smooth. No acne! No embarrassment. Little makeup!

And the best part, getting noticed by very attractive younger men in their 20's.

In the past week alone four different people (guys and gals) thought I was at least 10 years younger than I am, thinking I'm 29!

Commit yourself to this for a year before giving up! You won't be disappointed if it's truly diagnosed as hormonal acne.

I feel great and my skin looks fabulous. Give it a shot. Very pleased but it was a looooooooooooong process. Well worth it.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More No Brand (DIY or homemade) products

More Skincare - Face products