Laura Mercier • Mineral Primer Brush • Makeup Brushes

rated 3.4(8 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.50%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 pkuyken on 4/10/2009 3:45:00 PM more reviews by pkuyken

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I just think this is the best brush ever for foundation powder... I use it with my smashbox halo powder, and am buying a second one for my bronzer. it really helps clumsy me get powder spread and flawless looking.. absolutely love it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Anniespy on 3/24/2009 6:28:00 PM more reviews by Anniespy

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I'm surprised with the bad press this primer brush is getting. I love the design and the flat bristles makes it easy to get in all the nooks and crannies on my face. It also helps me from using to much primer as I sometimes think, "a little is good so a lot must be better." Not the case for Laura Mercier primer or you'll end up chalky.
I rarely had any lose bristles on my face nor any black marks. as mentioned by other reviewers. I'm guessing the company went back to the drawing board because it's awesome now. Highly recommend if you use the mineral primer by Laura.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* nverno on 3/19/2009 4:22:00 PM more reviews by nverno

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I use this brush for applying my (foundation) setting powder (HD powder) and I use it to apply bronzer all over. I don't use it for applying the Laura Mercier mineral makeup primer like it was made for. I bought the L.M. mineral primer brush because I just really liked the way it felt and its shape, and saw many other uses for it.

I LOVE it! Mine is more on the soft side. It is gentle and is not at all rough-feeling on my sensitive face, but it is still stiff enough to blend very nicely and give me an evenly-blended bronze against my super pale skin. It also really locks my foundation in when I use it with my setting powder. Makes my makeup look good and stays on, and it's quick and easy for me to use.


Again, I love this brush and find myself reaching for it everyday. It could be because I am not using it for it's original purpose (applying the Laura Mercier mineral primer powder), but I have to disagree with the others here. I find it to be an awesome blending tool. Mine does not shed, even after the way I abuse brushes, so I probably won't have to repurchase, but I would if the need ever be. The price was high, but worth it because of the quality and how much use I get out of it. All professional brushes cost around that much anyways ($36). Worth checking out for sure.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 mizjune on 3/3/2009 1:15:00 PM more reviews by mizjune

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Terrible brush. I love Laura Mercier's makeup, but not her brushes. I have purchased two, and the quality of both brushes is reprehensible. It's terrible quality, I find significantly higher quality brushes in Sonia Kashuk's line at Target!

I have been enduring the kabuki brush like a moron for about a year now, as punishment for being fool enough for buying it without checking the reviews here first. It has shed like CRAZY since the beginning and I always have to pluck 5-10 hairs off my face every morning after applying my makeup.

Like the other reviewers, I find this brush rather scratchy and sometimes it hurts when I am applying my mineral foundation when my skin is tender from using Retin-A.

NEVER AGAIN!! I will trust Laura Mercier for her makeup products, but I will NEVER buy a brush again from this brand.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 lowcarb on 12/15/2008 2:47:00 PM more reviews by lowcarb

Age: Unknown   Skin: Normal, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

This review is for the Mineral Powder dome brush since there isn't a category for it. Terrible brush - very coarse and bristly feeling as others have noted the same for the Mineral Primer brush.

I threw it away this morning after my face showed red spots where I used the brush with LM Mineral Powder. I really really tried to make do with this brush since I like how its shaped for facial contours, but it is just so darn coarse! It's shed about 25 hairs since I bought it (at Sephora and not off eBay as someone suggested).

I suggest that those who want something way softer to try the MAC brush #182 - incredibly soft and works very well with the mineral powders. If you buy the LM dome one, and want to definitely use it, I rec that you wash it first since A LOT of black dye will be washed out and you don't want that stuff deposited on your face.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ginaychen on 10/17/2008 10:28:00 PM more reviews by ginaychen

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

This brush is not bad at all. It doesn't shed or stain like the previous reviewer mentioned, and it does a superb job in applying mineral powder(i bought it intentionally as a portable brush for the mineral powder). it's very soft, picks up the mineral well and adheres to the skin well, too. you can even use this as a concealer brush, just dot the corner of the brush onto the powder and brush it directly to the spots you wanna cover. The only downside is it's too expensive, so one lippie off for that. otherwise it's really great.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 aerobideb on 7/10/2008 9:20:00 AM more reviews by aerobideb

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I love this brush for the job it's intended-to apply Laura's mineral primer.
The bristles are soft and lush and mould themselves to the contours of my face. Sure, I could use a normal powder brush for the same job, but I went a little crazy and got this brush too!! I am not disappointed one bit.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 rosrey on 6/10/2008 9:55:00 PM more reviews by rosrey

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I just got this brush in the mail from lauramercier.com and I'm shocked at the poor quality. I buffed my hand with the brush to test it and it stained my skin black. The bristles were also extremely coarse and worst of all, it sheds like crazy! In my opinion, this brush should be recalled because it's so bad. I wouldn't even pay $1 let alone $36 for it. This is going back immediately!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No




More Laura Mercier products

More Makeup Brushes products