MAC • Saint Germain (amplified creme) • Lipstick

rated 4.1(191 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.70%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Mellymoomar on 3/9/2014 8:30:00 PM more reviews by Mellymoomar

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

LOVE Saint Germain it is one of my go to lipsticks of life. I love pink lipsticks in general, they seem to work best with my skin tone and I would definitely reach for a pink lip over a red or a neutral any day, although I do still love a red or nude lip. Saint Germain is a pale neon bubble gum pink with a blue undertone that makes it very cool toned. Its definitely a statement lip so if you were to wear this you'd definitely need to be toning down the eyes because its very neon and I think a dramatic eye plus this dramatic lip is equal to a hot mess. Unless you like that sort of thing of course!
My only complaint is it can be a little bit opaque and streaky when applied, almost chalky in texture, so it can make it a little hard to get it to look even on the lips. Sometimes I find it easier to work with a lip brush when applying just to even things out a little. The amount of times I am complimented when wearing this colour though doesn't put me off using it because of this.
Overall, I love, would recommend and repurchase

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Asti1234 on 3/8/2014 1:11:00 AM more reviews by Asti1234

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

NOT a good colour for my skintone. When I first owned this it was summer time so I was more tanned than usual, about Nc35. It made me look like I was trying to be Barbie's best friend. The colour is a cool toned lavender pink, I just couldn't get it to work for me. The colour also goes on unevenly and wears off the same, unevenly and patchy. Take a look on Google and you'll see what I mean. It goes all scummy. Not a good look in my opinion! I tried it when I was paler too, (Nc25) and still, no joy. Off it went into s w a p p e r s p h e r e...... x

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* clarissa90 on 3/6/2014 10:24:00 PM more reviews by clarissa90

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I tried this on at a MAC counter today and it was very neon. I like to pull off a lavender pink here and there, but this is too much. I will not purchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 AngelWingsLipgloss on 2/20/2014 4:57:00 AM more reviews by AngelWingsLipgloss

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

This is a fun color for sure. I was a tad worried I might look stupid wearing this because o my age but I've decided to go ahead and wear it proudly. It doesn't dry out my lips and is a pleasure to create looks with.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ElleK7 on 2/19/2014 11:10:00 PM more reviews by ElleK7

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

This is your Mac in your face bubble gum pink! Looks great, although I've noticed amplified cream is almost too creamy and comes off pretty quick. Mac needs to come out with a pro lip liner that matches better besides "In Anticipation", it's a little on the rose side. Hopefully they're have something soon. Over good lipstick

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* valmont32677 on 2/18/2014 9:54:00 PM more reviews by valmont32677

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

A cheaper dupe for KA'OIR Snookilicious lipstick. This is $15 whereas KA'OIR is $22 plus shipping. If you like Snooki's or Nicki Minaj's style or you want an over-the-top/larger-than-life lipstick, this is your color. Looks very "hoopty girl" when paired with black e/s, black eyeliner, bronzer, & huge silver hoop earrings. When I wear this lipstick, I feel my inner diva coming out to the forefront. Kinda part stripper/part adult film actress, & I mean that in the most complimentary way possible. I feel like I want to wear VS Love Spell perfume when I wear this!! I personally luv this color, although it's not my usual shade as I usually reach for a color more nude or brown (ie more conservative!!). I can see where some people wouldn't like this shade, but if you do like it, you may also like MAC Behave Yourself or that the one MAC Nicki Minaj color they had that was the bright neon pink one (not the lavender one). This is in your face "wowza." I think this would look good on girls with glasses, it would balance out your features, at least that's how it looks on myself. I really adore this color. I am NC15/C10.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Ferrishyn on 1/28/2014 9:58:00 PM more reviews by Ferrishyn

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I have been wanting this forever and was left so disappointed I can't even describe my letdown. I am very cool-toned and light. NW20 at my darkest and very dark hair. You'd think this would be perfect...no. It's so pale and so pastel it just looks weird. I can't imagine who this looks good on. It's supposed to be for fair girls who are cool-toned...so I don't know.

Not only did the color just not work but its very VERY streaky and takes a while to get it even. I guess it's because its so pastel? I have never been letdown by a MAC lipstick but this is a first. The rep thought it would look good considering my tone etc., and even she was surprised. She immediately said, "no...it's just too white-pink." Not flattering or anything. The color is so pretty so I wonder who does have luck with this.

She suggested Snob instead, which I have and LOVE. I really hope this helps because I had wanted this for so long and was so upset. The other rep said she sees it on darker ladies and it looks great, so maybe it IS geared for you darker ladies and not us fair ones. Good luck and hope this suits others instead.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* prettygirlmo on 1/22/2014 8:08:00 PM more reviews by prettygirlmo

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

As always I love MAC lipsticks, but this one didn't work for me. I really love the Amplified Creme formula, it's semi-creamy, opaque, pigmented, and applies really smoothly. I have mostly neutral undertones, but I can look pretty warm toned on some occasions. This lipstick is a very cool toned pink, and that is the ONLY reason I don't like this shade. It doesn't look the best on me. If you like the idea of this lipstick, but you want a more wearable shade, try Snob instead. Saint Germain is a good lipstick for the right skin tone.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 megsti on 1/20/2014 10:22:00 PM more reviews by megsti

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

There are a lot of reviews on here calling this a porn star pink... No. When I picture a porn star pink I think of a more baby, pastel, chalky pink. Is this color bright? Yes. Is this color trashy? No. Is this color wearable? Yes. Because this color is an amplified cream it has very buildable coverage meaning you can layer more lipstick on for a brighter finish. There are blue undertones to this lipstick and it doesn't make my teeth look yellow. To wear this on a daily basis I layer it lightly over my lip balm. The color does last on me but with eating and drinking it does fade faster but not in a gross way. I love this color and will repurchase when I run out of it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 CMarie92 on 11/17/2013 5:36:00 PM more reviews by CMarie92

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This has almost as much pigment as lip tars but without the stickiness. Overall easier to use and very good quality. The color is very bright and to be honest sometimes I think it looks like a "pornstar pink" color. I think it's just one of those colors that you need to have the perfect skin tone to pull off.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Lipstick products